Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glass bedding in the West

• 17-06-2021 10:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭

Does anyone know of someone in the West of Ireland that can glass bed maybe pillar bed a rifle?

Thanks,
    CZ

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Excavo

Czhornet wrote: »
    Does anyone know of someone in the West of Ireland that can glass bed maybe pillar bed a rifle?

Thanks,
    CZ

Why not give it a bash yourself? There's plenty of vids on it.
    Although I'm still not convinced it's worth the hassle unless you are a serious competitive target shooter.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,999 ✭✭✭clivej

Thanks,
    CZ

Easy enough to do, if your handy with your hands.

I've done a good few now, Sako 75, 2 x CZ 455's, 10 x 10/22's.
    Have a look thru the 'Hunting Tips' section for details.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm envious of ye lads that can have a go and get these things done. If I went at it not only would the rifle end up welded into the stock I'm sure I'd have a plugged barrel as well.

Give me a shout if you want a hole dug after that forget it. Herself wants planters made this weekend, that'll be a serious stretch of my hands on ability.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭Czhornet

Feisar wrote: »
    I'm envious of ye lads that can have a go and get these things done. If I went at it not only would the rifle end up welded into the stock I'm sure I'd have a plugged barrel as well.

Give me a shout if you want a hole dug after that forget it. Herself wants planters made this weekend, that'll be a serious stretch of my hands on ability.

I'd be the same, you get one go at this and it could be sh1t of bust and ruin the rifle's accuracy forever!!

Is Fabian Connolly still operating? I’ve seen him recommended here in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭Czhornet

Where is he based? do you have a Phone number?

Leitrim.

http://www.fabgun.com/

I don’t have a number.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭RossiFan08

Your local RFD might know someone who can do it. Alternatively you can get the RFD to post it to someone to do it for you rather than travelling

• Registered Users Posts: 546 ✭✭✭JP22

clivej wrote: »
    Easy enough to do, if your handy with your hands.

I've done a good few now, Sako 75, 2 x CZ 455's, 10 x 10/22's.
    Have a look thru the 'Hunting Tips' section for details.

As Clive stated, have a go and try and do it yourself, it’s a simple enough process. If you mess it up, the bedding material can be easily removed.

I bedded my Match 54 last year, turned out fine TBTG, shoots great.

Next up is a Brno M5 (if needed), still ammo/batch testing.

Plenty of step by step instructions and photos on rimfirecentral.com.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,934 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Yup still there.I just talked to him today.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭jb88

Ive only done one myself. JB Weld is easy enough to find in motor factors and order online.
    Vaseline or neutral shoe polish as the release agent.

Tape the outsides and parts outside the bedding area, maybe use bluetack or morla to plug the parts where you dont want it to go too.

Put vaseline on all the metal of the gun going into and around the stock,
    Put the JB WELD in the stock and then clamp the stock and action together,

Wait 24 - 36 hours minimum and then break it free and clean up both stock and action.

Easy enough

• Registered Users Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Zxthinger

Its not as simple as some would have you believe.

You may need to relieve the stock to allow bedding to grip..

JB weld will work but it doesn't outlast Devcon..

Yer looking at two days if yer not experienced doing this work. A good guy that was set up for it might take 3 hrs to get it ready and the and hour cleaning up the bedding job after curing..

I have done a few but I generally taking my time and it takes the guts of two day.