Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Julie Burchill

• 08-06-2021 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭

Just been sacked from the Daily Telegraph for her tweet on Meghan and Harrys new baby. Career probably over (hopefully).

60bf25900f257.PNG

I'm only bringing this up because her previous writings about us (which there are numerous of).
    In 2002 she narrowly escaped prosecution for incitement to racial hatred, "following a Guardian column where she described Ireland as being synonymous with child molestation, Nazi-sympathising, and the oppression of women".[14] Burchill had expressed anti-Irish sentiment several times throughout her career, announcing in the London journal Time Out that "I hate the Irish, I think they're appalling".[30]

Oh well. Good riddance then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Just been sacked from the Daily Telegraph for her tweet on Meghan and Harrys new baby. Career probably over (hopefully).

60bf25900f257.PNG

I'm only bringing this up because her previous writings about us (which there are numerous of).

Oh well. Good riddance then.

Woke thread ---->

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭POBox19

"@BoozeAndFagz" says enough about that old bag.

A cut-price Katie Hopkins. These cretins thrive on the oxygen of publicity, deny them a platform and they wither away.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

It is funny though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Can someone explain the joke because I don’t get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,735 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Smee_Again wrote: »

There's not much worth getting, but basically she's joking they should have named their daughter after George Floyd (whose death sparked the Black Lives Matter protests last year), since they're so "woke" and Meghan's half black.

Smee_Again wrote: »

They actually called the kid George Floyd but it's a girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Too racist for even the Telegraph....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

She should have known she’d get the old heave ho once she made a joke at Megan’s expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Meh. Some stupid person hates Irish people.oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Sadler Peak

No room for humour ( good or bad ) these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

No room for humour ( good or bad ) these days.

The thing about humour is that there's a difference between bad humour and humour that's just plain boring. THis is the later.

You get the impression she was staying up all noght working on that one and that was the best she could do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Dan Dare

A ghastly person, a decent writer in the NME back in the day,but there always was an anti Irish bigotry there. I detest her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Sounds like a troll to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Shes been at this kind of thing for years. I picked up some old copies of the Face magazine from the early 80s in a charity shop and there was a rabidiy anti Irish piece by her in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭Tork

Is that *really* any worse than the rest of what the Daily Mail publishes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,743 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Why do people get upset about other people saying they hate us Irish ?

People in this country have no problem saying how much they hate the English, or "the Brits", and others applaude them for it.

But if someone comes out and says they hate the Irish people are up on their high horse about bigotry etc.

Everyone has the right to hate whoever they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Tilden Katz

She should have known she’d get the old heave ho once she made a joke at Megan’s expense.

I think it's more to do with the current climate with regards to race, to be honest.
    The thing about humour is that there's a difference between bad humour and humour that's just plain boring. THis is the later.

You get the impression she was staying up all noght working on that one and that was the best she could do.

Well, no, even that is subjective. Some people will find it boring whilst others will find it funny.

I think it's more to do with the current climate with regards to race, to be honest.

Could be alright but look at what happened to Piers Morgan when Meghan complained about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

No loss. That she got any work at all is a mystery, although she's an even worse human being than she is a writer. Read all about how she revels in being an awful mother, for instance.

Absolute c**t of the highest order.

Could be alright but look at what happened to Piers Morgan when Meghan complained about him.

You defending Piers Morgan?? Lol

She has never once mentioned him, yet he has waged a hate campaign against her for years because he never got an invite to her wedding, having met her once. That phone-hacking sh*tstain should be up for harassment , never mind quitting some crappy Morning show of his own volition after humiliating himself by walking off the set in a huff after the weatherman called him out for being a nasty pr*ck.

A victim he is not, no matter how he likes to bang on to Tucker fu**ing Carlson about how he was 'cancelled'. The idiot.

*Rant over*

She has never once mentioned him, yet he has waged a hate campaign against her for years because he never got an invite to her wedding, having met her once. That phone-hacking sh*tstain should be up for harassment , never mind quitting some crappy Morning show of his own volition after humiliating himself by walking off the set in a huff after the weatherman called him out for being a nasty pr*ck.

A victim he is not, no matter how he likes to bang on to Tucker fu**ing Carlson about how he was 'cancelled'. The idiot.

I’m not defending Piers Morgan. I know Meghan did make a complaint about him and he ended up without a job. He has said he doesn’t believe anything she says as is his right. I couldn’t care less what goes on between them they are both as bad as each other. There is such a thing as free speech too. We don’t all have to agree all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I’m not defending Piers Morgan. I know Meghan did make a complaint about him and he ended up without a job. He has said he doesn’t believe anything she says as is his right. I couldn’t care less what goes on between them they are both as bad as each other. There is such a thing as free speech too. We don’t all have to agree all the time.

You really need to read up on what free speech is.

I always see people on a certain side going on about free speech and complaining when some arse like Piers Morgan get's the sack, but him getting sacked has nothing to do with free speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I don't care if she is fired or not but how can this be considered funny. It's just a bit bitter and sad.

Sonics2k wrote: »

I always see people on a certain side going on about free speech and complaining when some arse like Piers Morgan get's the sack, but him getting sacked has nothing to do with free speech.

I am not complaining Piers Morgan lost his job. I don’t care what he does or where he works. What I did say was he said on air he didn’t believe things Meghan said in her interview. She made a complaint and he ended up leaving his job. I don’t know if he was sacked or if he left from his own accord but there was a huge fuss. I don’t think he broke any free speech laws by doing this.

Sonics2k wrote: »

Exactly. 'Journos' like Morgan and Burchill are nothing more than hate spreading trolls. They crave and seek out negative attention and then cry foul when anyone calls them on it, citing "But...but...free speech!"

By the way, Piers quit, he wasn't sacked. Doesn't fit his victim narrative, but it's the truth. The one and only time he was sacked was when he published faked photos of British soldiers torturing Iraqi soldiers when he was editor of the Daily Mirror. He is a bottom feeder of epic proportions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Dan Dare wrote: »
    A ghastly person, a decent writer in the NME back in the day,but there always was an anti Irish bigotry there. I detest her.

I never thought she was a good writer at any time, could and can turn a decent sentence or two perhaps, but far too full of preening self regard and posturing to ever have been a good critic. Herself, Parsons, Morley and their ilk, all deemed themselves as important as the bands they were writing about, pompous windbags bloviating enough hot air to power a small city between them. At least Parsons and Morley didn't turn out to be right wing racist nutjobs, i suppose.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

A cut-price Katie Hopkins. These cretins thrive on the oxygen of publicity, deny them a platform and they wither away.
    That grief vampire is back

*Rant over*

Your quotes are messed up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Anything she ever wrote had herself as the subject, no matter what the topic.

meeeeh wrote: »
    I don't care if she is fired or not but how can this be considered funny. It's just a bit bitter and sad.

If somebody finds it funny, then it's a joke. I think it's weak but some people apparently liked it. And saying what can and can't be joked about is a path I don't want us to go down. If that means bad taste jokes, so be it.

Your quotes are messed up!

I know! I have no idea how to correct a post when that happens :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

This is a glorious development in my day. The daft bint that she is.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

She cheered me up plenty of times back in 90's when she was having a running spat with Toby Young.

That was fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

If somebody finds it funny, then it's a joke. I think it's weak but some people apparently liked it. And saying what can and can't be joked about is a path I don't want us to go down. If that means bad taste jokes, so be it.

I didn't say it can't be 'joked' about, I said I don't think much of someone's sense of humour if they find this funny. To me she comes across just as a bit of a saddo. It's childish and as someone said dull.

Don't conflate criticism of poor humor for wanting to silence someone's. As far as I'm concerned she can spout as much of her humour as she wants. I won't be following her.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Julie Burchill is a washed up columnist who used to be a name in rock journalism but for the past 20 or so years had degenerated into a glorified troll. She writes things these days just to get a reaction, but it’s so crass and poor.

Seriously Julie, Katie Hopkins does it so much better. You are a spent force and a total irrelevance.

Well, no, even that is subjective. Some people will find it boring whilst others will find it funny.

True, but then some people find anything funny just becuse it's provoatie or "edgy". That doesn't do it on it's own.

There's no wit, or observation, no satire here - nothing. The same joke could be todl about any race or mixed-race brith. It's just, "I'm going to tell a racist-y anti-wokey about the royals!".

I agree with you that no subect should be off-limits, but there should at least be some effort put into it, you it looks like pathetic trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Yeah, it actually amazes me how horrible some people can be. She just seems absolutely consumed with hate and twisted by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Surprised Angeus Fanning never took her on in the Sindo back in the day. Shed have fitted right in with that other Irish hating cnunt Mary Ellen Synon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I've no idea who she is and she might be the greatest cnut that ever walked the planet for all I care but someone shouldn't lose their job (livelihood) because of a sh1te joke that may be in bad taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I've no idea who she is and she might be the greatest cnut that ever walked the planet for all I care but someone shouldn't lose their job (livelihood) because of a sh1te joke that may be in bad taste.

Only a few weeks since she libelled a fellow journalist and had to pay substantial damages so it's likely a build up of things rather than one desperate "joke" i would think. Why would any even half respectable publication want to stay associated with someone that toxic? She still has the spectator anyway and maybe regular gigs on gb news to fight the good fight against all this terrible wokeness taking over the planet.

Pity she can't get a time machine to bring her back to the 90s, where she can go back to being an edgy enfant (plus) terrible.

Honestly, I never liked her. She always came across as malicious and self obsessed, but I do think she's lost the plot somewhat since her son died. It's quite tragic, really.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Pity she can't get a time machine to bring her back to the 90s, where she can go back to being an edgy enfant (plus) terrible.

Honestly, I never liked her. She always came across as malicious and self obsessed, but I do think she's lost the plot somewhat since her son died. It's quite tragic, really.

The son she had with Tony Parsons and then abandoned? I didn't know that he died, how awful.

I don't know who his father was. Poor lad developed a catastrophic addiction to skunk and ultimately took his own life, I believe. Whether he started using as a way to self medicate mental health issues, or the drug caused them or if it was a bit of both, I don't know. I remember reading a piece she wrote about it and it was extremely uncomfortable reading. I'm surprised it was published at all. She was clearly out of her mind with grief at the time of writing and was basically saying 'I know I was a coked up, sh1t mother, but it's not my fault' when she clearly felt it was. I'm not saying it was her fault, by the way,, just that it was clearly written at a time when she was working through her grief and it was private, rumination type stuff. Very poor editorial choice to allow it to go to print. Anyway, I think she's been disintegrating since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

No. Not the same person.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    No. Not the same person.

Great to read that, many thanks.

Why do people get upset about other people saying they hate us Irish ?
    Because people tend to dislike bigotry towards their own? Weird to ask that when you know the answer, although some Irish people do have quite an inferiority complex.
    People in this country have no problem saying how much they hate the English, or "the Brits", and others applaude them for it.

But if someone comes out and says they hate the Irish people are up on their high horse about bigotry etc.
    Well firstly, not all of those are the same people - although there certainly are some eejits who think both things, but then there are the rest of us who find bigotry against people of either nationality to be objectionable.
    Everyone has the right to hate whoever they want.
    They sure do. And if they voice it, others have the right to dispute them, expecially in the case of Burchill who equated the Irish to child abusers and nazis. How on earth can you defend or downplay that? It's not just hating, it's lying (yes obviously there are child abusers, which doesn't make "the Irish" - children n' all - child abusers, she has proudly broadcasted about her lack of giving a sh1t about children anyway; and nazi sympathisers, wtf?) Seems like you're just trying to look edgy. Plus there is all the other vile stuff she said - about lesbians (but then she ended up with a woman) and overweight people... despite ballooning herself. And also her rotten attitude to her children, and blasé attitude towards having multiple abortions. Oh and the whole "middle-class people are the devil" thing despite living in a mansion in Brighton. A hypocritical, arrogant narcissist who jumps on every contrarian bandwagon for attention. One who pretends to be a feminist when it suits but has been utterly unsisterly. And a man-hater who justified walking out on her children by claiming that men would be celebrated for same (eh, no they wouldn't).

Although she has demonstrated some humanity in the remorse she showed regarding the death of her son, but she was always vile - long before then.