Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I paid off my Mortgage today and I'm v. unhappy

• 01-06-2021 12:12am

Just paid off the last installment, there.

Wife isn't talking to me. Truth be told, we haven't slept in the same bed for years.

The kids are happy; so would I be, if I hadn't been saddled with all their college debt. What's she gonna do with a landscape management degree, I ask you?

Ah, nevermind.

Oh, if only I had invested more wisely. If only I'd have planned a pension. Tax-efficiency, that's what I needed. I should have listened to those fellows from the boards dot ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Congrats buddy. Chin up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭I see sheep

You've made AIB and by extension the 'Irish State' a lot of money by propping a broken system up with dead money interest payments so well done, it's not all bad.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Time to buy a sports car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,565 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I just think it’s brilliant that a Lamb Named Miltiades starts a new thread and the first two users to like are, ‘I see sheep’ and ‘snoopsheep’..

Congrats on the mortgage clearance.... onwards and upwards !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

First step would be to get the kids to pay you back the college debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Wife isn't talking to me. Truth be told, we haven't slept in the same bed for years.

The kids are happy; so would I be, if I hadn't been saddled with all their college debt. What's she gonna do with a landscape management degree, I ask you?

Ah, nevermind.

Oh, if only I had invested more wisely. If only I'd have planned a pension. Tax-efficiency, that's what I needed. I should have listened to those fellows from the boards dot ie.

Oh god ...i was expecting something happy ...i just read paid off my mortgage.

Im so sorry op.

Although I feel less of a loser because i left my parents with zero college debt after my degree .....so this thread worked out for me :p and that is all that matters! :D

I agree with the sports car idea though from canis!

Time to buy a sports car

A red one.

And if married only in a technical sense, explore options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

First thing to do is remortgage your house and pay off the college debt. It's probably a more expensive loan than a mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Too soon for a divorce, sell the house then remarry a young Thai woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

You know the way Ryanair play a little trumpet sound when they land on time? I would have expected a similar trumpet sound to be played when making my final mortgage payment. Not that that’s gonna happen anytime soon.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Time to buy a sports car

And a gold chain, sunglasses and one of those belt holsters for your mobile phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭statto25

You've paid off your mortgage and your kids are college educated thanks to your help, both things to be happy about. Once/if they have started to earn, speak with them on taking over the debt.
    Your marriage is another story and something that needs to be addressed as that is no way to live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,596 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Paging Mr Burgess, paging Mr Brendan Burgess! ;)

Also, bring back the Tyrant!

None of this lambe shíte

TP_CM wrote: »
    First thing to do is remortgage your house and pay off the college debt. It's probably a more expensive loan than a mortgage.

Depends on the level of debt. Shouldn't be much if he is based in Ireland. UK and US a different story.

Cost to remortgage house could be a couple of €k. Plus there's the extra risk, life assurance. If it was a mortgage size loan then sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭Feisar

Oh god ...i was expecting something happy ...i just read paid off my mortgage.

Im so sorry op.

Although I feel less of a loser because i left my parents with zero college debt after my degree .....so this thread worked out for me :p and that is all that matters! :D

I agree with the sports car idea though from canis!

Yea, what is this college debt that people speak of?

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »

It's what you get as a reward for being a loving, caring and supportive parent. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,596 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Feisar wrote: »

I'd guess at despite the fees being relatively low, that the cost of books, consumables and rent stack up.

I know when my kid hits college in '22 that even if he gets a full grant that unless he goes to Uni from home that rent can easily run to €8k plus for the Academic year.

I'm all for working part time to support oneself during College, but we are at a point where a student might cover books and socialising by working 20hrs a week not rent too.

I am lucky enough that as I am back as a student myself, that my son will likely get the full grant but for many?
    There could still be up to 3k a year that also needs covering.
    College isn't the cheap/free ride it used to be and if we take a family on average wage?
    The will get lumbered with 3k a year in Uni fees plus rents.

Depends on the level of debt. Shouldn't be much if he is based in Ireland. UK and US a different story.

Cost to remortgage house could be a couple of €k. Plus there's the extra risk, life assurance. If it was a mortgage size loan then sure.

Ah indeed, you're right. I was assuming large debt.

banie01 wrote: »
    I'd guess at despite the fees being relatively low, that the cost of books, consumables and rent stack up.

I know when my kid hits college in '22 that even if he gets a full grant that unless he goes to Uni from home that rent can easily run to €8k plus for the Academic year.

I'm all for working part time to support oneself during College, but we are at a point where a student might cover books and socialising by working 20hrs a week not rent too.

I am lucky enough that as I am back as a student myself, that my son will likely get the full grant but for many?
    There could still be up to 3k a year that also needs covering.
    College isn't the cheap/free ride it used to be and if we take a family on average wage?
    The will get lumbered with 3k a year in Uni fees plus rents.

Actually, I forgot about rent and travel. As the crow flies we're about 2km from the local uni.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Congrats Militades, at least it is a millstone off your neck even if its not any kind of celebration. Did you end up selling your house yourself, how did it go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Time to buy a sports car

No sports car is complete without a comb-over to go with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭Tork

This is supposed to be comedy, right?

Tork wrote: »

Tell us a joke. ALNM needs it, as do we all. But more so ALNM :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Tork wrote: »

Yep. Can't say I get it but it definitely isn't serious.

You are not meant to be happy haven't you figured that out yet, try Buddism its got a lot less of that namby-pamby idea of being happy.

Serious answer luck and happenstance has a lot to do with how your life works out financially and in other ways.

Not saying some self-responsibility does not come into it but there are too many other circumstances to take into account to say it only self-responsibility that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Ah, nevermind.

Have an affair, buy sports car and do cocaine. You've earned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

You can’t change the past. So what is done is done. You can’t go back and change how you handled money. You can change your future. So think about what to do with money now that your no longer paying the mortgage.

I am a firm believer in being content as opposed to being happy. Happiness can come and go throughout the many ups and downs of life. Once you get through the hard times and enjoy the good times I think the rest of the time it is okay just to be content with life.

Life is too short to be in a relationship where ye no longer speak or share a room (unless your one of those couples who are both okay with that set up). Hopefully it’s only a temporary thing for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

...heaven knows I'm miserable now

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Ah, nevermind.

She’s gonna have to roll up her sleeves and go manage some landscapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

so what should he have done, squated in some one elses house, rented, lived with his parent, lived in a tent in a roundabout on the m50?

You've made AIB and by extension the 'Irish State' a lot of money by propping a broken system up with dead money interest payments so well done, it's not all bad.

Joke's on me, because I have 22 years left on my mortgage. The thread was a joke based on a thread yesterday. Will someone for god's sake close this rubbish down! Please, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Joke's on me, because I have 22 years left on my mortgage. The thread was a joke based on a thread yesterday. Will someone for god's sake close this rubbish down! Please, thanks

In yer one from little britain's voice - "yeah I know".

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Weirdo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

no wonder his wife isnt talking to him
    Weirdo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

First step would be to get the kids to pay you back the college debt.

Do they ever do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dublin49

s if you make your last repayment it was probably a relatively minor monthly bill ,between 200 - 400 so modest sports car only with that.

Dont understand the college debt thing .its only 4k max per annum per child which is the cost of a good holiday.I paid my kids fees but they did all work for their beer money etc which was a huge help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭Car99

Do they ever do this?

Very hard to pay anything off with an arts degree , while living at home working a part time zero hour min wage contract while they decide if they should pursue a masters or do another degree .

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

banie01 wrote: »
    Also, bring back the Tyrant!

None of this lambe shíte

I was just about to post the same, a tyrant wouldn't be worried about college debt or a cold marriage bed.

Congrats on the mortgage though, wanna start paying mine?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

FFS! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Too soon for a divorce, sell the house then remarry a young Thai woman?

Marrying an old fart because you are economically coerced to do so, hmmmmm Sexxxxaaaaaay!

Do they ever do this?

I had to repay every cent I got after age 18. I also had to pay rent if I moved home. It got me out earning and living my own life.

Just paid off the last installment, there

I cleared mine this week, too. Not sure what age you are but I am hoping to buy elsewhere and look at perhaps renting this one out, long term to the Council. 25 Years guaranteed income, which will pay for the mortgage on the other one, and leave me with some disposable income (and sell it at the end of the 25 years, maybe, to act as a pension of sorts, though having the extra money in my pocket will hopefully mean i've a nice pension by then anyway).

If he cleared it really quickly (like I did with mine), he actually saved a fortune on interest. I work out I saved about 50k in interest by being aggressive and paying extra off.

There are some great calculators online for working out the costs (or savings in my case).

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Fils

Is your house beside a wind farm?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Yes you've had a mortgage but what about second mortgage ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

im in the same boat, as in im not in the same bed as the missus. i can see how you stayed together till kids gone to college.

is this a common thing where couples hate each other and only stay together cause of cost of running two households and for the sake of the kids.

really hope someone reading this is thinking about shacking up with a partner, it will be messy and unpleasant if you dont think you will manage the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dublin49

im in the same boat, as in im not in the same bed as the missus. i can see how you stayed together till kids gone to college.

is this a common thing where couples hate each other and only stay together cause of cost of running two households and for the sake of the kids.

really hope someone reading this is thinking about shacking up with a partner, it will be messy and unpleasant if you dont think you will manage the course.

I suppose if you work hard raise your kids and have a nice suburbian lifestyle its hard if impossible to maintain that lifestyle if you try and duplicate it in 2 locations due to a relationship split,I think alot of couples at that stage do as you say live separate lives in the family home due to finance and I can understand why.