Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Volunteer traffic warder reserve

• 07-05-2021 06:15PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭

A novel idea that may work well.

Members of the general public can volunteer to be trained up as unpaid reserve parking wardens. They will have similar (but not the same powers) as traffic wardens.

They can photograph cars or vans, or lorries that are parked on double yellows or disabled spaces or parked in an obnoxious manner and submit them to the relevant County Council or Gardaí who will then send feedback as to whether or not the infringement has been taken and whether or not a fine will be issued. (It'll probably have to be done with special issue, tamper proof cameras).

People might behave better if they know that any member of the public could be watchin them and will follow the rules accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Heckler

I can see the recruitment lines forming already..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Pinoy adventure

Not a hope in hell

You do know members of the public can report those things now yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Jeremy Sproket

Heckler wrote: »
    I can see the recruitment lines forming already..

It's something I'd do myself, even if unpaid and no commission.

I participate in Malahide Tidy Towns. Cleaning up the rubbish is the same and preventing selfish parking, both benefit the community.

Would they have to wear a uniform?

bubblypop wrote: »
    You do know members of the public can report those things now yeah?

A picture from a member of the public is unlikely to result in a fine though.

I'm talking more about giving (almost) the same powers that a traffic warden would have to members of the general public. Although summonses and fines would have to be authorised by an actual employee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Pinoy adventure

And hat

Preferably not. Just carry ID.

That way members of the public won't know who is or isn't part of the reserve. You could wait for a disabled parking space abuser or double yellow line parker to leave their car then you could sneak over.

It could be as anonymous as possible so when the fine or ticket is issued, you could do it to neighbours and people from your community and they won't know who it is. To protect the reserve staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭yrreg0850

A better idea would be speed control.
    Say you are on a motorway doing the limit (170 Km/H) and a car zooms past obviously breaking limit. Submit number and approx. location.
    If a further two motorists do the same along the same route within a specific time .
    Then the motorist is obviously breaking the law and not just a momentary occurrence.

Three reports and an offence detected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

I can only assume that the people who would volunteer for this service would be rational and reasonable sorts...

Not a hope in hell

I've been lucky to never gave been unemployed.....but if it ever happened to me there's no way I'd be a traffic warden or tv licence inpector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

go on the volunteer traffic warden reserve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

yrreg0850 wrote: »
    A better idea would be speed control.
    Say you are on a motorway doing the limit (170 Km/H) and a car zooms past obviously breaking limit. Submit number and approx. location.
    If a further two motorists do the same along the same route within a specific time .
    Then the motorist is obviously breaking the law and not just a momentary occurrence.

Three reports and an offence detected.

What country is that?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I can only assume that the people who would volunteer for this service would be rational and reasonable sorts...

And definitely not let the little bit of power go to their heads ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,999 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Will they be authorized by the relevant councils?
    Will they issue fines?
    Will they be prepared to go to court and present evidence?

What are Gardai and real traffic wardens doing that these are required?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,666 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

A tamper proof app that you could download and photo/video offenders would be better, maybe have the fine split 50/50 between the council and the sender to encourage people to report offenders :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭touts

Do volunteers get danger money?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

We can give them little square mustaches and red armbands while we're at it. The kind of people who'd sign up will naturally keep their knee high black boots polished to a shine. Perhaps we can devise a specific salute that only the wardens use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20271364.html

Big follower of Gemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Members of the general public can volunteer to be trained up as unpaid reserve parking wardens. They will have similar (but not the same powers) as traffic wardens.

They can photograph cars or vans, or lorries that are parked on double yellows or disabled spaces or parked in an obnoxious manner and submit them to the relevant County Council or Gardaí who will then send feedback as to whether or not the infringement has been taken and whether or not a fine will be issued. (It'll probably have to be done with special issue, tamper proof cameras).

People might behave better if they know that any member of the public could be watchin them and will follow the rules accordingly.

It's tempting but I think I'll pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Sorta like an FCA unit but with special powers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

It would be like the FCA but without the guns or the medals but there would be incoming fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

Sorta like an FCA unit but with special powers ?

Sounds more like bleedin' Paw Patrol :pac:

touts wrote: »
    Do volunteers get danger money?

No but they wont charge your family for fishing your body out of the river.

Only if you get the keep the money from the clamping you do in your own time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

"i'm tellin on you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I was back in Ireland for my holidays a few summers back, and had parked the E300 AMG in the main carpark of the town I'm originally from.

I was at the pay machine when out of the corner of my eye I spotted the warden wandering in from the main street. Big bulbous head on him. I paid for the maximum 2 hours, and put the slip on the dash.

He was approaching me and I was approaching him when I recognised him as a guy that was 2 years below me in secondary school. He was a peevish and petty little character back then, and he had found his ideal profession. The sort of chap who has a bunch of keys hanging from a trouser clip, and who gathers money at the gate at the local GAA pitch.

"All paid up, Mark, so no need to go down and take a look unless you want to admire the interior", I quipped as I passed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Terrible idea :p and to be honest it's just a fantasists idea.

Cause if it were real some how, you would only get absolute poncy dic*heads signing up. We all know the sort. Like those lads who go around on their bicycle who just so happen to "randomly" and "innocently" come across drivers who break the rules of the road. Then tell them off so they can post their edited YouTube videos.

The same sort youd get. Talk a big game about doing what's right, the law ... But be an absolute knob at the same time and those who if you laid a finger on would act like they've been kissed by a freight train :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

A tamper proof app that you could download and photo/video offenders would be better, maybe have the fine split 50/50 between the council and the sender to encourage people to report offenders :D

Dear Boss,

I resign.

Andy.

fryup wrote: »
    "i'm tellin on you"

Did you know that 1% of East Germans was a Stasi informer (including Angela Merkel) were informing on their family friends and neighbours.

https://www.dw.com/en/east-german-stasi-had-189000-informers-study-says/a-3184486-1

Do we really want to enter into a society like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭Phil.x

Stick to the bicycle!!

SupaCat95 wrote: »
    Did you know that 1% of East Germans was a Stasi informer (including Angela Merkel) were informing on their family friends and neighbours.

https://www.dw.com/en/east-german-stasi-had-189000-informers-study-says/a-3184486-1

Do we really want to enter into a society like that?

Between employees and informants it was 2.5% of the population, Irish people don't care enough for that sh1t

A picture from a member of the public is unlikely to result in a fine though.

They already do if the offence is parking.
    I'm talking more about giving (almost) the same powers that a traffic warden would have to members of the general public. Although summonses and fines would have to be authorised by an actual employee.

So actually the exact same as just reporting it now

Between employees and informants it was 2.5% of the population, Irish people don't care enough for that sh1t

No? Ever hear of the Valley of the Squinting Windows?

SupaCat95 wrote: »
    No? Ever hear of the Valley of the Squinting Windows?

I'm from Donegal, saw,heard,done nothing,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I would love to do the job of a traffic warden for a while. I would specifically target ar$eholes who park in disabled spaces without the permit. I would do the job for free to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,999 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I'm from Donegal, saw,heard,done nothing,

You lot have your own snitch line up there.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    You lot have your own snitch line up there.

Guards being sent to the middle of bogs to break up non existent raves, Whoever thought it up, comedy gold

They already do if the offence is parking.

Will Gardai issue parking fines based on photographs?

I don't see why not. If you are willing to give evidence

But you're not aware of this actually happening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

We need double red lines.... No stopping at any time.....

Clearways, bus stops and bus lanes means nothing in this country.

I was back in Ireland for my holidays a few summers back, and had parked the E300 AMG in the main carpark of the town I'm originally from.
    "All paid up, Mark, so no need to go down and take a look unless you want to admire the interior", I quipped as I passed him.

Does it hurt? Patting yourself on the back so much?

But you're not aware of this actually happening?

I am but I don't represent 15 thousand other people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I would love to do the job of a traffic warden for a while. I would specifically target ar$eholes who park in disabled spaces without the permit. I would do the job for free to be honest.

you'd love this thread then (just don't comment in it)

I am but I don't represent 15 thousand other people

It's hard to get Gardai to act on illegal parking. I've asked Gardai on the spot to deal with drivers illegally parked on footpaths and cycle lanes, and got responses like 'sure where is he supposed to park' or 'sure what can I do'.

The Dublin clampers called me back recently in response to a report about a regular offender at one particular location. They said they've asked for Garda support to deal with this person, who monitors the street through his shop CCTV and runs out when their van appears, but they get nothing from the Gardai either.

The complainant would presumably have to go through the standard Garda process of sitting down with the Garda who will handwrite the statement, then call the other party to get them to make the statement, then let the file be sent to the Supt for decision.

It's a fairly ridiculous process - not blaming Gardai for this, that just the current legal process.

Very interesting to note which citizens would have made a beeline for the Stasi man when he showed up under a street lamp, informing on their neighbours.

I'm going to go around to all your profiles and write RAT on your visitor messages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Not even a fully fledged Traffic Warden but a half arsed one who works for free. Might appeal to retirees, hi-vis wearing tidy towns comm-itteeee types.

This is quite possibly the lamest concept I've come across so far this year. Good work OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I've been lucky to never gave been unemployed.....but if it ever happened to me there's no way I'd be a traffic warden or tv licence inpector

What about an Irish Water inspector? That'd be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Not a hope would I do something like this, especially voluntarily. I can only imagine the amount of abuse I would get from people for reporting them.