Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Serious amount of foreigners listed on the official Garda Missing Persons website

• 02-05-2021 10:00am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭

https://www.garda.ie/en/missing-persons/?pageNumber=3

Lots of Chinese people in particular. What's going on there? When an Irish person goes missing there are press releases in the national news. Media is hush when a foreigner goes missing. Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Because you’re choosing to ignore them probably.

If anything I would say of all the missing person reports I see in the news a disproportionate number have non Irish sounding names.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭coinop

No I'm not ignoring missing foreigners. Media just don't report them for some reason. I'm just asking why. Sorry if my question offends you. If you can provide links for news reports about Xing Chen Cao, Tan Yu, or Xiu Qiong Wang I will gladly delete the thread.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Also, what was going on in 2009? It looks, after a quick scan through, to be be far the year with most missing people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Not in the least bit offended. Just wish you’d spit out what you’re trying to say.

There are about 10k missing persons reports to the Guards each year. Most are probably resolved within days/hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Stephen Gawking

A chinese work colleague told me its an old passport scam, in essence they (not all) run up debts & get replacement travel papers & head back to China via the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I think a lot of them may be minors. They arrive illegally and if they are 'caught' by immigration, they will end up in a state facility or similar so that they can be cared for. They abscond and head off to UK or elsewhere.

Some may not actually be bona fide minors. But it's very sad, for the ones that are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

This new found concern for foreigners makes a change from your usual postings on the matter, OP. Are you ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

humberklog wrote: »
    Also, what was going on in 2009? It looks, after a quick scan through, to be be far the year with most missing people.

I'm not sure how much reliance I'd place on the consistency of that website.

That said, 2009 could have featured more disappearances than an average year due to the severe recession.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭coinop

A chinese work colleague told me its an old passport scam, in essence they (not all) run up debts & get replacement travel papers & head back to China via the UK.

Interesting. If this scam is true, why isn't the media reporting on it? Many landlords must be reluctant to rent to Chinese immigrants based off this for fear they would skip out on a few months' rent.
    KaneToad wrote: »
    I think a lot of them may be minors. They arrive illegally and if they are 'caught' by immigration, they will end up in a state facility or similar so that they can be cared for. They abscond and head off to UK or elsewhere.

Three in four 'child' asylum seekers are actually adults, Denmark claims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,437 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

More often than not unaccompanied minors aren’t recorded in our missing persons “numbers”.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

. They abscond and head off to UK or elsewhere.

Some may not actually be bona fide minors. But it's very sad, for the ones that are.

Abscond makes it sound like they have a choice.

I've been told it's more like their traffickers move them on to the target destination, where they are used for sex work. Don't have any concrete evidence but my sources were credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Very serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

There is hardly an Asian person listed, then 2007 onwards, almost one in three missing persons is Asian, that cannot be an accident..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭LapsypaCork

Abscond makes it sound like they have a choice.

I've been told it's more like their traffickers move them on to the target destination, where they are used for sex work. Don't have any concrete evidence but my sources were credible.
    I’ve had a bit of interaction with Chinese students a few years back through an English college and found the above to be true a lot of times. A lot of students, once their ‘study visa’ is issued, study the bare amount of time, don’t interact with anyone outside their own community, swap PPSN numbers, work cash in hand (yes, lots of businesses still do this), and end up working for criminals in areas you wouldn’t like your own children working. Mostly live in very overcrowded shared accommodation, with little or no English so little interaction outside of their own community. They’ve now outstayed their study visa which is why their on the Missing Persons List.
    Im not saying this happens to every Chinese student, but this was just my experience with working with them and I’m sure it occurs with other nationalities too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

I do remember 2 "missing persons" at one stage near me were African lads that were put into the hotel accommodation the government were getting so found of for people trying to claim asylum.

There was a small number tossed into crappy old hotels in the absolute sticks with nothing to do.

Most likely financial immigrants who either looked to disappear into the cities or realized it wasn't the land of milk and honey and decided to try their luck somewhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

humberklog wrote: »

Wonder was there a big push on that year for some reason and it was never followed up after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Who cares? No matter where the person is from...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭ByTheSea2019

I think it matters if the numbers are that disproportionate compared to the population. If they're leaving by choice who's reporting them missing? If there's something weird going on, we need to know what and whether it's dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Jequ0n wrote: »
    Who cares? No matter where the person is from...

If chinese people make up less than 1% of the population but are 1 in 4 of the people on the missing persons list, that's interesting, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

If chinese people make up less than 1% of the population but are 1 in 4 of the people on the missing persons list, that's interesting, no?

Only if you're chinese or intereted in passport trade i guess

Not all missing persons are publically 'advertised'
    Lots of Irish people can be reported missing but their families don't always want publicity.
    So the media don't decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

coinop wrote:
    Many landlords must be reluctant to rent to Chinese immigrants based off this for fear they would skip out on a few months' rent.

Because they're too busy dealing with Irish people doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Stats on Chinese in Ireland are woefully innacurate. I know a census enumerator who told me of numerous houses with Chinese tenants who refused to fill out a census form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Daragh1980

coinop wrote: »

Lots of Chinese people in particular. What's going on there?

Ching Chong China man went to milk a cow
    Ching Chong China man didn’t know how
    Ching Chong China man pulled the wrong tit
    Ching Chong China man got covered in sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭quokula

There are no missing persons listed from China in the last decade, so whatever the anomaly was with passports or whatever that happened in 2009, it's clearly no longer an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

They’re students who came here on students visas and then went underground likely working in a restaurant/take away somewhere. They’re reported missing by the immigration authorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

People only care about missing dogs, missing humans -meh?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Lots of Chinese people in particular. What's going on there?

Hard to tell what is behind each case. I doubt they all have the same dynamic.

When an Irish person goes missing there are press releases in the national news. Media is hush when a foreigner goes missing. Why?

Missing persons reports are usually issued locally where they will have more of a an impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Is this list exhaustive? Seriously only 2 people in all of Ireland who went missing in the entirety of 2019 and have not been found?3 in 2018, and none in 2020? Nice to hear and reassuring if it's true, really tiny number less than anything I could have imagined. Would have thought you'd see at least a few dozen involved in drugs/prostition/crime disappear each year and are never found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

You do have career missing too, if someone is gone 3 plus times there should be a reduction in resourses looking for them, additionally if they put a song up on TikTok mocking the efforts of the €100k search for them fook all should be done looking for them in future dates. (this really happened)