Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Micheal collins is dead

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

What time is the rosary tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,018 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

We cant blame this one on Dev?

* but seriously. RIP.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,433 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

odyssey06 wrote: »
    We cant blame this one on Dev?

* but seriously. RIP.

Doesn't Dev provide you with a fine dumping ground for your online sh1tetalk? Don't be so ungrateful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,018 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Doesn't Dev provide you with a fine dumping ground for your online sh1tetalk? Don't be so ungrateful

Collins brought these words from Dev to the moon... as gaeilge

The text is written in Irish and translates as: "May God grant that the skill and courage which have enabled man to alight on the moon will enable him, also, to secure peace and happiness upon the earth and avoid the danger of self-destruction".

https://www.newstalk.com/news/read-irish-language-message-left-moon-apollo-11-883525

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

He flew on the Apollo 11 mission to the moon. He piloted the command module so he never walked on the moon.
    He was 90.

RIP Micheal Collins

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He was meant to be first but the head was hopping off him from the night before

RIP Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

A great character.
    RIP.

You'll often see it said "He must regret never walking on the moon" or " How sick would you be to get so close to the moon and never land" but following the crew rotation policy at the time, as Command Module Pilot he would have been in line to command Apollo 17 and walk on the moon in that mission.

Instead Collins turned the assignment down, and Gene Cernan became the only Lunar Module pilot (as opposed to CM pilot) to be commander on his 2nd mission to the moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

RIP, a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

There was a punch-up in the lunar orbiter to decide who got to parachute down to the moon and he lost.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Ah jaysus, I didn't even know he was sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

And then there was one....
    Fair play Mick.

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

Wasn't there an astronaut who was on the moon who claims that the moon landing was fake (possibly as a consequence of a neurodegenerative condition)? I can't find anything about it but I remember reading it years ago. It wasn't Collins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Wasn't there an astronaut who was on the moon who claims that the moon landing was fake (possibly as a consequence of a neurodegenerative condition)? I can't find anything about it but I remember reading it years ago. It wasn't Collins?

Not quite :D

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

"Bang, Zoom, Straight to the Moon!"

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

furiousox wrote: »

Buzz Aldrin is a fascinating character. He apparently fell into a deep depression after the moon landing and became an alcoholic. Amazing that one can go from man's greatest achievement to the depths of despair. He was even working as a used car salesman for a while to make ends meet. Imagine trying to haggle over the price of a Datsun with the second man on the moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

furiousox wrote: »

I'll never tire of this "have that you conspiracy theory believing moron" :D

Oh and R.I.P.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Lived a full life, died at 90, what more could you ask for. Rest in Peace Micheal Collins.