Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland + sunshine = mass congregations

• 25-04-2021 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Twitter is alive with pictures and videos of people congregating in the sun.

Stephen's Green

Salthill, Galway

Lots of tut-tutting about coronavirus. Lots of rebuttals about teenagers deserving a break. But little mention of the fact that, coronavirus or not, mass groups of people drinking, playing music, etc, is just pretty unpleasant for anyone not doing the same.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Unfortunately there's no vaccine for stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,921 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Young people enjoying themselves.

They've got some nerve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

I thought this was about loads of people going to Church 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭I see sheep

They're outside so who cares?

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

There is a limit to what people can take. We've had, I think, the longest lockdown anywhere in the free world — not just the EU.

It's not ideal to see people congregating outdoors, but people have their limits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Anybody outside enjoying the sun are more evil than Hitler and Stalin combined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I misread ( hay fever) the title as mass conflagrations.. given the current wildfires.

The Gardaí broke one up? Salthill?

And yes it was inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

And here comes lockdown 3.0 .

Idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Gatling wrote: »

We're in lockdown 3.0. You make it sound like we're not.

There is a limit to what people can take. We've had, I think, the longest lockdown anywhere in the free world — not just the EU.

It's not ideal to see people congregating outdoors, but people have their limits.

And it's been the harshest. You'll see a news story about somewhere bringing in a lockdown and it sounds harsh but shops will have to close at 6, restaurants at 8 and pubs at 10. Then ya look at our "normal" restrictions.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,581 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

And they want us all to live in cities....

No thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭eggy81

Idiots

We’re still in lockdown

And it's been the harshest. You'll see a news story about somewhere bringing in a lockdown and it sounds harsh but shops will have to close at 6, restaurants at 8 and pubs at 10. Then ya look at our "normal" restrictions.

Yeah we really seem oppressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,240 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Went to the park with the missus and kids early yesterday evening and had to leave because it was like a night club with people drinking all over the place, lads getting stuck into birds music blaring bottles and cans all over the place.

The annoying part isn't young people having fun it's how incompatible that fun is with anyone who isn't out boozing along with the crowd.

I drove down the grand canal from rathmines to Harold's Cross last weekend and it was like a festival, hundreds of people everywhere, all ages cramped together drinking away.

There's nothing to do but go to parks and public areas so everyone is there which kind of makes a mockery of the idea of keeping people apart from each other for their own good.

It's impossible to stop these things from happening so surely it's time to reopen the likes of beer gardens etc at the very least, because people are congregating together and getting messy drunk anyway.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭thatsmighty

Toilets and germs being a problem among others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭golfball37

When are the news reports and science produced that this thing doesn’t spread easily outdoors gonna get the same coverage as the fear mongering

°°°°°

eggy81 wrote: »
    We’re still in lockdown

In reality we've been in some form of lockdown since last March which is a sobering thought.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Vaccinated30

If we weren't in lockdown, and it was a normal April sunny day, then these crowds would not be here. There would be some people but not this extent. The lockdown has to end at some point. And some point soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The sun is out, the sky is blue and people are having a good time. As usual in the shadows some people are scowling! That's both sides of human nature for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

If I'd curtains I'd twitch them mofos really hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Its amazing the amount of people pulling themselves of at the thought of eternal lockdowns and having heart attacks at the thought of people enjoying themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭Wailin

Idiots

Twat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

With the weather getting sunnier and more people vaccinated, especially those who need to be, I wonder if it's time to just open everything up and get back to normal. At least it'd spread people out a bit more, rather than having half the population of Dublin all congregating in Howth, Dún Laoghaire and Stephen's Green at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,583 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Me_Grapes wrote: »
    Anybody outside enjoying the sun are more evil than Hitler and Stalin combined.

They are even more evil than Pinhead Hellraiser himself.

°°°°°

.anon. wrote: »
    With the weather getting sunnier and more people vaccinated, especially those who need to be, I wonder if it's time to just open everything up and get back to normal. At least it'd spread people out a bit more, rather than having half the population of Dublin all congregating in Howth, Dún Laoghaire and Stephen's Green at the same time.

It's getting to that point.

The only thing that will keep crowds from gathering is rain, if we get a good run of weather this will be a weekly thing.

Zero Covid ideology isn't necessarily compatible with reality.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

nullzero wrote: »
    It's getting to that point.

The only thing that will keep crowds from gathering is rain, if we get a good run of weather this will be a weekly thing.

Zero Covid ideology isn't necessarily compatible with reality.
    Next week will please some people so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Sean Zealous Springtime

Good for them. those curtain twitchers are just miserable, fearing they'll have to leave their little cave i mean their home and go back to the office

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 55,460 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod: If only there was a forum you could discuss Covid-19 and restrictions etc... Oh wait there is

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1865

Thread Closed