Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No tax fine

• 23-04-2021 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

Changed my car last October and the tax was up on it that month. Completely forgot about it. Anyway, I got a letter in the post today with a fine for €60 for no tax, in Cork a few days ago. Met no guards or wasn’t stopped, unless a speed van clocked my reg. I will tax if for 12 months, back dated to last October. But if I do this, can I ring them and say that I had it taxed and just didn’t have the disc displayed, or will they know. Basically, is there any way of avoiding the fine. Thanks I’m advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ml100

Mickotipp wrote: »
    Changed my car last October and the tax was up on it that month. Completely forgot about it. Anyway, I got a letter in the post today with a fine for €60 for no tax, in Cork a few days ago. Met no guards or wasn’t stopped, unless a speed van clocked my reg. I will tax if for 12 months, back dated to last October. But if I do this, can I ring them and say that I had it taxed and just didn’t have the disc displayed, or will they know. Basically, is there any way of avoiding the fine. Thanks I’m advance.

Short answer is no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,007 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

You’ll see on your tax disc that the purchase date is also on it, so no dice I’m afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭JibJabWibWab

Back date the tax.
    Get in contact with Garda and show the tax is up to date.
    Case closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Mickotipp

Back date the tax.
    Case closed.

Really? Is it as simple as that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭markmoto

Cameras read your number plate and report for driving without tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

If the guard is in a good mood, yep.

Start with ‘jaysus guard. I feel so stupid...’, explain the situation, and take it from there.

If you convince the Garda that "you completely forgot" then yes.
    It's a revenue issue, if the Garda takes you to court and you show the judge that the state has not suffered any loss, then the Garda is wasting court time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

endacl wrote: »
    If the guard is in a good mood, yep.

Start with ‘jaysus guard. I feel so stupid...’, explain the situation, and take it from there.

"Ah Jaysus Gard, I feel so stupid i plain forgot to tax my car for 7 months" . Yeah, happens all the time................

Covid, lockdown, elderly parents, etc, etc...

If OP pays all the outstanding tax and convinces the Garda that it was a genuine mistake it will not make it to court...

If OP is known to Gardai, or has previous, all bets are off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

That's the way it used to be. Give it a lash..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

What garda to contact exactly? Sounds like this fine was system generated, how I'm not sure, OP Mentioned they were not stopped nor did they speak to a garda, was this perhaps issued by traffic/parking warden?

I really don't think getting fine quashed is as straight forward as is being suggested. Regardless of paying back tax, the issue is the vehicle being driven with no tax, that what the fine is for, in any case when and if fine is paid, back tax liable regardless, unless of course OP plans to change ownership.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

Happened a colleague of mine, she played the "oh my gosh I forgot for nearly a year" card and got away with it. That was before covid.

Dempo1 wrote: »
    What garda to contact exactly? Sounds like this fine was system generated, how I'm not sure, OP Mentioned they were not stopped nor did they speak to a garda, was this perhaps issued by traffic/parking warden?

I really don't think getting fine quashed is as straight forward as is being suggested. Regardless of paying back tax, the issue is the vehicle being driven with no tax, that what the fine is for, in any case when and if fine is paid, back tax liable regardless, unless of course OP plans to change ownership.

All the details will be in the letter.
    If OP rectifies the tax issue then the state has suffered no loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Whocare

Like it only 60 euros. It not end of world

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

All the details will be in the letter.
    If OP rectifies the tax issue then the state has suffered no loss.

But isint the penalty for "non display of tax" which is separate to the revenue issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

The likelihood is that a traffic warden or Garda saw your car parked in a public place with no tax. As far as I know, they are not automatically generated by ANPR cameras.

antodeco wrote: »
    But isint the penalty for "non display of tax" which is separate to the revenue issue?

Non display is one charge but the whole thing is based on loss of revenue...

It's a revenue issue, if the Garda takes you to court and you show the judge that the state has not suffered any loss, then the Garda is wasting court time...

Gardai cannot cancel tickets anymore. People might be familiar with Maurice McCabe?

If you don't pay it, you will get a summons automatically and again, the Gardai cannot just cancel it.

The Gardai can tell the court you have paid your tax and then you can tell the judge it was a mistake. Judge might throw it out, might not.

Gardai cannot cancel tickets anymore. People might be familiar with Maurice McCabe?

If you don't pay it, you will get a summons automatically and again, the Gardai cannot just cancel it.

The Gardai can tell the court you have paid your tax and then you can tell the judge it was a mistake. Judge might throw it out, might not.

The Garda can stop the prosecution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭tomtucker81

Not a chance of that. If a ticket has been issued, then the process has started.
    Op, options are-
    To pay the fine and have your car taxed up to date now.
    Don't pay the fine, tax the car up to date and try make contact with the Garda in question, explain the situation, excuse/apologise and see if they are willing to accept that and explain to a judge when it gets to summons stage.
    This option is entriely relying on the judge, on that day, being reasonable.

At the end of the day... Its only €60. Safest way to put it to bed is to pay the fine, tax the car. Its not a conviction, no penalty points. End of process.

No, he can't. He does not have the authority to stop the ticket.

The summons is a court order and not within the powers of the Gardai.

He can request a strikeout which would land him in trouble as you technically can't strikeout a matter without directions from higher office.

There's also no reason, the ticket is valid. It's for the judge to decide to dismiss it

He can request a strikeout which would land him in trouble as you technically can't strikeout a matter without directions from higher office.

There's also no reason, the ticket is valid. It's for the judge to decide to dismiss it

It doesn't have to make it to the judge. It can be taken off the list at the request of the super.

Because supers are well known for attending court to cancel traffic summons cases?

No, it's a court order and it's going to the judge. The prosecuting Gardai will tell the judge what's going on and the judge will make a decision.

Because supers are well known for attending court to cancel traffic summons cases?

No, it's a court order and it's going to the judge. The prosecuting Gardai will tell the judge what's going on and the judge will make a decision.

It will be taken off the list before the court date...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I got a ticket for out of date tax from a warden a few years ago in Kildare Town

Didn't pay the fine. Why should I ?

Went to court in Naas

Judge asked was I up to date. I said I was. Showed the clerk the disc. I also told him it was a few months out at the time.

He said "you don't owe the state anything, end of matter"

Everyone here is jumping to the conclusion that the guards are someway involved despite the op saying he had no interaction with guards..... most likely the ticket was issued by a traffic warden....& YES they DO issue " non display" tickets. Its not like it was a couple of weeks/ months out of date...it was OVER half a year. The op is paying ( the ticket AND back tax) one way or another-- easiest / simplistic solution is to take the "hit" and pay the €60 fine AND get the car tax ' up to speed cause the fines office won't even accept payment until vehicle is taxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Back date the tax.
    Case closed.

The Super will make a decision and pass it on to the Inspector in the court. If it's in your favour the Inspector will just call for a strike out. The Judge won't care or question it.

Paying the €60 is the easiest option as it'll never go near the court but it might be worthwhile contacting the guard first.

THERE WAS NO GUARD!!

I was pulled in at a petrol station for 5 minutes max and a speed van or something near by must have copped it.

THERE WAS NO GUARD!!

I was pulled in at a petrol station for 5 minutes max and a speed van or something near by must have copped it.

WHO HAS ISSUED THE FINE?

It will say on the letter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭honda boi

Is everyone not overthinking it here or am I missing something.
    The car was out of tax for half a year so I'm guessing back dating the tax will cost alot more then this €60 fine.
    Pay the fine and then "change ownership"?

WHO HAS ISSUED THE FINE?

It will say on the letter...

The guards...

The Super will make a decision and pass it on to the Inspector in the court. If it's in your favour the Inspector will just call for a strike out. The Judge won't care or question it.

Paying the €60 is the easiest option as it'll never go near the court but it might be worthwhile contacting the guard first.

But that's not taking it off the list before court. That's a strike out and is done by the judge.

Its there not a court presenter in cork? Didn't think inspectors did cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭Killinator

THERE WAS NO GUARD!!

Speed vans don't issue tickets for anything other than speed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭spring lane jack

Got a fine for it too but it was for my old car parked out on the road opposite my house, its a short wide cul de sac so it wasn't blocking anyone. As you could guess from a poster that has a very drugged up looking horse as his profile pic, I didn't pay. A fairly sound cop called to the door now I wouldn't have answered only I hadn't curtains closed so it was obvious I was there cooking, he gave me a summons and we both laughed after I said "This is the first I heard of it." I got letter twice about court cancellations etc but when I finally went to court I was not called, my name didn't even come up on the listings screen in the waiting area another fairly sound cop asked three of us our names then went into the court room came out and said the three cases were thrown out. How bad.
    The cases were thrown out because the prosecuting cop was not in attendance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Taxing the car for 12months is going to be multiple times the amount of the fine, if you're okay with back dating it, the 60 Euro fine should be of no consequence.

Take it on the nose and move on with life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

But that's not taking it off the list before court. That's a strike out and is done by the judge.

Its there not a court presenter in cork? Didn't think inspectors did cork

Inspector the last few times I was in there. Haven't been there in over 12 months though so maybe it's changed ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

I didn't realise it was only 60 and no points for no tax.

Explains why so many take a punt (no way suggesting the op done this!)

Inspector the last few times I was in there. Haven't been there in over 12 months though so maybe it's changed ?

Jesus wept. How long does it take to implement a system ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

km991148 wrote: »
    I didn't realise it was only 60 and no points for no tax.

Explains why so many take a punt (no way suggesting the op done this!)

All well and good if it's only a few weeks out of date, but I wouldn't fancy driving around with the constant risk that my car might be towed away if I meet the wrong guard at a checkpoint.

There doesn't appear to be a way out of paying the fine. Be thankful it's only €60.

https://www.garda.ie/en/roads-policing/fixed-charge-notices/cancelling-fixed-charge-notices.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

The purpose of a fine is not only to penalize, but also to deter. If there is no additional consequence of being caught apart from paying what you should already have paid, everyone will chance it. You can only win.

OP, you were without tax. Just pay it, pay the fine and move on with you life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

Heard someone on the radio during the week got a non display fine from a warden child had turned tax disc back to front!