Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First time buyer mortgage / Self build

Options
  • 10-04-2021 9:19am
    Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭

Hi would saving for one year be enough for a self build mortgage , along with gift from parents and using land as deposit.
    Partner is on 30k , I'm a second year apprentice on around 20k a year but will be getting pay increase over next two years until qualified will be making more then .

Am I right with our salary at the moment together we will get a mortgage of €175k and with 50k from my parents as a gift will give us
    €225k to build

Other hidden costs not included in above price
    Will be helped by parents aswell, like
    Legal fees
    Architect/ engineer
    Water connection
    Planning/ Council

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Q&A

At €225k a deposit of €50k will cover the 10% deposit and legal fees. If you're building you probably want a buffer of savings for unforseen costs.

Banks will look at your last 6 months bank statements to see if you can afford the repayments. This is where lifestyle factors may impact. If you've evidence that rent and savings will be sufficient to cover stressed repayments (i.e., repayments if rates where 2% higher) you should be ok. Unfortunately these indicators tend to be backward looking I'm not sure if a bank will take into account potential future pay increases, especially when a number of years away

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭StephenRy30

Q&A wrote: »