Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do tradies all have the same humour?

• 01-04-2021 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭

*Original link was a butchered version of the scene in the Inbetweeners where Will goes on work experience for a mechanic. Will, the bookwork intellectual sort is given the run around with typical trade banter by the trades men who don't understand him nor he them.

Every tradie I've ever met has been that type of person or at least exhibited traits of the mechanics in the show. The forklift operators in the UK Office are similar.

They're such a fascinating subset of the population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

We don't use the term tradie in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Who the hell thinks that some cack-handed-editing can improve one of the greatest comedy series ever? I mean, why would you even bother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What's going on?
    What's a tradie?
    Why is the video so ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,297 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sc0p0md01L0

Every tradie ever.

Got a headache watching that clip :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sc0p0md01L0

Every tradie ever.

Creator needs to consider a trip to http://www.dignitas.ch/?lang=en preferably before it reproduces/spawns etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

''Toxic masculinity''

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,652 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I find tradesmen great craic, a sense of humour probably helps when you're dealing with a diverse range of people, attitudes and are in and out of other people's homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

ap.jpg

See the match?

>>> Which one?

Don't know...................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I find tradesmen great craic, a sense of humour probably helps when you're dealing with a diverse range of people, attitudes and are in and out of other people's homes.

Can be funny in small doses. Really have respect for the skilled ones though.

Aye, generally agreeable in my experience and good for a matter. No airs and plenty of graces. Not scheming gougers as the odd few would have you believe, those looking down on tradesmen are only reflecting their own inferiority complexes. I hear Josepha Madigan has her talons sharpened over the term "tradesman", need to keep that oppressive patriarchy in check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I’ve got a guy I use whenever we need something done here. He’s Eastern European so doesn’t show up in a United jersey and try to make crude jokes while pulling a, simply, ridiculous “quote” out of their hole.

I’m sure my guy thinks he’s charging me “over the odds” but I’m always happy with both his work and his price. Will usually throw in a fifty as a “tip” for a job well done.

Recently had new double doors put in for the sitting room, two “likely lads” did the installation. They were who the vendor selected.

Couldn’t wait for them to be finished. Had to get my guy out to clean up their mess, broken saddle, separate door handle knocked loose and one of the new handles had to be reset in place as two screws snapped when it closed. Just shoddy work.

Plus the fact that whenever they dealt with my partner, who’s pet project this was, they’d say they’d have to run it by “himself” or “the man of the house” whenever she’d give them an instruction. As if I gave a rats ass about it. Just do what she says and stop the skiving, I said.

If you find a good tradesman, who doesn’t prattle on or make “jokes” in poor taste, hang on to them for dear life. They are great to have around.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,652 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Can be funny in small doses. Really have respect for the skilled ones though.

Would you rather they had deep philosophical discussions or argued about politics or religion?

I'd imagine they learn pretty quickly how to be inoffensive and how to deal with different personalities, while also dealing with those who look down their nose at them because they consider themselves to be middle class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Would you rather they had deep philosophical discussions or argued about politics or religion?

I'd imagine they learn pretty quickly how to be inoffensive and how to deal with different personalities, while also dealing with those who look down their nose at them because they consider themselves to be middle class.

Damn right I would, I want to argue the finer points of Nietzsche whilst the "sparky" tries to concentrate on repairs don't you know, none of that small talk nonsense for small minds for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I'm a shop class for soulcraft guy, don't shoot the messenger. I just don't really vibe that well with them. I find them funny but I've come to realise I'd never be friends with such people. And alas, none of my friends are tradesmen. I'm a bit too 'in the clouds' and earnest for them and they're a bit too practical and geezer-y for me. I spoke to a few about Freud and Oepidus complex the other day and they thought I belonged in a mad house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,811 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I hold our breakfast roll munching, Sunday World reading, kamikaze van driving friends in high regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

biko wrote: »
    What's going on?
    What's a tradie?
    Why is the video so ****?

Had a quick look at some of the other videos. They dont improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Tradies?!

Maybe discuss this topic with your other Brit friends in uni.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Feenix

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Tradies?!

Maybe discuss this topic with your other Brit friends in uni.

What's wrong with having Brit friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,597 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

more of an aussy term