Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tommy Tiernan Accent

• 13-03-2021 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭

Whats the story with his Nigerian accent. That's bogey as...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

He stopped being funny the day he paired up with that mouthpiece clown Hector and based 100% of his act on slagging the irish religious beliefs and peppered his "jokes" with cursing for affect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,536 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Gombeen accent

mookishboy wrote: »
    Whats the story with his Nigerian accent. That's bogey as...

Well he did spend 7 years or so in Zambia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Dick Turnip

He stopped being funny the day he paired up with that mouthpiece clown Hector and based 100% of his act on slagging the irish religious beliefs and peppered his "jokes" with cursing for affect.

Do you mean for the podcast? Has that not only happened in the last year or two?

He's been "slagging the irish religious beliefs" his entire career:confused:
    but despite that he's probably more spiritual/religous than most comedians around

I like it when he shouts his joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,426 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Is 'bogey' good or bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,430 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Is 'bogey' good or bad?

Ahh dunt no!

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Same accent he used in his early standup. Non story tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

He just shouts and expects the crowd to laugh. Was never much of a fan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

I think the op means his Nigerian accent he just did on his show to Nigerian guests, I don’t see a problem it was funny and a brilliant interview

Same accent he used in his early standup. Non story tbf

Far less shouty early on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Fine Cheers

Not sure what the issue is here. I think its hilarious and he uses it regularly in his gags. He couldn't help himself with the 2 girls tonight. I think they thought it was gas too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

Well he did spend 7 years or so in Zambia

Should have stayed there....................................

although he does look like roy keane especially with the beards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭Deemed as Normal

I think the op means his Nigerian accent he just did on his show to Nigerian guests, I don’t see a problem it was funny and a brilliant interview
    He may as well have walked away and let them talk to each other during parts of it. I say they'd quite a bit of drink before they came on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,484 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Are we trying to start a racism debate here or what's the purpose of the thread? If so, close it up, nothing to see here.

Tommy is a legend, his podcast with hector is brilliant. He doesn't give a feck what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Whats wrong with a bit of giddy silliness? Makes a nice change from the misery porn constantly being peddled by the media.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

He may as well have walked away and let them talk to each other during parts of it. I say they'd quite a bit of drink before they came on too.

Agree. I think the producers have run out of interesting guests to find, the guests on the last show or two have been pretty poor compared to earlier this season. The horse lad last night was vaguely interesting but the others meh. And I'm a fan of his and the show (well except for Fred the annoying MC)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

He did and it was the right thing to do to just let them talk, i really enjoyed the interview it was so natural.
    I also found it funny how the poet girl was so funny and easy going, yet her poetry was so serious and intense.
    Artists, they are a funny breed.

Is there an 'Unfunny Comedians' thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

I was never a fan of his stand-up and only paid to see him once. The room had the energy of private event at a stag and hen do that were sharing the same hotel. I don't know who did more roaring, him or the audience.

His chatshow is decent though. He has a talent for dealing with people and is naturally curious about them. When he turns down his stand-up persona, he's alright