Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would it be possible to bring a person back to life from DNA on bones?

• 18-02-2021 2:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 15,825 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

I see there is some church in the Czech Republic with the remains on 50000 people. So if someone got DNA from them bones could them people be brought back to life?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

AMKC wrote: »
    I see there is some church in the Czech Republic with the remains on 50000 people. So if someone got DNA from them bones could them people be brought back to life?

Them bones Them bones need calcium

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Dinosaurs first please.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RandRuns

Set of jump leads and a spray of this, and Bob's yer uncle.

DI03634_1_2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 51,205 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Did we not learn anything from the 5 Jurassic Park movies?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ec18

recreate maybe but not back to life so to speak

• Registered Users Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭arctictree

The person might look the same but different personality and memories.

bazz26 wrote: »

They should have stopped at 2?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,987 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Even if you could grow a human from the DNA, they wouldn't be the same person as the deceased. They'd effectively be their identical twin, although offset by many years.

So they'd look like them, have the same blood type, same genetic makeup, hair colour, eye colour, but they wouldn't have any of the deceased person's memories or experiences. So there's no reason to think they'd have the same personality or abilities. They'd also likely have a different diet and be bought up in a completely different environment, so they would likely have a very different physical characteristics - for instance, the diet we have today would likely result in both the potential for better and worse health outcomes - likely taller and stronger if they ate well, likely fatter and prone to heart disease, diabetes etc if they didn't (if you're comparing to someone from hundreds of years ago).

Even if you could grow a human from the DNA, they wouldn't be the same person as the deceased. They'd effectively be their identical twin, although offset by many years.

So they'd look like them, have the same blood type, same genetic makeup, hair colour, eye colour, but they wouldn't have any of the deceased person's memories or experiences. So there's no reason to think they'd have the same personality or abilities. They'd also likely have a different diet and be bought up in a completely different environment, so they would likely have a very different physical characteristics - for instance, the diet we have today would likely result in both the potential for better and worse health outcomes - likely taller and stronger if they ate well, likely fatter and prone to heart disease, diabetes etc if they didn't.

I remember reading about the Dolly the sheep cloning that the cloned lambs had a shorter lifespan than expected, and the reason they discovered was that the cells of the lambs were effectively the same age as the donor, from birth - meaning that if you cloned a baby from DNA from a corpse that was, say 30, when the person died, that the baby would be losing 30 years of expected lifespan.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

RandRuns wrote: »
    I remember reading about the Dolly the sheep cloning that the cloned lambs had a shorter lifespan than expected, and the reason they discovered was that the cells of the lambs were effectively the same age as the donor, from birth - meaning that if you cloned a baby from DNA from a corpse that was, say 30, when the person died, that the baby would be losing 30 years of expected lifespan.

:D:D:D
    Stop reading the daily sport Rand.
    https://www.reuters.com/article/us-science-cloning-dolly-idUSKCN1061Z9

Meh, it seems from that article that there were concerns re. what I posted above, but more research disproved them.....

Yeah, there was some speculation about that - I'm not sure if they came up with a conclusive determination either way. Dolly herself was put down due to developing lung cancer, which is common in sheep, and not related to her being a clone, but she did have other signs that could be down to premature aging. Of course, it's not cells as such, but the DNA itself (the cloning process starts with injecting donor DNA and nucleic material into a fresh cell).

This is what The Roslin Institute in the University of Edinburgh (where she was cloned) says:
    5. Did Dolly age prematurely because she was a clone?

Because Dolly’s DNA came from a six year old sheep, there were many questions about whether the cloning process had successfully reset the DNA to that of an embryo or whether Dolly carried artefacts in her DNA that would normally be found in older animals. This led to speculation about what Dolly’s ‘genetic’ age was and whether she aged more quickly than a sheep that was not a clone. Since Dolly was the first animal to be cloned from an adult cell, scientists did not fully know what happened to the donor DNA during cloning.

Analysis of Dolly’s DNA when she was one year old showed that the protective caps on the end of her chromosomes (known as telomeres) were shorter than those of a normal sheep of the same age. Telomeres get shorter with age and it is possible that Dolly’s telomeres had not been fully renewed during the cloning process. However, the telomeres of other cloned animals have been found to be a similar length or even longer than those of normal animals. The reasons for these differences in telomere length are not completely clear and require further investigation.

Dolly did develop arthritis at the age of four, which could have been a sign that she was ageing prematurely. However, it is not clear whether the arthritis was caused by Dolly’s ‘old’ DNA. Instead, the arthritis could have been caused by the concrete floor Dolly often stood on, for security reasons, or, perhaps, it was because Dolly often received treats to get her to pose for photographs, resulting in her becoming overweight.

https://www.ed.ac.uk/roslin/about/dolly/facts/cloning

The fact is that normal animal and human reproduction starts off with cells from parents of a particular age, but that age doesn't cause advanced aging in the offspring. I mean, you could father a child at 20 and another at 70. Doesn't mean the second child will lose 50 years of life expectancy, even though the sperm at 70 will have been the result of 50 more years of cell division than the sperm at 20. Your fertility at 70 - the number and quality of motile sperm, however, will be lower at 70 than at 20 (all else being equal), because the aging process will introduce more errors into cell division.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,746 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It would most likely be DNA from a tooth.

The DNA of the Woolly Mammoth has been sequenced using DNA from their teeth.

https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/mammoth-genomes-shatter-record-for-oldest-dna-sequences/

It is the first time DNA from over a million years old has been sequenced.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Meh, it seems from that article that there were concerns re. what I posted above, but more research disproved them.....
    There were concerns. The link between aging and telomere degradation had only recently become known and due to technology any progress on researching it was quite slow.

Some believed that this was a completely irreversible process, that telomeres from a source DNA strand would always become smaller with every cell division. And thus, that a clone of any animal would inherit their "real" age and leave the new individual with "old" DNA.

Dolly and the many, many cloning experiments which took place demonstrated that this didn't hold true. Telomere length in the new individual was restored to normal during the process.

We have since discovered that not only are the telomeres restored in these cases, but that it is possible to stimulate the regeneration of telomeres in adult cells.

Whether this could be applied at a medical level is not known, but if possible it would help combat quite a lot of aging-related illnesses.

RobertKK wrote: »
    It would most likely be DNA from a tooth.

The DNA of the Woolly Mammoth has been sequenced using DNA from their teeth.

https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/mammoth-genomes-shatter-record-for-oldest-dna-sequences/

It is the first time DNA from over a million years old has been sequenced.

Weren't the Russians claiming to be cloning a wooly mammoth using an elephant as the "carrier" as it were? Wonder where they got with it. I could imagine Putin riding on one for a photo shoot.

They didn't get anywhere. The chances of finding viable cells to use are incredibly slim, they would need to be mixed with some fragments of elephant DNA - so they'd be hybrids, not true clones, and as mammoths were a lot bigger than African Elephants, any surrogate mother elephant would have a very difficult (and probably fatal) time carrying the resulting baby to term.

There are other Russian and Japanese scientists working with mammoth cells, with the stated aim of getting the cells to reproduce, and they have reported breakthroughs, but their aim is not necessarily to clone a mammoth, rather to research how cloning could assist in preventing the extinction of current animals.

Putin would indeed look good, riding bareback on a mammoth, but I'd say he'd be equally interested in cloning himself to get around Russian Presidency term limits.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

When it is possible I am off to Pere lachaise and party with Jim Morrison and Oscar Wilde. Might bring Ms Bernhardt along.

They didn't get anywhere. The chances of finding viable cells to use are incredibly slim, they would need to be mixed with some fragments of elephant DNA - so they'd be hybrids, not true clones, and as mammoths were a lot bigger than African Elephants, any surrogate mother elephant would have a very difficult (and probably fatal) time carrying the resulting baby to term.

There are other Russian and Japanese scientists working with mammoth cells, with the stated aim of getting the cells to reproduce, and they have reported breakthroughs, but their aim is not necessarily to clone a mammoth, rather to research how cloning could assist in preventing the extinction of current animals.

Putin would indeed look good, riding bareback on a mammoth, but I'd say he'd be equally interested in cloning himself to get around Russian Presidency term limits.

It's as I suspected then, and basically a fancy version of sticking some furry rugs on an elephant!

When it is possible I am off to Pere lachaise and party with Jim Morrison and Oscar Wilde. Might bring Ms Bernhardt along.

Oscar would probably be happier if you didn't.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Set of jump leads and a spray of this, and Bob's yer uncle.

DI03634_1_2.jpg
    You kinda don't have to read the "made in' part to know exactly where it hails from. :D
    Dinosaurs first please.
    and we'd have to terraform the earth to be hotter and with more oxygen in the air. Or big woolly jumpers and O2 tanks on their back.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Dinosaurs first please.
    Oh lets start with Giant Sloths please.

Something the size of an elephant that burrows through solid rock. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

We learned that life finds a way.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Nope.

Reopening during a lockdown might not be a good idea ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Greyfox

AMKC wrote: »

Yeah its easy enough, just say the words and the lord of light will do the rest