Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sale witha twist! Vintage MBK Super Record

• 12-02-2021 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭

Ok folks, this is a frameset I picked up a while back, built up recently with spares from the vintage stash...and it has sat in the workshop since!

So here's the thing; A friend of mine has, in the recent past, had a bone marrow transplant. An accomplished cyclist, he is on the long road to recovery and trying to raise funds for an ebike with which to get him cycling again. Any money raised from the sale of this bike will go directly to him.

Here's the details: Early 90s MBK Super Record frameset, 54 ctc seat tube, 55ctc top tube.

A few age related marks, to be expected.

90s-tastic French flouro paint scheme, with colour coordinated vintage Iscaselle saddle and new bar-tape.

Tres cool recessed brake cable routing under the top tube.

Columbus SL lightweight tubing.
    Mavic hub and rim front wheel; Mavic hub and unknown (possibly Wolber?) rim rear wheel; both running true and smooth on stainless steel spokes. Slight scuffing from storage on rear rim.
    Suntour front and rear mechs, Sunrace downtube shifters.
    Shimano 600 tricolour chainset.
    Modern Campagnolo Veloce brake calipers, for braking confidence, mated to vintage Dia Compe aero levers.
    All new cables and housings.
    New Vittoria tyres.

All round, a pretty cool, eye catching vintage road bike that is ready to roll, when lockdowns end and the sun comes back out!

So, Valentines Day is Sunday; tell herself you want this instead of a new razor for your back hair or that leopardskin silk dressing gown and matching mankini.

€250 would be nice. Closer to €300 would be even better for this gent and his very worthy cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭8valve

Correction; front mech is Shimano 105.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

too big for me, a friend has asked what height this would suit? 5'9"-5'10" ish?

Plenty of seatpost, and it's a 54ctc, so anyone from 5'7'' to 6'0''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭cyclocross!

Iconic frame. A real beauty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭fat bloke

That's deadly. A working bike for 250 is always a bargain but it's a complete steal for something like that with history and heritage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

What's the biggest tyres you would get on that?

42 21 climbing gear?

What's the nearest hamlet/village to your abode in Co Waterford?

What's the biggest tyres you would get on that?

42 21 climbing gear?

What's the nearest hamlet/village to your abode in Co Waterford?

she'll take 700 x 28s, no problem.

42x21...harks back to when men were men and compacts were what yer mammy kept her make-up in! I have a 7spd 12-28 modern freewheel that I'll include.

I'm in Portlaw, centre of the known universe....according to the natives :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

8valve wrote: »

I'm in Portlaw, centre of the known universe....according to the natives :D

Thank goodness! I was going through the shed trying to figure out how to fit it in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Cillian E

Hi I'll give you the 250 for it. Can I PM you?

To keep the ball rolling I will throw this set of Shimano Dura Ace 1st generation brake calipers in. Excellent condition. Payment to 8valve toward the ebike and I will post to you. I think 50 is a fair price. Feel free to correct me if I am way off.

Cillian E wrote: »
    Hi I'll give you the 250 for it. Can I PM you?

Absolutely. And thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Probably academic at this stage but.....next in line if it falls through?

MojoMaker wrote: »
    Probably academic at this stage but.....next in line if it falls through?

No worries. Bear in mind, I will be probably selling off a few of my restored bikes over the coming months, as the collection has reached critical mass at this stage!

More N+11, than N+1...!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,307 ✭✭✭cletus

More N+11, than N+1...!!

8valve, I'm disappointed. That's not how the equation works...

cletus wrote: »
    8valve, I'm disappointed. That's not how the equation works...

:D:D:D

Bear in mind....selling bikes makes room for new projects.:rolleyes:

To keep the ball rolling I will throw this set of Shimano Dura Ace 1st generation brake calipers in. Excellent condition. Payment to 8valve toward the ebike and I will post to you. I think 50 is a fair price. Feel free to correct me if I am way off.

50 euro gone to 8valve toward the project. Calipers gone elsewhere.

Just a quick update:

MBK went to it's new home today;
    As mentioned above, cyclocross kindly donated the brakes and I have received the funds from that sale;
    Another member kindly forwarded a donation to me, also.

This means a grand total of €350 will be forwarded to Tomas after the weekend, towards the cost of his ebike.

Thanks, everyone, on his behalf, for your generosity & support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

So here's the thing; A friend of mine has, in the recent past, had a bone marrow transplant. An accomplished cyclist, he is on the long road to recovery and trying to raise funds for an ebike with which to get him cycling again. Any money raised from the sale of this bike will go directly to him.

I completely missed this bit and would've bought it had I read it. I'll send on the price of pint or two toward the fund lord knows I wish I could spend it that the high stool so may aswell somewhere. PM enroute :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭nicksnikita

Fair play lads - great gesture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭WOT

I sold a few bits here recently to clear out. Will make a contribution to this. Sent pm for details.

WOT wrote: »
    I sold a few bits here recently to clear out. Will make a contribution to this. Sent pm for details.

Much appreciated; just replied to you there.

P.