Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HID lights

• 09-02-2021 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭

I failed the nct with HID lights in non HID lamps (was like this when I bought it) would it cost much to get these changed back to ordinary lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The price of two bulbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Just put into two cheap halogen bulbs for the retest if you plan on refitting the hids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

I failed the nct with HID lights in non HID lamps (was like this when I bought it) would it cost much to get these changed back to ordinary lights?

As said above , just the price of two bulbs. I would reinstall the HIDs after though, much better light output once they heat up. You can leave the HID ballast on the car I presume it is mounted to a ground near the lights, just let the bulbs dangle and throw them back in after it passes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Depends on how they were fitted. Young one here just had to replace two full headlamp units on her Golf after failing the NCT. The young fella she was going out with 'did up' her car for her. Got one of his mates to do the lights. Apparently he's 'deadly at cars and stuff'. Fast forward a year and young fella gone, and €320 for parts and labour....

BlakeS94 wrote: »
    just let the bulbs dangle and throw them back in after it passes

Yeah. Don't do that. If the car wasn't fitted with them at the factory, they're going to be a pain in the hoop for every other driver on the road.

I get it. They make your car look cool and stuff, but just go with tinted windows and stupid font on your plates if you want to look like a tool.

endacl wrote: »
    Depends on how they were fitted. Young one here just had to replace two full headlamp units on her Golf after failing the NCT. The young fella she was going out with 'did up' her car for her. Got one of his mates to do the lights. Apparently he's 'deadly at cars and stuff'. Fast forward a year and young fella gone, and €320 for parts and labour....

The joys of fatherhood lol

I didn't pay. Her lesson to learn. Would have saved the cash if she's listened at the time.

I didn't pay. Her lesson to learn.

She's probably not happy but I enjoy your humour. Was the lesson about the car or the boy? 😆

She's probably not happy but I enjoy your humour. Was the lesson about the car or the boy? ��

About making good choices.

It's a grand car.

:cool:

About making good choices.

It's a grand car.

:cool:

Golf's are a lovely car. I like to "do up" my girlfriends car but more in the realm of oil changes and new brakes rather than illegal high intensity headlight bulbs, even though I quite like HID kits on cars. Except when you're facing them at night! *flash,flash flash flash flash*

I'll introduce ye.

Do you have a job?

I'll introduce ye.

Do you have a job?

I'll have to pass I'm afraid two girlfriends and a mistress is enough for me. Valentines day breaks the bank lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭corks finest

Yeah. Don't do that. If the car wasn't fitted with them at the factory, they're going to be a pain in the hoop for every other driver on the road.

I get it. They make your car look cool and stuff, but just go with tinted windows and stupid font on your plates if you want to look like a tool.

100 pc

The number plates I understand, but what's wrong with tinted windows? They have a practical use not just cosmetic. I get the back three windows on all my cars tinted, currently have a limo tint on my car. Helps with privacy people cant see into the back of your car. And it also stops some heat getting through in the summer so the kids dont have to sit on roasted leather from the heat magnified through the glass, it blocks a lot of it out, and the Ray's from the sun from blinding rear passengers. Just as a side note I have wind deflectors too are they only for boy racers and yobbos?

Wind deflectors are ok. Tinted windows for kids comfort isn’t. Rear seat suffering is character building. I wouldn’t be half the man I am today if it wasn’t for scalding the legs off meself on vinyl in the back of a Hillman Hunter in the late 70s.

I presume you have factory fitted ‘comfortable’ seats in the back? Why? You paid for the car, but you never sit there. Swop them out for plastic. The kids will thank you. You can sell the comfy seats on Adverts. Buy yourself a bead cover for the driver’s seat.

Think the tints look great, had them and wind deflectors on my last jap import, looks decent and serves a purpose

Wind deflectors are ok. Tinted windows for kids comfort isn’t. Rear seat suffering is character building. I wouldn’t be half the man I am today if it wasn’t for scalding the legs off meself on vinyl in the back of a Hillman Hunter in the late 70s.

I presume you have factory fitted ‘comfortable’ seats in the back? Why? You paid for the car, but you never sit there. Swop them out for plastic. The kids will thank you. You can sell the comfy seats on Adverts. Buy yourself a bead cover for the driver’s seat.

Your sarcasm reaches levels I could never match my friend. Not just for the comfort I think they make a car look nicer. A lot of manufacturers have tinted windows as a spec option from new

Think the tints look great, had them and wind deflectors on my last jap import, looks decent and serves a purpose

My thoughts exactly

Your sarcasm reaches levels I could never match my friend. Not just for the comfort I think they make a car look nicer. A lot of manufacturers have tinted windows as a spec option from new

Adds A few bob also when selling or trading in I guess

I had deflectors on my last car. I wouldn't be one to talk!

I definitely think deflectors are useful just to crack to window a bit without getting pelted by rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They’re for culchies, smokers or boy racers.

colm_mcm wrote: »

I am neither of those, is there a 4th option?

Same city boy here over 60 and non smoker

colm_mcm wrote: »

I was a smoker. Not now. Another thing I get to be smug about!

We may be so far off topic now that we'll accidentally rejoin topic....

I was a smoker. Not now. Another thing I get to be smug about!

We may be so far off topic now that we'll accidentally rejoin topic....

Apologies to the OP for hijacking the thread. In Summary, easy fix, buy two bulbs and it'll pass, maybe get them focused to be sure.