Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best way to sell privately

• 04-02-2021 10:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭

Looking to sell my car instead of trading, as they've offered less than it's worth. I'm going to try and sell privately, what's the best site to do this and if anyone has any tips to actually sell it they'd be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭maddness

Donedeal and Carzone but be prepared for a load of messers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Hooked

I've bought and sold a lot of cars over the years via DoneDeal or Carzone.

On DoneDeal - list the ad as "calls only, no private numbers, no texts/messaging". The amount of rubbish I've had over the years - bored eejits winding you up with ZERO interest in buying. If someone is interested in your car - they'll pick up the phone.

I personally stay the hell away from Adverts.ie (sorry I know its a sister website) and stay off Facebook marketplace. Again - full of clowns winding you up by PM/message. Great for selling odds n ends - just not cars! Unless it's an old/cheap motor - less than 2 grand, then by all means use the latter. :D And prepare for the onslaught!

And be careful! Get money in the bank if you can. And do not part with the log book, post it yourself - AFTER funds are received or cleared. Lot of people out there trying to pull a fast one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

What car is it and what were you offered?

I recently got a trade in offer that was decent enough, didnt buy new car in the end. I was going to approach another dealer about a straight sale and decided if the selling my own and the straight sale price wasnt at least 1500 to 2000 better in my favour than the trade in deal then I wasn't going to even try sell mine privately.

Due to the messers maddness has referenced above, they are very real.

Depends on the car though, I was plauged my constant phone calls, no shows and people offering 50% of asking prices on cars before, e39 and e60 BMWs, whereas my father put a Hilux on donedeal and had it sold and collected for asking price in under an hour with 2 guys on standby to pay asking price the next day if it fell through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Buddy Bubs wrote: »
    What car is it and what were you offered?

I recently got a trade in offer that was decent enough, didnt buy new car in the end. I was going to approach another dealer about a straight sale and decided if the selling my own and the straight sale price wasnt at least 1500 to 2000 better in my favour than the trade in deal then I wasn't going to even try sell mine privately.

Due to the messers maddness has referenced above, they are very real.

Depends on the car though, I was plauged my constant phone calls, no shows and people offering 50% of asking prices on cars before, e39 and e60 BMWs, whereas my father put a Hilux on donedeal and had it sold and collected for asking price in under an hour with 2 guys on standby to pay asking price the next day if it fell through.

2010 Qashqai, 230k on the clock, great nick though and NCT'd this week and serviced and pretty fresh tyres from late last year.
    It is a solid motor and I was offered 2k in the trade in where I am sure I can get more... but form seeing the above do I want the messing about that comes with it.

OK, that's low I had a look on donedeal and dealers are asking 5 to 6k for them, even with a decent bit of mileage. Surprised me, but there you go, they are a popular machine at the 3nd of the day.
    You'd sell that quickly for 3500 to 4000 I imagine and then go into dealer for new car and ask for a straight sale discount.
    In reality, that dealer has offered you next to nothing for your own car when you consider there should be a straight sale discount.
    Even if you get 3500 for your own and knock 1000 off asking price then you've more that doubled value.
    In this case, I'd go private. Qashqai may not attract too many messers but you may encounter some looking to flip it for profit.
    What age range of car are you looking to buy?
    New or used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭j14

I'm selling my 2012 Hyundai i40 estate. It's on adverts and done deal. All I've had so far are very low ball offers and messers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Further to the above a proper valet (not a wash) and really good photos in decent light. Few things are more effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

2010 Qashqai, 230k on the clock, great nick though and NCT'd this week and serviced and pretty fresh tyres from late last year.
    It is a solid motor and I was offered 2k in the trade in where I am sure I can get more... but form seeing the above do I want the messing about that comes with it.

I sold a 2008 Quasqai with 395k kms, yes 395 with a new NCT for 1950 last year and i was eaten alive for it. I could have sold ten of them if i had them.

Definitely think you'd get 4k ish for yours in a private deal fairly easily.

You will be plagued with messers at that age and price point. Call me rude but i would only entertain enquiries from people who can string a sentence together and you should get on grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

is it best to meet at a car park? other than have people come to your home..just in case they'd be staking out the place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

fryup wrote: »
    is it best to meet at a car park? other than have people come to your home..just in case they'd be staking out the place?

The other side of that fryup is that if you're buying then you really don't want to be doing the deal anyplace but the sellers house.

I bought a car a couple of years ago for 15ish k and paid by bank transfer. No way I'm sending money unless I have a level of trust and that involves going to the lads house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,940 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

230k would only be a bit above average kilometres on an eleven year old car. 2k was very low, sounds like dealer did not want the car for some reason. Usually a dealer would snap up most SUV's like Qashqai as they sell easy.

4k should be very doable. I never overprice a car when selling. I put it up and stick to my price. As other say no texts or private numbers. You will have to allow buyer to see the car at your house, you may let them view elsewhere but I never complete a deal unless I saw where the person lived.

Some people valet cars, on this age car I would clean it inside and out very well and give it a.bit of s polish. If it has not got alloys I buy a cheap set of wheel trims and put them on the wheel rims.

Slava Ukrainii

Will get it looking fresh over the weekend and put it up for something above the 4k region, it is in great nick in fairness and would do someone well if they looked after it like I did. Regular services etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭anplaya27

Hooked wrote: »
    I've bought and sold a lot of cars over the years via DoneDeal or Carzone.

On DoneDeal - list the ad as "calls only, no private numbers, no texts/messaging". The amount of rubbish I've had over the years - bored eejits winding you up with ZERO interest in buying. If someone is interested in your car - they'll pick up the phone.

I personally stay the hell away from Adverts.ie (sorry I know its a sister website) and stay off Facebook marketplace. Again - full of clowns winding you up by PM/message. Great for selling odds n ends - just not cars! Unless it's an old/cheap motor - less than 2 grand, then by all means use the latter. :D And prepare for the onslaught!

And be careful! Get money in the bank if you can. And do not part with the log book, post it yourself - AFTER funds are received or cleared. Lot of people out there trying to pull a fast one!

No text / messaging is a pain in the arse for genuine people like me as I'm Deaf ( ISL user).

Something to take into consideration as not everyone can make a phone call.

anplaya27 wrote: »
    No text / messaging is a pain in the arse for genuine people like me as I'm Deaf ( ISL user).

Problem with text messages is they take so much time in a 3-4 minute call you have all your info give . However generally if someine explains why they can only text I try to deal with them most sellers will do the same

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Doublebusy

Problem with text messages is they take so much time in a 3-4 minute call you have all your info give . However generally if so done explains why they can only text I try to deal with them most sellers will do the same

Thats nice of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

If you ask a texter to ring so you can discuss the sale in more detail (and they're not willing to do so, or don't give a reasonable reason not to call), in my experience it's best to just leave it at that.

The vast majority of genuinely interested buyers will want to speak to you.

Have sold two cars on done deal and the only genuine buyers in my experience were those who phoned me to discuss the car more and arrange a viewing. None of the texters were reliable.

You can spend hours over and back on text with these guys and make no progress at all.

Problem with text messages is they take so much time in a 3-4 minute call you have all your info give . However generally if someine explains why they can only text I try to deal with them most sellers will do the same

I cant hear at all. Profoundly deaf. That a good enough excuse for you ? Suppose I should be grateful you'll deal with me then. I shouldn't even have to tell the seller that in the first place in my opinion.

I dealt with someone about 5 years ago. Never knew they where deaf until we met up. They had a pen and paper with them and that's how we communicated in person. Deal done there and then

Just been offered 3500 in a trade in deal, I'm looking at a GLA AMG and to be honest 3.5 is not too bad.

What engine you going for

Doublebusy wrote: »
    What engine you going for

https://www.carbuyersguide.net/mercedes/gla-class/2017-petrol-black-suv-1.6-dublin-5fed7a9f0130a

This one, I've been down to see it and certainly prefer this one to the normal "style" version.

Any thoughts?

https://www.carbuyersguide.net/mercedes/gla-class/2017-petrol-black-suv-1.6-dublin-5fed7a9f0130a

This one, I've been down to see it and certainly prefer this one to the normal "style" version.

Any thoughts?
    Very impressive. Nice bit of kit on it

Any thoughts?

Yes, AMG looks much better, nice machine that.

Out of interest, when you say you were offered 3,500 for it, what is the cost to change? Was it 24,000 or 25,000?

Theres 3 prices on the ad....27,995 at the top then in the text it says:

"The cash price is €27495 & the Retail price with a trade-in is €28495"

So they have either knocked 500 off it or added 500 on in the last while!

I'd probably still go for it though no matter what your answer is if you are happy to do so, at least you're getting a half honest valuation on your own.

Buddy Bubs wrote: »
    Yes, AMG looks much better, nice machine that.

Out of interest, when you say you were offered 3,500 for it, what is the cost to change? Was it 24,000 or 25,000?

Theres 3 prices on the ad....27,995 at the top then in the text it says:

"The cash price is €27495 & the Retail price with a trade-in is €28495"

So they have either knocked 500 off it or added 500 on in the last while!

I'd probably still go for it though no matter what your answer is if you are happy to do so, at least you're getting a half honest valuation on your own.

Yeh, they've added the 1k to my trade in and also dropped the price to the cash price so it seems like a good deal.

sure just tell the seller that in a text,...just start the text with "I'm deaf so please forgive me for sending this............

I'm sure most people would be understanding

fryup wrote: »
    sure just tell the seller that in a text,...just start the text with "I'm deaf so please forgive me for sending this............

I'm sure most people would be understanding

I have to ask as it may have gone over my head - this is humour right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,371 ✭✭✭User1998

I cant hear at all. Profoundly deaf. That a good enough excuse for you ? Suppose I should be grateful you'll deal with me then. I shouldn't even have to tell the seller that in the first place in my opinion.

If a seller doesn’t want to text their not obliged to. Not sure why your getting smart about it?

Doublebusy wrote: »
    I have to ask as it may have gone over my head - this is humour right

no why would it be ?

User1998 wrote: »
    If a seller doesn’t want to text their not obliged to. Not sure why your getting smart about it?

I'm just saying not everyone can phone, hence they may be missing out on genuinely interested people. That's all.

I never said you have to tell me why you need to text. All you need do it s say sorry I cannot ring at present I am interested in the car can I come to see it what is your eircode. If you have 1-20 things you want to know that is grand. It just after selling a few things on DD you get an awfull out of lads asking ten different questions. Some lads even making an iff at 50% of cars asking price

However reading texts are difficult for me unless O have my glasses on. As I farm I may only have a pair of cheap reading glasses on while working. I struggle to read texts with them on. It's easier to deal with someone by ringing for me.

Slava Ukrainii

I never said you have to tell me why you need to text. All you need do it s say sorry I cannot ring at present I am interested in the car can I come to see it what is your eircode. If you have 1-20 things you want to know that is grand. It just after selling a few things on DD you get an awfull out of lads asking ten different questions. Some lads even making an iff at 50% of cars asking price

However reading texts are difficult for me unless O have my glasses on. As I farm I may only have a pair of cheap reading glasses on while working. I struggle to read texts with them on. It's easier to deal with someone by ringing for me.

That's fair enough. I was just saying you might be missing out on people who are genuinely interested.