Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The term "New Irish"

• 31-01-2021 9:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭

Is the term "New Irish" a racist or a derogatory term ?

Some people seem to think it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

It really depends on who says it and the intention and or awareness that person has.

Generally I would call people what they prefer.

In a way every new young generation of people in Ireland ..is new irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭Fritzbox

Big Gerry wrote: »

I don't think anyone uses that term anymore, if they ever did?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Y U ask. It's just a few mins since the last racist platform thread

• Registered Users Posts: 16,545 ✭✭✭✭banie01

It's an inherently racist term, it's a dog whistle.
    That one would need to ask "if" it may be so?
    Doesn't really say a lot for critical thinking skills IMO.

*Corrected gig(damn autocorrect) to dog*

Why start such a divisive thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Cant we just call them yer man or yer wan or is that sexist?

Young wan if she is hot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Big Gerry wrote: »

A balls of a term. Usually applied to someone who neither the person using the term sees as Irish, and more often than not the target doesn't see themselves as Irish either.

Young wan if she is hot.

Yer man if she isnt

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RandRuns

banie01 wrote: »
    It's an inherently racist term, it's a gig whistle.
    That one would need to ask "if" it may be so?
    Doesn't really say a lot for critical thinking skills IMO.

Whats a gig whistle? It sounds vaugely obscene.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,563 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

It’s fairly popular over in the “Current Affairs” forum.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Feisar

New Irish = Plastic Paddy

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

It’s fairly popular over in the “Current Affairs” forum.

Says about all you need to know doesn't it

Feisar wrote: »
    New Irish = Plastic Paddy fordiner

FYP

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Sounds like a term some idiot at RTE or the Irish Times conjures up to make an article sound snazzy.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Fritzbox wrote: »

Must be new around here so

• Registered Users Posts: 47 StemCell

Best just to call them our replacements.

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

Fritzbox wrote: »

The Taoiseach used the term on RTE radio 1 today.

StemCell wrote: »
    Best just to call them our replacements.
    Can they replace me so i can live in Spain?

Also can someone replace FF please?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

This thread isn't going anywhere other than to start an argument based on the posts so far.

Closed