Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cnut Learner Drivers

• 31-01-2021 3:51am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭

I'm surrounded on all sides by drivers with no licences, they don't display "L" plates but mysteriously went from about a week or so of L plates To no plates at all in car within a few weeks if getting the car.

Now I know there is nothing the gardai can do without literally catching them in the act and as they have no plates up this makes it especially difficult. And normally I wouldn't mind but one cnut in particular (we don't see eye to eye) actively tries to make it as difficult as possible to park outside my own home. Luckily they're a shyte parker/driver so I usually get in anyway.

Is there any means outside of our largely ineffective and disinterested gardai to report some driving on learner permits for prolonged periods, give this also effectively renders their insurance policy invalid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭peter4918

I'm surrounded on all sides by drivers with no licences, they don't display "L" plates but mysteriously went from about a week or so of L plates To no plates at all in car within a few weeks if getting the car.

Now I know there is nothing the gardai can do without literally catching them in the act and as they have no plates up this makes it especially difficult. And normally I wouldn't mind but one cnut in particular (we don't see eye to eye) actively tries to make it as difficult as possible to park outside my own home. Luckily they're a shyte parker/driver so I usually get in anyway.

Is there any means outside of our largely ineffective and disinterested gardai to report some driving on learner permits for prolonged periods, give this also effectively renders their insurance policy invalid?

As you say in you post it is very hard to catch them in the act but why make take a pop at the guards in the last paragraph. Have spoken to any of these ineffective and disinterested gardai that you speak of and raised your concerns with them?

Or spoken to any of learner drivers with no l-plates and asked them to not park across your drive. Most people are reasonable when you talk to them face to face and you yourself are reasonable with them.

peter4918 wrote: »
    and you yourself are reasonable with them.

OP isn't quite coming off as a reasonable person. Wouldn't be surprised if they're making parking difficult for him on purpose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

OP isn't quite coming off as a reasonable person. Wouldn't be surprised if they're making parking difficult for him on purpose.

Yes exactly. It isn't by accident. But still my tax/insurance/licence is all legit. My car has every right to be where it is, in fact I pay extra cos other cnuts don't abide by the rules.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

peter4918 wrote: »
    As you say in you post it is very hard to catch them in the act but why make take a pop at the guards in the last paragraph. Have spoken to any of these ineffective and disinterested gardai that you speak of and raised your concerns with them?

Or spoken to any of learner drivers with no l-plates and asked them to not park across your drive. Most people are reasonable when you talk to them face to face and you yourself are reasonable with them.

I think you'll find these uncivilised dole hounds are anything but reasonable. Have tried talking, it went as well as I expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

I think you'll find these uncivilised dole hounds are anything but reasonable. Have tried talking, it went as well as I expected.

Let the air out of 2 tyres - watch the little rat squirm trying to change a wheel. Only to realise he has another flat.

But seriously any personal action can have retaliation.

I know back home, I'd just call the gardai for a chat. Be sound and say your having some trouble. Our local lads would happily sit in a spot to catch em. Not sure if it's practical right now though.

In these situations it really can be best to try and diffuse things. No matter how hard it is often easier than an alternative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

this should be in after hours ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thanks all for coming. See yous in the next venting thread.