Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Move the St. Patrick’s day festival

• 20-01-2021 2:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭

Cancelled again

How about we cancel the March public holiday, wait until we get a lot more people vaccinated and maybe temporarily move the holiday to September ?

Weather will be warm, air travel should be opening up, time to plan it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭KaneToad

OU812 wrote: »
    Cancelled again

How about we cancel the March public holiday, wait until we get a lot more people vaccinated and maybe temporarily move the holiday to September ?

There is no guarantee that it would be viable in Sept either. An additional public holiday when possible, which has been talked about, might be a better bet.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭Pixel Eater

Doubt we'll be totally out of the woods by September so it could still be cancelled again. Plus don't think it would be wise to invite tens of thousands of people into the country until the pandemic is truly quashed worldwide.

Leave Paddy's day where it is and let Tony work himself into hysterics over a troubled alcohol fixation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Tony said we might be able to have it in 2023

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

St Patrick's Day should be moved regardless - think of the majorettes legs!

Shift it to May 1st, instead of "pretend we're socialist day".

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

There'll be no moving of days.
    St Patrick's day is 17 March. If we can parade or not is irrelevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭hynesie08

I am offended that you want to move this completely arbitrary date, the 17th of March is paddy's day because, em, it was the date he brought Christianity to Ireland according to a calender that didn't exist back then....

Move the whole thing, like that glorious year it was in May....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Yester

Yes and then push Easter to Halloween and Halloween to Christmas and Christmas to Easter 2022.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,927 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Does anyone actually care about St Patrick's day celebrations? I have never known anyone to think of it as more than a day off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Personally it made my day to hear it had been cancelled. The "festival" had become nothing more than a by-word for problem drinking and violence. A national embarrassment.

Hopefully a carefully curated virtual Paddy's day will allow us to show off a much more refined image to the world, than a load of men getting rat arsed and stumbling around temple bar.

Can't imagine there's too many non-cranks opposed to the cancellation of this event given where we are with the pandemic.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Personally it made my day to hear it had been cancelled. The "festival" had become nothing more than a by-word for problem drinking and violence. A national embarrassment.

Hopefully a carefully curated virtual Paddy's day will allow us to show off a much more refined image to the world, than a load of men getting rat arsed and stumbling around temple bar.

Can't imagine there's too many non-cranks opposed to the cancellation of this event given where we are with the pandemic.

Parody account

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Yester

Bring back Arthur's Day!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Does anyone actually care about St Patrick's day celebrations? I have never known anyone to think of it as more than a day off.

The parade, local or “official”, can be good fun for kids. I wouldn’t recommend hanging around Dublin City for too long after though.

Once the sun goes down you get the underage drinking and the older creeps coming out in “force”. Normal people steer clear, for the most part. The sheer volume of vomit on the street you see if you’re in town the day after is a disgrace.
    Yester wrote: »
    Bring back Arthur's Day!

It was fun for awhile when it was a pint after work but it got way out of hand. The gigs were fine but scenes like naked lads breakdancing on broken glass in the middle of Templebar and playing each other’s mickeys like guitars really took away from the “spirit” of the day.

I think they’ve got this call right. No harm in us, as a nation, “drying out” for a spell. The pubs will open up again in the, not too distant, future.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Northernlily

OU812 wrote: »
    Cancelled again

Things won't be normal by September.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Last year I was saying there will be no 2021 St. Patricks day celebrations and was called a conspiracy doom mongerer ... and yet here we are ..

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭505_

Wouldn't be in favour of moving it. Hopefully by 2022 it'll be ok to go ahead again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭randd1

Leave Paddy's Day alone. It's fine where it is.

However I have a suggestion; 2 national holiday periods. First off, remove Good Friday as anything official. In essence, it becomes just another Friday.

The first national holiday period would be at Christmas obviously. All shops, pubs restaurants etc are to close at 2pm Christmas Eve (which also becomes a bank holiday), stay closed for Christmas Day, and can only open on Stephens Day after 2pm.

The second would be in the summer with the good weather, and start on the first Thursday (taken from Good Friday) & Friday in July (bank holidays), with the following Monday also a bank holiday. The Friday would be national charity day, where communities raise money for local causes. All state and part state owned amenities would grant half price entry over the 5 day period.

This wouldn't affect your own statutory holidays entitlement, and it breaks up the year big time. It's also just after when the schools finish, giving parents a bit of time with their kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

My local club reached the hurling club finals a few years back so I flew into Dublin for the St Patrick's weekend. First time I'd been home for the holiday in many years.

The trip to Croke Park itself was highly enjoyable, but I was shocked at the scenes in Dublin CC afterwards. Empty cans and pools of vomit everywhere, crowds of teenagers harassing people, a woman urinating outside Penny's on the main street of our capital city. Off-license sales should be banned this year as well.

Hopefully the cancellation this year will allow people to actually spend time with their family instead of getting stupidly drunk. Time to reflect on what it means to be Irish on their national holiday. Show their patriotism by actually staying at home and helping society as a whole. It might also give wider society a chance to reconsider what St Patrick's Day actually means apart from alcohol abuse, violence, tired clichés, and overbearing displays of paddywhackery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

Could be worse she could have ran a scour out her derrière. We will take a shot of urine any day.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭corner of hells

My local club reached the hurling club finals a few years back so I flew into Dublin for the St Patrick's weekend. First time I'd been home for the holiday in many years.

The trip to Croke Park itself was highly enjoyable, but I was shocked at the scenes in Dublin CC afterwards. Empty cans and pools of vomit everywhere, crowds of teenagers harassing people, a woman urinating outside Penny's on the main street of our capital city. Off-license sales should be banned this year as well.

Hopefully the cancellation this year will allow people to actually spend time with their family instead of getting stupidly drunk. Time to reflect on what it means to be Irish on their national holiday. Show their patriotism by actually staying at home and helping society as a whole. It might also give wider society a chance to reconsider what St Patrick's Day actually means apart from alcohol abuse, violence, tired clichés, and overbearing displays of paddywhackery.

Were they from your club ?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,645 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

March 18th should be permanently added as another national holiday, it could be a recovery/reflection day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Spend time with their family? In fairness we’ve been doing that for nearly 12 months solid.

The one good thing that came out of covid is the cancellation of that day!!

Please don't move it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Paddy's day is a pain in the bollix

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Mimon

We need to have bank holidays in July and August, hek have one every month.

Work life balance and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Mimon wrote: »
    We need to have bank holidays in July and August, hek have one every month.

Work life balance and all that.

I've news for you about August.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Paddy's day is a pain in the bollix

i don't like it either, brings out the worst in the irish if you ask me

drunken blagardary

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

fryup wrote: »
    i don't like it either, brings out the worst in the irish if you ask me

drunken blagardary

its the deedly diedelly be jaysus begorrah nonsense ramped up that scalds my arsecheeks.

and non irish people pretrnding to be irish

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

randd1 wrote: »
    Leave Paddy's Day alone. It's fine where it is.

However I have a suggestion; 2 national holiday periods. First off, remove Good Friday as anything official. In essence, it becomes just another Friday.

The first national holiday period would be at Christmas obviously. All shops, pubs restaurants etc are to close at 2pm Christmas Eve (which also becomes a bank holiday), stay closed for Christmas Day, and can only open on Stephens Day after 2pm.

The second would be in the summer with the good weather, and start on the first Thursday (taken from Good Friday) & Friday in July (bank holidays), with the following Monday also a bank holiday. The Friday would be national charity day, where communities raise money for local causes. All state and part state owned amenities would grant half price entry over the 5 day period.

This wouldn't affect your own statutory holidays entitlement, and it breaks up the year big time. It's also just after when the schools finish, giving parents a bit of time with their kids.

Eh... Good Friday isn't a national holiday here.

New Year's Day (1 January)
    Saint Patrick's Day (17 March)
    Easter Monday
    First Monday in May
    First Monday in June
    First Monday in August
    Last Monday in October
    Christmas Day (25 December)
    Saint Stephen's Day (26 December)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,516 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Extra bank holiday for July and September please