Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HERE'S TO A BETTER 2021!

• 31-12-2020 6:19pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hopefully I've beaten Whelan2 to it, this time...

537715.jpg

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Have a normal New Year everyone.

See ye all on the other side.
    Ye''ve been a great bunch of lunatics. :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Have a normal New Year everyone.

See ye all on the other side.
    Ye''ve been a great bunch of lunatics. :p

Reminds me of the joke about the hole in the fence of the lunatic asylum .... :D

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

greysides wrote: »
    Reminds me of the joke about the hole in the fence of the lunatic asylum .... :D

13,13,13,13. :D

(I had to google that one).

God help us all.. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

I won't miss 2020 one bit. Just found out this evening that a friend of the family passed away. Myself and brother when we were younger used to watch him helping me father plough the fields in a big green deutz. We thought he was the coolest man we ever saw and wanted to also be like him. Unfortunately he ended up having a few problems later in life but I'll always remember him the way he was. I'm hoping he's up in heaven on the deutz ploughing away and finally at peace with himself.

On that note 2020 can fck right off.

Edit, apologies about the negatively of my post there. Just something I had to get out of my system as I'm both sad and a bit of anger as to how things turned out in life for that poor man.

I wish you all the very best of health and happiness for 2021 and keep up the great posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Please God we all make it through 2021 Covid free and healthy until we get vaccinated. It's been another great year on F&F but I do miss some of the regulars who haven't posted in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Grueller

Happy new year to all. I do hope it's better on the pandemic front in 2021 but unfortunately it looks like this year will be a difficult one too.
    Happy new year to all of those that have left during the year as base said. I hope ye are looking in on us from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I dont think 2020 was all that bad. We had time to slow down for a while. Not running around to activities every evening. Delighted to get the kids to school until Christmas uninterrupted. Hopefully 2021 will bring a proper vaccination programme for covid and we will have some sort of normality next new year's eve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Happy new year to all, hope the year will turn out ok in all fronts as much as possible. Give yer friends and neighbours a shout over the next few weeks, a phone call can bring someone on when everything else is shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Happy New Year everyone, thanks for all the advice and knowledge throughout the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Tileman

Happy new year all. Hope it’s a good one.

I actually enjoyed 2020 as was working from home. No commute. Got a huge load of jobs done and had a lot more time to myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Wishing everyone a happy and healthy New year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

“It’s hard to move forward if your always looking backwards” is something my dad used to say.

Happy new year folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Happy new year......2020 can phuck right off for itself.....here’s to a brighter 2021:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Happy 2021 you beautiful lot

From your friendly shiney metal disease sufferer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Happy new year all. Already 2021 in Oz.... is grand so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭dzer2

Have a good .new yr lads and ladies
    Good community here stay safe and really hope it's a way better one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

einn32 wrote: »
    Happy new year all. Already 2021 in Oz.... is grand so far!

Any mad ****e happens let us know in advance

2020 had some pretty major tragedies for my family and our extended family. I'm not gonna curse it, it's just a year, shít happens like any other year. We are, I think, blessed with where we live and how easy we all have it relative to others in the world. We have friends, family, freedom, food, shelter, opportunities. No one, no animal, the weather, isn't trying to kill us. /waffle

Good luck to you all in 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Happy New Year. Here’s to another year pretending that I like you people. :D

And finally may any troubles this year - last as long as the usual New Year’s resolutions!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Happy new year everyone.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,602 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Glad it's over, but I got to spend a lot of time with my parents that I would not have done otherwise - would have been away working with just a few calls etc.
    I'll probably look back at 2020 in the future and be grateful for the time we've had together, even if at times it was just sitting in the same room watching TV or looking out at the rain.

In saying that I'll be happy to get going again and back to normality.