Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car park bump

• 18-12-2020 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Doublebusy

Posted in motors also. Delete if wrong please
    My car was parked - engine off
    Person in front reversed into my car
    My car bumper got cracked
    I took their reg and phone number
    Then a pic of their insurance disc
    I told them i will get a quote and ring them
    They reported it and a garda rang me
    I told the garda i just want my car fixed thats all
    I sent them the quote to fix my car
    I would rather they pay for it then inform insurance
    But i have since received no replies
    What would you do next
    I dont want to inform their or my insurance as my insurance might go up at next quote as i remember when i got my quote they asked have i any claims for or against in the last 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,177 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

A no fault claim won't affect your insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Its a bit weird that they went to the Gardai.

I have a funny feeling that they are going to try claim against you.

Absolutely report it to your insurance, and get a claim going against their policy.

You owe them no favours.

Any claim of which the blame is attributed 100% to them will have no impact on your insurance or costs at renewal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Doublebusy

I was in the shop and my passenger had to get out from the passenger seat and wave them down as they started to motion forward and leave the car park space. Ive heard of peoples policies going up after an issue like this with no fault of their own. Im in two minds about ringing their insurance company tomorrow if i have no heard anything back. They have my quote as requested and never replied to my 2 text messages. Yes they rang the guards and must have given them my number later on. I rang the guards at the scene of the incident to ask for advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭jacko

Be sure you inform your own insurance, explain situation that your preference is person that hit u to pay and avoid claim, your insurance co will pretty much tell u that if damage is paid then they don't get involved. But if person that hit u don't play ball then let your insurance sort it. You pay them so much for cover, least they can do is the following up and get your car fixed and paid for. As stated earlier, your 100% not at fault so you shouldn't be out of pocket. Having said that it will be a pain for you having to deal with all the bs phonecalls explaining all that happened. Best of luck with it, hope things work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Caranica wrote: »

To clarify, if you report the claim to your insurers (as you are obliged to do) for record purposes and you successfully claim against someone else, it won't affect your premium. If you claim under your own policy, fault or not, it will

So an update
    Person that bumped into my car and told me to get a quote to fix it has turned around and claimed they never hit my car. I had their insurance company get someone to access my damage and that person also said their car didn't cause my damage. Can you believe that. Paying insurance all these years and i never had a claim then the one time I go through insurance this sh1t happens. I ended up fixing it myself.
    Just to note i did make a statement to the garda about the incident and their insurance did want guards to check cctv for footage but after 2 months i didn't have the patience to take it further.
    Any thoughts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Johnthemanager

Doublebusy wrote: »
    So an update
    Person that bumped into my car and told me to get a quote to fix it has turned around and claimed they never hit my car. I had their insurance company get someone to access my damage and that person also said their car didn't cause my damage. Can you believe that. Paying insurance all these years and i never had a claim then the one time I go through insurance this sh1t happens. I ended up fixing it myself.
    Just to note i did make a statement to the garda about the incident and their insurance did want guards to check cctv for footage but after 2 months i didn't have the patience to take it further.
    Any thoughts

2 months? I'm waiting over 13 months to get my money back after buying a dodgy car!

You need patience, these things take time unfortunately.

2 months? I'm waiting over 13 months to get my money back after buying a dodgy car!

You need patience, these things take time unfortunately.

The fact the accessor said it didnt happen and the car owner themselves denying they where at fault - im done with it now and my car is fixed
    They win i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Sh.ty thing to do to someone, shows you can trust no one.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Well it took 7 years for an incident with me (I was claiming against someone). It takes time unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Its page 1 of the insurance company handbook in fairness.

"Deny all liability - hope they go away"

It worked for them again here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭statto25

The sooner dashcams are compulsory in this country the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

antodeco wrote: »
    Well it took 7 years for an incident with me (I was claiming against someone). It takes time unfortunately

Setanta ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

statto25 wrote: »
    The sooner dashcams are compulsory in this country the better

Most likely with all the gdpr crap they'll more likely be illegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

The fact the accessor said it didnt happen and the car owner themselves denying they where at fault - im done with it now and my car is fixed
    They win i suppose

Can you not still keep up the claim against them?
    You have nothing to lose really ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,029 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Jaysus, them denying liability doesn't surprise me in the least - but the assessor?

Even though you had a witness actually in the car when it happened? (if I understand your OP right)

Did that not come into it at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Most likely with all the gdpr crap they'll more likely be illegal

Yes, only found out on boards a few weeks ago that they are completely illegal in many European countries. Mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Tiercel Dave

I wonder what they reported to the Guards on the day, I presume that there had been a tip but no liability accepted. Could you follow up with Guards and see what 'notes' were taken?.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭pale rider

Had the same issue, the driver drove away after I told them they had dinged my car door with theirs..., I reported it to the Garda station and they sent a car around to the offending drivers house who was then apologetic and said they would pay, I got it repaired and sent a copy of the invoice to the other driver as he wanted that, they paid up.

Two months pass by, the same Garda contacted me to ask had they paid up, if they had not he intended charging them with leaving the scene of an accident.

I have zero time for people like that and will not hesitate, the amount of times my cars have been damaged over my years of driving when I could not locate the offender, I was not going to let this slide when they knew they damaged my car, with respect neither should you.

I now have dashcams fitted to all cars in the family.

Yes it will, I claimed for doorlocks years ago and couldn't change insurer for 5 years.

First question they ask, have you made any claims on your policy regardless of blame in the last 5 years ..

You answer yes and most will refuse to go any further and won't quote you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

When people say that it won't affect your insurance in future, why do insurers always ask 'have you been involved in an accident in the last 5 years, regardless of fault?' - it's certainly not being asked just out of curiosity.

The assessor said that the car which hit me has no damage.... I knew it had no damage myself but their bumper hit my bumper - both able to bend and get broke or move out of shape but just cause one is damaged doesn't mean the other gets damaged also. I had a witness in my car.

Yes it will, I claimed for doorlocks years ago and couldn't change insurer for 5 years.

First question they ask, have you made any claims on your policy regardless of blame in the last 5 years ..

You answer yes and most will refuse to go any further and won't quote you

You speak to them and it doesn't. I had a no fault claim and it didn't affect any premium. I had to contact the companies directly but they do have the option to calculate a premium without a claim affecting it.

A non-fault claim on your own policy will affect your premium and ability to obtain alternative quoutes. A claim against someone else's policy won't

In my case the claim was reimbursed by the other party's insurance company once a resolution was reached. I had renewed my insurance in the meantime (and couldn't move companies). Once the claim was reimbursed I received a refund of the excess I'd paid plus the additional premium I'd been charged, and my premium was reduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭2012paddy2012

To clarify, if you report the claim to your insurers (as you are obliged to do) for record purposes and you successfully claim against someone else, it won't affect your premium. If you claim under your own policy, fault or not, it will

I’d say report it to your insurance - tell them the story - wont affect your insurance-if they pay up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Hmob

When people say that it won't affect your insurance in future, why do insurers always ask 'have you been involved in an accident in the last 5 years, regardless of fault?' - it's certainly not being asked just out of curiosity.

You could have any number of accidents not going through insurance

It's another thing they have on you if you don't declare them, which most wont

That's the way insurance likes it, the maximum number of "outs" for them in the event of a claim while they continue to take your money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭rock22

I had a similar incident, but driver admitted to it.
    I did report it to my own insurance. I have since renewed and there was no addition premium , in fact it was about 10% cheaper than last year.
    You own insurance company will help you with a claim against another insurer. The assessor would not be able to make the judgement that the other car did not hit you.
    You mentioned a witness in your car, a passenger. You also mentioned a Garda statement.

Your choice, but i would have pursued it. It can definitely take time, certainly more than a few weeks.

A witness in your own vehicle would carry very little weight. They wouldn't be deemed as independent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

Insurance companies are stupid fecks. I got hit on the roundabout next to Liffey Valley, the one at the Hermitage clinic / Deadmans Inn.

I told them straight, I did not want the hassle, fix the car and that's it, case closed. I will ignore injuries. I was in a hectic situation at the time and just didn't want the hassle.

They farted around and delayed things, made a drama into a crisis.

So payout went from <2k up to 14k in the law library.

Take a bow Eagle Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭thebiglad

Tzardine wrote: »
    Its page 1 of the insurance company handbook in fairness.

"Deny all liability - hope they go away"

It worked for them again here.

So lets reverse the situation i take your insurance details from your disc, make a claim to your insurer that you reversed into me (which you deny to your insurance company) - what should they do? Take my word for it, repair my car and reduce your NCB

The insurance company were not at the scene, only 2 people know the truth and 1 is apparently lying.

So, keeping the hypothetical situation would you be happy for your insurance company to pay out?

Insurance companies are stupid fecks. I got hit on the roundabout next to Liffey Valley, the one at the Hermitage clinic / Deadmans Inn.

I told them straight, I did not want the hassle, fix the car and that's it, case closed. I will ignore injuries. I was in a hectic situation at the time and just didn't want the hassle.

Take a bow Eagle Star.

What exactly happened with delay and payout?

Me , if I have an accident

Take details
    Don't admit liabily at the scene
    Inform insurance
    Visit Doctor if necessary
    Don't worry about it after that, that's what I pay insurance for, to deal with it

Take a bow Eagle Star.

And this is an example of where we are. Half the people want insurers to go to additional time and expense to fully investigate claims to establish the facts or to weed out bogus ones and half want claims paid out immediately. It all depends on which end of the situation you're on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mjolnir

Very simple its to do with the rule of utmost good faith and full disclosure.

They don't ask, its simply an omission - 'oh I forgot about the accident 3 years ago sorry but ye never asked either'

They ask and you don't tell, its failure to disclose a material fact and fraudulent.

Don't ask and the vast majority who have won't tell.

You speak to them and it doesn't. I had a no fault claim and it didn't affect any premium. I had to contact the companies directly but they do have the option to calculate a premium without a claim affecting it.

Speak to who? I spoke to 5 different insurance companies and not 1 would quote me because I had claimed for doorlocks as it was a claim on my policy.

Your case is completely different because the claim was settled by the other insurance company, it's not remotely the same as claiming off your own policy where your insurer has to stump up for it.

What would you do next
    I dont want to inform their or my insurance as my insurance might go up at next quote as i remember when i got my quote they asked have i any claims for or against in the last 5 years.

Actually just read this post, I originally replied to another post.

I was involved in a crash where my motorbike was hit by another driver, I didn't go through my insurance at all.

I rang their insurance, gave their reg and policy number and said they hit me. I then rang my insurance company to tell them but I said I wasn't claiming off my policy I was just informing them.

Other drivers insurance paid out in full, I only ever dealt with them my insurance company had nothing to do with it and it didn't affect my premium at all as I never claimed off my insurance.

So I would advise you to do the same.

Actually just read this post, I originally replied to another post.

I was involved in a crash where my motorbike was hit by another driver, I didn't go through my insurance at all.

I rang their insurance, gave their reg and policy number and said they hit me. I then rang my insurance company to tell them but I said I wasn't claiming off my policy I was just informing them.

Other drivers insurance paid out in full, I only ever dealt with them my insurance company had nothing to do with it and it didn't affect my premium at all as I never claimed off my insurance.

So I would advise you to do the same.
    I done all of that exact process you mentioned and more. But you see the person who hit my car denied responsibility a day later and their assessor said their car had no damage.. At that point i lost all faith in getting my car fixed from them and fixed it myself

Not much you can do then, I think you probably did the best thing doing it yourself.

In my case I was in hospital so they couldn't exactly deny hitting me lol

I done all of that exact process you mentioned and more. But you see the person who hit my car denied responsibility a day later and their assessor said their car had no damage.. At that point i lost all faith in getting my car fixed from them and fixed it myself

I'd say they'd be chancing it first

Assessor saying their car had no damage sounds like an opening move from the insurer to avoid a payout

Next comes their investigator if you
    pursue it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭mea_k

Be careful with this one.. Exact same thing happened to me.
    Chap was happy to fix car, so I said right OK. Got quote it was like 450 e texted him no txt back. Rang next day... No answer.
    Left it off thinking hey anything can happen. Few days go by and now I got annoyed. At least tx back.. He txt back after few days. Money troubles etc I said OK.. He said going to get money out of credit union and meet me in repair shop next day. I booked in car happy out next day comes no sign off him I rang couple of times and it rang out. He then txt after couple of hours to tell me to go insurance.
    My logic is that he wanted the cctv to be over written. I'm not sure how many days it takes. However I did go in shop that it happened by, and said to leave that tape just in case... I reckon he would have gotten away with it.. Thanks to shop owner that helped out my car was fixed

mea_k wrote: »
    Be careful with this one.. Exact same thing happened to me.
    Chap was happy to fix car, so I said right OK. Got quote it was like 450 e texted him no txt back. Rang next day... No answer.
    Left it off thinking hey anything can happen. Few days go by and now I got annoyed. At least tx back.. He txt back after few days. Money troubles etc I said OK.. He said going to get money out of credit union and meet me in repair shop next day. I booked in car happy out next day comes no sign off him I rang couple of times and it rang out. He then txt after couple of hours to tell me to go insurance.
    My logic is that he wanted the cctv to be over written. I'm not sure how many days it takes. However I did go in shop that it happened by, and said to leave that tape just in case... I reckon he would have gotten away with it.. Thanks to shop owner that helped out my car was fixed

You should have gone to your insurance first with the details of the incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

What would you do next

What exactly did they report? A mad one claiming they had hit the car when they hadn't or an accident.

You've paid out, it's up to you if you want to pursue claiming it back, if it was substantial engage a solicitor, if it wasn't decide how much vindication the costs of engaging a solicitor warrant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

Go back to the Garda, tell them they tried to leave the seen of the accident and your passenger stopped them they are now denying liability. Then put in a claim against their insurance and leave it with them.

Spook_ie wrote: »
    What exactly did they report? A mad one claiming they had hit the car when they hadn't or an accident.

You've paid out, it's up to you if you want to pursue claiming it back, if it was substantial engage a solicitor, if it wasn't decide how much vindication the costs of engaging a solicitor warrant.

No
    They went to the guards a day later and said they didn't hit my car - well played them.
    I fixed my car in the end and i didn't bother taking it further as i just wanted my car fixed and not drive it around knowing it had small damage. The damage was minimal but i knew it was there and dont like my cars with marks or damage on them. I would probably still be dealing with their insurance and the garda to look at cctv if i left it run.

Go back to the Garda, tell them they tried to leave the seen of the accident and your passenger stopped them they are now denying liability. Then put in a claim against their insurance and leave it with them.

I told the garda in my statement that they motioned to leave their car park space and my passenger got out and waved them down to come back do deal with the incident. I put in a claim with their insurance company after the person driving denied the incident a few days later. Initially the driver apologised and told me to get a quote to fix my car.