Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How soon is too soon to ask for a raise?

• 03-12-2020 12:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭

I've been in my job roughly 7 months.

For various reasons my contract will be changing with my employer and I'm wondering if this is a good time to bring up the discussion of a payrise?

I'd be looking for 10% - 20% raise. I realise 20% seems very high but 10% would be a minimum ideally.

Do you think its at all reasonable to ask after 7 months? Or am I better off framing it as "everything is fine now, but can we have a discussion RE: salary in 3 - 4 months" ?

In terms of "deserving" it, I probably was lowballed initially, and I've definitely proven my worth to the company and taken on a lot of responsibility and learned new skills and put them to use in the meantime.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

I’d say it would be easier to find a new job, and try for a counter offer but be prepared to leave. You haven’t a hope of 10% in any climate otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭7aubzxk43m2sni

I’d say it would be easier to find a new job, and try for a counter offer but be prepared to leave. You haven’t a hope of 10% in any climate otherwise.

That's not a bad idea either. But I'm very happy in this role and with the team I'm working with, and the fact that it's fully remote all the time, even post covid. So ideally I'd stay.

Maybe I'm naive, but I feel pretty confident about the 10%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Dublinandy3

IMO the start of a year always feels like a logical time to ask but after 7 months seems too low. Didn't you have a 6-month probation meeting? That'd be a good indicator.

As harsh as it sounds it doesn't matter if you were low balled or not, you accepted the offer.

I've managed people for more years than I like to remember and you'd have to be special to get one after 7 months. Proving your worth, taking on responsibility, and learning new skills should be givens in any job. To have any chance try to have a point that makes you deserve it, rather than those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

I'd mention to your boss that you think you're being underpaid for the work you currently do and gauge their reaction. From there you can either ask for a payraise and discuss the size or go and get an offer elsewhere and ask your employer to match it.

Personally I think it's best to give your manager a chance to fight your corner or shoot you down before blindsiding them with a job offer.

IMO the start of a year always feels like a logical time to ask but after 7 months seems too low. Didn't you have a 6-month probation meeting? That'd be a good indicator.

As harsh as it sounds it doesn't matter if you were low balled or not, you accepted the offer.

I've managed people for more years than I like to remember and you'd have to be special to get one after 7 months. Proving your worth, taking on responsibility, and learning new skills should be givens in any job. To have any chance try to have a point that makes you deserve it, rather than those.

We were supposed to have monthly feedback reviews but we were kind of lax about it, and the last couple didn't happen.

The next review, and the time I will bring up this discussion, will be tomorrow.

I see what you mean about them being givens. My logic was that I got hired at a rate of X per year based on a skillset of A, B and C, and now I've proven those skills but also have D, E and F under my belt.

Apart from discussing all the responsibilities I've taken on, my improved skills, and my reliability, what else should I be bringing up to support my case?

We were supposed to have monthly feedback reviews but we were kind of lax about it, and the last couple didn't happen.

The next review, and the time I will bring up this discussion, will be tomorrow.

I see what you mean about them being givens. My logic was that I got hired at a rate of X per year based on a skillset of A, B and C, and now I've proven those skills but also have D, E and F under my belt.

Apart from discussing all the responsibilities I've taken on, my improved skills, and my reliability, what else should I be bringing up to support my case?

What you can offer going forward. Set that seed first before you ask, try to make it seperate meetings. Talk about how you want progression when the time is right for you and the company, how you enjoy all aspects, how you want to carry on pushing yourself. Put yourself in their minds as a long term assest, then ask. But still, 10% is very unlikely to happen, it's huge. Well in the industry I work in anyway as a one off raise. yours it might be acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

On the other hand the manager could argue that it you've benefited from a non monetary benefit that the role has allowed you to do d,e and F. You'd want to be critical to the company to get 10 -20 % pay rise after 7 months

Thanks lads, thats helpful !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Bicyclette

I would wait for twelve months. Until you are in a position where you can invoke the Unfair Dismissals Law if necessary. At the moment they can let you go, without any reason (except for conditions specified in the equality legislation) with a week's notice.

You are only there seven months. During an unprecedented time. Many people are losing their jobs, others are taking pay cuts. Others are working silly hours for the same amount of pay. Companies are struggling.

I personally don't think it would look good if you start requesting a pay increase. Particularly a pay increase of such magnitude. They may decide that perhaps you might be better suited for another company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Nicole2020

Just to weigh in about asking about the start of the year.... although it seems logical, sometimes it can be the worst time because staff budgets are usually done in November / December. Obviously it depends on the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

What industry do you work in? I have a friend who was lowballed when starting a new position and she just negotiated an 18% payrise. Obviously your situation is subjective and will depend on whatever variables are at play.

100% ask though, you have nothing to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Ask for 20% accept whatever you feel is acceptable.

Dont buy this "climate" bollox some companies are making bank right now because of it. If your % is accepted go for a non negiotable bonus.

Thanks lads, thats a boost in confidence. I'm in software development so its a strong industry with lots of job options.

I'll give it a go, we'll be talking today so I'll update and let ye know later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

That's not a bad idea either. But I'm very happy in this role and with the team I'm working with, and the fact that it's fully remote all the time, even post covid. So ideally I'd stay.

Maybe I'm naive, but I feel pretty confident about the 10%

Absolutely nothing wrong with asking for a pay rise at any time. Shows confidence and ambition. Good luck with it.

Nicole2020 wrote: »
    Just to weigh in about asking about the start of the year.... although it seems logical, sometimes it can be the worst time because staff budgets are usually done in November / December. Obviously it depends on the company.

Yeah, it must differ then, as it's not the case where I am but good point, another variable.

I hope he gets his raise, I just doubt it.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

12 months sounds like a good time to ask. Alternative job/offer is always good leverage if you can. Software is booming and a lot of competition so if you are good they should want to keep you. What is your current salary if you don't mind sharing?

Zascar wrote: »
    12 months sounds like a good time to ask. Alternative job/offer is always good leverage if you can. Software is booming and a lot of competition so if you are good they should want to keep you. What is your current salary if you don't mind sharing?

I'm on 50k, 2.5 years out of college.

Had a chat with them on friday. Nothing is confirmed yet but its looking like I'll get a raise to between 55k and 57k.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

I've been in my job roughly 7 months.

For various reasons my contract will be changing with my employer and I'm wondering if this is a good time to bring up the discussion of a payrise?

I'd be looking for 10% - 20% raise. I realise 20% seems very high but 10% would be a minimum ideally.

Do you think its at all reasonable to ask after 7 months? Or am I better off framing it as "everything is fine now, but can we have a discussion RE: salary in 3 - 4 months" ?

In terms of "deserving" it, I probably was lowballed initially, and I've definitely proven my worth to the company and taken on a lot of responsibility and learned new skills and put them to use in the meantime.

Cheers

It's not impossible/unheard of tbh. I pretty much had that exact situation, 6 months into the job they waived the remaining temporary part of the contract , moved to permanent, changed job title and got a 30% raise. Performance/Annual review time is a good chance to ask, I'll be going again this year but would be happy to get 10-15% extra this time.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Had a chat with them on friday. Nothing is confirmed yet but its looking like I'll get a raise to between 55k and 57k.

Excellent, fair play to you!
    You should post that on a few other threads around here, people faces will melt off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭New2Dubs

Fair play to you - well done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

If you are not making the company any more money you should take what you get.

You are only a number. Every subordinate employee is replaceable.

Companies spend September to December deciding what their targets are for next year, they decide their wage bill at that point. At seven months in any company you are only in the door, they would laugh at you if you think you are good for 20% after 7 months, good luck with that. They will laugh at your assumption of 10% also, every subordinate position is expendable.

The only persons in business who get looked after are the ones bringing in the money, they are a CSF for any business survival, so they get looked after.

Keep your head down, if any senior directors think you are crying for more money they might think about teaching you a lesson. They didn't get to where they are being nice guys handing out pay rises to all and sundry.

Get your job sorted and see what you can offer that company, you can be sure they are evaluating you accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Companies spend September to December deciding what their targets are for next year, they decide their wage bill at that point. At seven months in any company you are only in the door, they would laugh at you if you think you are good for 20% after 7 months, good luck with that. They will laugh at your assumption of 10% also, every subordinate position is expendable.

The only persons in business who get looked after are the ones bringing in the money, they are a CSF for any business survival, so they get looked after.

Keep your head down, if any senior directors think you are crying for more money they might think about teaching you a lesson. They didn't get to where they are being nice guys handing out pay rises to all and sundry.

Get your job sorted and see what you can offer that company, you can be sure they are evaluating you accordingly.

A few posts back , the OP reckons there's a 10-14 % raise in the bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Looks like he’s going to get at least 10%, I doubt they laughed at him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Jesus that is the most negative thing I've seen even on here in a good while. Do you know what point you gave up and accepted your lot? Or did the malaise just creep up on you?

A few posts back , the OP reckons there's a 10-14 % raise in the bag

Great and I am delighted for him.

He is obviously an integral part of their software development team and thus is entitled to whatever raise his employers see fit. He doing remarkably well for himself after 7 months and fair play to him.

But what he reckons he is getting and what he gets will be interesting to see. Companies will only entertain pay rises if you can make yourself unreplaceable. There are lots of software developers out there who might be more than happy to work for the 50k he is on atm. Given it only takes 7 months to become unexpendable and an integral staff member he would want to be watching his back.

He is still 5 months short of a year in service, they might be humoring him for a few months while they find a replacement. I have seen it happen.

Get your head in the door and secure your job before you start asking for more gruel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

He is obviously an integral part of their software development team and thus is entitled to whatever raise his employers see fit. He doing remarkably well for himself after 7 months and fair play to him.

But what he reckons he is getting and what he gets will be interesting to see. Companies will only entertain pay rises if you can make yourself unreplaceable. There are lots of software developers out there who might be more than happy to work for the 50k he is on atm. Given it only takes 7 months to become unexpendable and an integral staff member he would want to be watching his back.

He is still 5 months short of a year in service, they might be humoring him for a few months while they find a replacement. I have seen it happen.

Get your head in the door and secure your job before you start asking for more gruel.

You sound unhinged. Get some help my good man.

Well done OP! Buzzing for you.

Zascar wrote: »
    Excellent, fair play to you!

You should post that on a few other threads around here, people faces will melt off :D
    New2Dubs wrote: »
    Fair play to you - well done.
    LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    You sound unhinged. Get some help my good man.

Well done OP! Buzzing for you.

Thanks a lot lads :)

Relevant username? :pac:

I'm not super experienced in the professional world yet but your mindset seems both extremely dated and that of someone who's in a massive corporate structure.

I'm glad to be part of a modern company with a relatively small team.

There's absolutely no harm in knowing your value and asking for for it to be recognised. If anyone thought about "teaching me a lesson" for that, I wouldnt want to be working for them in the first place

Thanks a lot lads :)

Relevant username? :pac:

I'm not super experienced in the professional world yet but your mindset seems both extremely dated and that of someone who's in a massive corporate structure.

I'm glad to be part of a modern company with a relatively small team.

There's absolutely no harm in knowing your value and asking for for it to be recognised. If anyone thought about "teaching me a lesson" for that, I wouldnt want to be working for them in the first place

It is good to see you are up and out of it early doors.

Good luck,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Accidentally

If you work for a company like this, I'd seriously consider getting out.

Good software developers are hard to come by. If you find someone with a bit of imagination, who does the work, and who fits well with the team, your main priority is to make them feel welcome and cared for. In this case 10-15% on 50k as a one time alignment is not a major expense. The idea of giving someone the pay rise and then looking to replace them is completely bonkers.

Most modern successful companies are looking to employ less staff on a short term basis. They are not interested in a large cost base. They need core staff for sure, but they are more than happy to resource core staff with cheaper variables.

The job for life is now over, count yourself lucky you are in IT and you seem very successful, which is amazing for you. Given your progression to 50k PA ( Now 60? ) in 2 1/2 years a go getter like you should really be looking towards Silicon Valley. Don't waste time in Ireland eating lunch with losers, canteens are a drag.

Good Luck.