Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How would you go about blagging a hotel stay?

• 16-11-2020 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭

I need to stay somewhere for a night next week - and I do mean 'need' by the way - but I'm not an essential worker and nor am I flying anywhere.

I've heard anecdotal evidence of hotel staff not asking any questions to individual people booking in for a night, but I'd like a white lie to have as a back-up.

I do have legitimate reasons for needing to leave my rented accommodation but as I said, I don't know if it's enough to get me a room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If it was normal times you could turn up at big weddings and get a free dinner. Both sides will assume you are with the other lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

Just book one, you don’t need an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I need to stay somewhere for a night next week - and I do mean 'need' by the way - but I'm not an essential worker and nor am I flying anywhere.

I've heard anecdotal evidence of hotel staff not asking any questions to individual people booking in for a night, but I'd like a white lie to have as a back-up.

I do have legitimate reasons for needing to leave my rented accommodation but as I said, I don't know if it's enough to get me a room.
    Burst pipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Burst pipe

That isn't the real situation but it's something I could use maybe. Again though, the people might think they'll lose their job if they book me in though so I don't know if it's strong enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,610 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

That isn't the real situation but it's something I could use maybe. Again though, the people might think they'll lose their job if they book me in though so I don't know if it's strong enough.

Huh?

They won't give a flying shoite.. and to be honest, a burst pipe bad enough to have you out on the street would be a perfectly acceptable reason..

lawred2 wrote: »
    Huh?

They won't give a flying shoite.. and to be honest, a burst pipe bad enough to have you out on the street would be a perfectly acceptable reason..

Perfectly acceptable reason to book me? Maybe, if the employee happens to be nice and sound, but there's just as much a chance that they're rigid and by-the-book and if they are, I don't think they'd consider a burst pipe perfectly acceptable reason to let me in. How would they explain it to their boss if I was riddled with the coronavirus and got a lot of people sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Look, we all know that they won’t ask any questions, and even if they did, the burst pipe excuse would definitely cut it.

But let’s play along.

Tell them you’re a UK Tory MP over for a Brexit fact finding mission, and you need somewhere quiet to auto-erotically asphyxiate yourself. Ask for an orange to be delivered to your room to make it more believable.

Also, “blagging” means getting something for free. All you’re trying to do is book a room that you will pay for. That’s not “blagging”, that’s “booking”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

Also, “blagging” means getting something for free.

If you want to blag a hotel room for free just seek asylum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Hotel reviewer or health inspector :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Book near a maternity hospital, most of the guests in the maldon parnell Square and jury's parnell St are lads waiting for the call to come into the delivery room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Book near a maternity hospital, most of the guests in the maldon parnell Square and jury's parnell St are lads waiting for the call to come into the delivery room.

That's a great idea. My sister recently flew over from Germany and was asked if she is an essential worker and she said yes, she's a teacher here for a seminar/convention. It's not true but it worked.
    Say its work related or as above, your partner is in labour and you're on standby. If that were true you would genuinely need a hotel virus or no virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I would be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

If it was normal times you could turn up at big weddings and get a free dinner. Both sides will assume you are with the other lot.

Any wedding I've been at my name is on the table for the meal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

If they ask - tell them to get f00ked.
    You're paying, handing over money during a very lean time for them.
    They shouldn't bite the hand that feeds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Is this a thread where in you want people guessing what your “legitimate reason” is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Porklife wrote: »
    That's a great idea. My sister recently flew over from Germany and was asked if she is an essential worker and she said yes, she's a teacher here for a seminar/convention. It's not true but it worked.
    Say its work related or as above, your partner is in labour and you're on standby. If that were true you would genuinely need a hotel virus or no virus.

she was lucky she wasnt found out. try that in Ireland and people would admire your cunning. But the Germans take rules very seriously, she is probably lucky she wasnt arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Tell them you are a Escort..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Look, we all know that they won’t ask any questions, and even if they did, the burst pipe excuse would definitely cut it.

But let’s play along.

Tell them you’re a UK Tory MP over for a Brexit fact finding mission, and you need somewhere quiet to auto-erotically asphyxiate yourself. Ask for an orange to be delivered to your room to make it more believable.

Also, “blagging” means getting something for free. All you’re trying to do is book a room that you will pay for. That’s not “blagging”, that’s “booking”.

New Trivago ad?

pgj2015 wrote: »
    she was lucky she wasnt found out. try that in Ireland and people would admire your cunning. But the Germans take rules very seriously, she is probably lucky she wasnt arrested.

She flew over here from Germany and I agree with you, wouldn't pull a stunt like that in Germany. I got caught jumping the ubahn in Berlin and didn't have money for the on the spot fine..politzei are there within minutes. They dont dick around ze Germans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,483 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

She flew over here from Germany and I agree with you, wouldn't pull a stunt like that in Germany. I got caught jumping the ubahn in Berlin and didn't have money for the on the spot fine..politzei are there within minutes. They dont dick around ze Germans
    That happened me in Paris too but it was actually a genuine misunderstanding of the cost of the fare on my part.

OP, say you are booking in for a night's sleep because you have a teething baby at home.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

OP if you have a legit reason....and you do not have to say here.

Just tell them people will understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Field service network engineer.

Job on in the morning. Need room. What time is breakfast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

This might fly --

A friend is doing late night repairs on your heating as a favour and there's no guarantee you'll have power or water by any particular time.

So, no heat, no toilet, no cooking, no light, no wi-fi.

The wi-fi is particularly important as your job requires it and you have a project to be finished the next day.

No it means "the action of obtaining something by using persuasion or guile" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

No it means "the action of obtaining something by using persuasion or guile" :rolleyes:

not for locals.

So you ‘just’ want to cheat the rules and risk the hotel staffs health for some personal reason. Make up any lie - just hope the staff don’t ask you for your HSE essential worker pass.

I doubt you’d be rumbled regardless of what lame excuse you use - unless the staff figure you out and object to their health being put at risk for an unnecessary & spurious reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭bilbot79

What's your genuine reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Grueller Baby

So you ‘just’ want to cheat the rules and risk the hotel staffs health for some personal reason.

Would you stop.

not for locals.

So you ‘just’ want to cheat the rules and risk the hotel staffs health for some personal reason. Make up any lie - just hope the staff don’t ask you for your HSE essential worker pass.

I doubt you’d be rumbled regardless of what lame excuse you use - unless the staff figure you out and object to their health being put at risk for an unnecessary & spurious reason.

The most After Hours post ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Field service network engineer.

Job on in the morning. Need room. What time is breakfast?

KN engineer for fibre.
    What time is lunch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I have never been asked "why are you staying here?" by a hotel, ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

stoneill wrote: »
    I have never been asked "why are you staying here?" by a hotel, ever.

Our local hotel has built on a nice extension for a lovely little interrogation room for guests

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Are you off on a promise, or what OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

I work in a hotel. At the moment we are open for essential stays only. Proof of reason to stay is essential. Guards are in on a regular basis checking how many guests we have in house and asking for copies of their letters. Maybe this is just because we are a city center based hotel - I dont know if they are checking in all hotels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

These restrictions are based on your own conscience. You're an adult, if you believe you have an essential reason for staying in a hotel, then you do. Just be honest about it. If you don't believe you have a legitimate reason, then stay at home.

My guess is that this is a shaggy dog story where the OP will eventually "be forced to" reveal that he's supposedly ducking a SW knicker-sniffing inspection of the single mother he's shacked up with in D24. He will then revel in the outpourings of moral outrage of the righteous, happy in the knowledge that he's added another anecdote to the urban legends of the grasping underclass, his elevation to Proconsul in the ranks of YFG all-but assured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Yeah, the action of obtaining something using persuasion or guile. Not the action of obtaining something by telling a fictional backstory, and then just paying for it like a normal person.

Man ain’t no blaggamuffin!
    Man’s a booker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,611 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Our local hotel has built on a nice extension for a lovely little interrogation room for guests,where they can do anything, and I mean...anytning

How much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I was fully expecting this to be a thread about how to get the room for free.

You need a hotel for a night. Book one. The hotel will be delighted.
    As per above post maybe print an explanatory note to leave with reception although that seems very draconian.

Moving home is a legitimate essential reason to travel under the guidelines, your reason is part of that.

Section 5 (2) p.
    (p) move to another residence where, in all the circumstances of the case, such movement is reasonably necessary

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2020/si/442/made/en/print

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Ah lads, they're hotel staff, not guards. They aren't obliged to ask, and even then they absolutely don't give a fk why you're there

In the highly unlikely event you are challenged, make up something remotely plausible. They're hardly going to ask for proof

Sky King wrote:
    In the highly unlikely event you are challenged, make up something remotely plausible. They're hardly going to ask for proof

According to some who work in the industry, they are asking for proof

sdanseo wrote: »
    I was fully expecting this to be a thread about how to get the room for free.]

Maybe you and Gregor had the same English teacher :pac:

Rightly so, they do things the right way.

Boorrrriiiinnnngggg!!

interesting to see, theyre starting to really struggle with covid though, some parts worse than ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Yeah, the action of obtaining something using persuasion or guile. Not the action of obtaining something by telling a fictional backstory, and then just paying for it like a normal person.

Man ain’t no blaggamuffin!
    Man’s a booker!

Admittedly I thought the post was about getting a room for free from the title but the body of the post makes it clear that the blag here is to convince the hotel that he is allowed to have a room in spite of the Covid-19 hotel restrictions - that's still a blag even if it's not the one most were expecting.

Anyway, turns out he is probably allowed to have a room without needing to blag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

An old pal of mine when staying down the country used get the girlfriend to ring the hotel, ask for him, and when told "he's not in his room. Can we leave a message for him?" the girlfriend would say "Yes please, as soon as he returns tell him to contact his office in the Irish Independent urgently"
    For some reason they used get a few freebies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

This isn't Orwell's 1984 :confused:

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    interesting to see, theyre starting to really struggle with covid though, some parts worse than ireland

way bigger population though, a lot of big cities where they are living close together compared to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Edgware wrote: »
    An old pal of mine when staying down the country used get the girlfriend to ring the hotel, ask for him, and when told "he's not in his room. Can we leave a message for him?" the girlfriend would say "Yes please, as soon as he returns tell him to contact his office in the Irish Independent urgently"
    For some reason they used get a few freebies

"Yes, definitely, thank you for explicitly mentioning the office he works in. Does he forget often?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    According to some who work in the industry, they are asking for proof

Kann I haff your Dokumenten bitte?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭DilD

Had a night away booked in a hotel not far from me with herself, just to do something different than sit in the house. Hotel rang yesterday and said we need to email on a letter from employer to confirm we are essential workers and they need to get it verified...