Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vuelta - final day into Madrid!

• 08-11-2020 3:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭

Final lap and Sam lined up in a good spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

DQS, bora, UAE & sunweb lining out now at the front

Photo finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Real Madrid training grounds are some set up.

Ah Ackermann got it but great effort by Sam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Bullocks

Ackermann ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

DQS made a complete fluff of the last 3km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Sam ran out of meters. Ackermann timed his sprint bang on, couldn't have done it better. Caught a couple of meters on Bennett when he kicked off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

DQS leadout was dire, spent too much effort bringing the break back, then burned themselves out holding the front and had no kick to boss things when everyone else bunched up on them. Can't really blame Sam for anything there, he did well get back into position after the messing that went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

DQS and Sam can't really be too happy with this tour. One stage win when they could have had the three. Its got to be pretty galling that Ackerman has two stage wins despite Sam being the faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Much respect to Ackermann after that interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭redlead

happytramp wrote: »
    DQS and Sam can't really be too happy with this tour. One stage win when they could have had the three. Its got to be pretty galling that Ackerman has two stage wins despite Sam being the faster.

It was a funny tour for Sam to go to really. Such little opportunity for sprinters. 2 out of 3 would have been a success to be fair. The disqualification is annoying because the guy he was barging was not a contender on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

At least the bonus seconds should help Sams overall position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Froome got a trophy for winning the 2011 Vuelta today :D

https://twitter.com/chrisfroome/status/1325413096341590016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Finnrocco

QuickStep made a hames of the leadout.

That's a few times they have done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Does that make him the first British grand tour winner?And Wiggins 'the former first British GT winner' - a strange term only made possible by rewriting the history books ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Does that make him the first British grand tour winner?And Wiggins 'the former first British GT winner' - a strange term only made possible by rewriting the history books ?
    Leaving aside Froomes (out of contract) come from nowhere performance, Cobo totally changed how that Vuelta was raced. No Cobo, the most likely result was still Wiggins being the first British GT winner, with Froome doing the same BS he did at the following Tour as domestique. Froome was only let go after the win once Wiggins couldn't stay with Cobo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,217 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Lads did you see the state of that and the trophies for the top 3 this year. It's like the tatty crap you would get for winning a charity pitch &putt tournament or something

Ackermann deviated from his line in final sprint, forced Bennett across road a bit, lost by a few inches so it affected the result.

Take a look at it .......

Finnrocco wrote: »
    Ackermann deviated from his line in final sprint, forced Bennett across road a bit, lost by a few inches so it affected the result.

Take a look at it .......

Ah people wobble about in sprints. It only really gets pulled up if it looks like he was trying purposely to block

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Ah people wobble about in sprints. It only really gets pulled up if it looks like he was trying purposely to block

I know but QS could argue that the deviation from his line affected the result - he wasn't e.g. 20 metres ahead and Bennett was coming up fast and also had to move off his line.

Rui Costa was relegated the other day for a much bigger deviation but he didn't block anyone and it had no affect on the result.

I know but QS could argue that the deviation from his line affected the result - he wasn't e.g. 20 metres ahead and Bennett was coming up fast and also had to move off his line.

Rui Costa was relegated the other day for a much bigger deviation but he didn't block anyone and it had no affect on the result.

Could argue but shouldn't.

I remember seeing it at the time and kept any eye out after because if he done it twice he was screwed but a quick move to the middle like that is normal

Nice article here which summarizes the teams performances;

https://www.cyclingweekly.com/news/racing/vuelta-a-espana-2020-ratings-how-did-each-team-perform-475247

Trek were terrible at this one so agree with there score.

Well done to ISN, deserved score and 2 stage wins in a row on grand tours.

Nice article here which summarizes the teams performances;

https://www.cyclingweekly.com/news/racing/vuelta-a-espana-2020-ratings-how-did-each-team-perform-475247

Trek were terrible at this one so agree with there score.

Well done to ISN, deserved score and 2 stage wins in a row on grand tours.

Harsh on Ineos though as their man was 24 seconds away but EF get a 9 I assume cause their man is English. And CCC should be 0 as the greatest non team of all time

Maybe it was the commentators Carapaz wasnt getting half the verbal fellatio that TGH was getting at the Vuelta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

It was so strange not having something to watch today.
    I feel guilty having only discovered cycling this year,While I'm sure many/all here have been watching with years.
    After having such constant cycling..
    Tour, liege, flanders, giro, and lá Vueltta, I'm hooked.
    So exciting for a first timer. Absolutely hooked.
    What happens now? Indoor?
    Will all the names I've come to recognise and enjoy be involved in the indoor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

deise08 wrote: »
    I feel guilty having only discovered cycling this year,While I'm sure many/all here have been watching with years.

No very few of them. A handful in cyclo-cross which runs over winter too. Season typically kicks off in Jan & Feb in Australia and middle East. Then the real races start the last weekend of February, gradually building up to Flanders, Paris Roubaix and Liege around April

These channels might see you through the winter

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvdk8NYS7ItskDJhoTzG0Iw/videos

https://www.youtube.com/user/SuccessCycling/videos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭gypsy79

Who will get it next??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Yep, track season starting now. The world cups are starting soon, time for properly fast racing ;)

eeeee wrote: »
    Yep, track season starting now. The world cups are starting soon, time for properly fast racing ;)

Didn't they dick around with the calendar even before covid meaning the meat of the track racing isn't going to happen until Feb/March next year with the 6 days and world cup etc?

Might be wrong but something in the back of my mind recalls folks who ride the road aswell like Viviani and Ganna not being happy with the changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

The big three Australian races have all been postponed so no Tour Down Under, Herald Sun Tour and Cadel Evans Ocean Race in 2021

Didn't they dick around with the calendar even before covid meaning the meat of the track racing isn't going to happen until Feb/March next year with the 6 days and world cup etc?

Might be wrong but something in the back of my mind recalls folks who ride the road aswell like Viviani and Ganna not being happy with the changes.

They want to make it a summer sport in 2023 so all the world champs can happen at the same time. Terrible idea for the many many riders who do both (Anna van van Breggan, Kirsten Wild, Jolien D'ohre, Viviani, Gaveria, Illio Keisse, Ganna etc etc).
    This year though it's business as usual.

Harsh on Ineos though as their man was 24 seconds away but EF get a 9 I assume cause their man is English.
    Carapaz basically did it himself though. EF had Woods with Carthy later on most climbs. EF had 3 stage wins, on top of the GC podium.

Could argue but shouldn't.

I remember seeing it at the time and kept any eye out after because if he done it twice he was screwed but a quick move to the middle like that is normal

I know this happens a lot, and there is possibly an element of moving slightly to force the other guy to move also, and I know what your saying but my point was they relegated Costa when he moved off his line but had no affect on the result, whereas this had in my view.

And the rule is you must sprint in a straight line.

Anyway, it doesn't matter now.

Ya others have said cyclo-cross, indoor and then normally southern hemisphere races but we will probably have to wait till the Belgian races in March this year.

While you are waiting watch: "Stars and Water Carriers" "A Sunday in Hell" documentaries and for fun "Breaking Away" which is like the Mighty Ducks of cycling.

Plenty of books too and I recently finished "The Beast the Emperor and the Milkman" which came out last year and will give you a good idea of the fanatical history of Belgian cycling and the big March/April races.
    Another recent one is "The Accent" which is the history of Irish cycling mostly focusing on the glory years of the 80s

I know this happens a lot, and there is possibly an element of moving slightly to force the other guy to move also, and I know what your saying but my point was they relegated Costa when he moved off his line but had no affect on the result, whereas this had in my view.

And the rule is you must sprint in a straight line.

Anyway, it doesn't matter now.
    Essentially what he got DQ'd for in Scheldeprijs all the same. As usual with the UCI, consequence rather than the action is punished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Movistar documentary on Netflix is well worth a watch and quite short episodes too, I hope they make another one

And the Ronde behind the scenes they do every year which becomes like a TV drama if you watch them in order with all the recurring cast and running jokes through out the years

Oh what's that?

Every year since Ronde 100 I think a few years back they have made a show using the team car cameras of the favourites. Lotto Soudal and DQS are always in it along with whoever Sagan and Fabu are riding for plus a few others.

You start to notice jokes and things carrying on over the years like I think it was Vanmarke wo just keeps crashing every year and becomes a running joke in the cars

Every year since Ronde 100 I think a few years back they have made a show using the team car cameras of the favourites. Lotto Soudal and DQS are always in it along with whoever Sagan and Fabu are riding for plus a few others.

You start to notice jokes and things carrying on over the years like I think it was Vanmarke wo just keeps crashing every year and becomes a running joke in the cars

What's the name of it? Is it on Netflix or just the web?

Youtube. Just try Ronde 100 or something like that. They are done by 100 101 102 rather than year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

This isn't good at all... a COVID-19 positive rate of 30% for the Spanish police officers that were tested on Sunday.

https://www.cyclingnews.com/news/45-covid-19-positives-among-vuelta-a-espana-police-officers/
    According to Spanish news agency EFE, 45 members of Spain's national police force, the Guardia Civil, who were tasked with enforcing road closures and ensuring public safety, tested positive following the final stage on Sunday.

A total of 150 officers who were working on the Vuelta were tested in Madrid on Sunday evening, with the results returned on Tuesday. In the meantime, they had all returned to their various home towns without knowing their results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Thanks everyone for taking the time to reply. Looking forward to discovering a whole new world of cycling.
    Will definitely be looking up/reading all recommendations..