Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's Jennifer Carroll MacNeill so happy about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,111 ✭✭✭✭ted1

WTF are you on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

This post is worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

twisted knickers over someone smiling

never change boards.ie never change

She's mad looking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭daheff

What's in the background??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

And they say cannabis is harmless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Do TD's normally take pics of themselves writing tweets and attach it to the tweet.

https://twitter.com/CarrollJennifer/status/1305917588661325828

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

And they say cannabis is harmless.

No, they say its armless.

It has no arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Alias G

The réal question is what is the OP so miserable about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

daheff wrote: »
    What's in the background??

The outside.

Or so I’m told, I’ve never been there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

she's grinning because i accepted her facebook friend request

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

She got herself a very well paying pensionable job purely for the fact that she wasn't Maria Bailey or Mary Mitchell O'Connor and the people of Dun Laoghaire wanted a FG Representative. I'd be happy too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

AllForIt wrote: »
    Do TD's normally take pics of themselves writing tweets and attach it to the tweet.

https://twitter.com/CarrollJennifer/status/1305917588661325828

Do you think she took the picture herself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭Acosta

I'd be grinning too if I was a TD and totting up my expenses for the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭alias no.9

It's just the modern interpretation of the news clip of Mary Harney answering the telephone in her office when everyone knew there was no one calling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭Acosta

alias no.9 wrote: »
    It's just the modern interpretation of the news clip of Mary Harney answering the telephone in her office when everyone knew there was no one calling.

Irish Pictorial Weekly used these old clips perfectly

https://youtu.be/fEv2kFlJlCM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Do you think she took the picture herself?

It's possible. 3 or 10 second delay.

Why is it always 3 or 10 second delay on cameras btw, anyone know?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭bo0li5eumx12kp

She got herself a very well paying pensionable job purely for the fact that she wasn't Maria Bailey or Mary Mitchell O'Connor and the people of Dun Laoghaire wanted a FG Representative. I'd be happy too.

This pretty much answers my question.

She put the hustle on the electorate and now she's got the grin.

Okay people, mystery solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Isnt she already loaded, married to some rugby/developer lad?

retalivity wrote: »
    Isnt she already loaded, married to some rugby/developer lad?

Former Goldman Sachs director (and former rugby lad), a bit older that she is.

AllForIt wrote: »
    It's possible. 3 or 10 second delay.

Why is it always 3 or 10 second delay on cameras btw, anyone know?

Unlikely that she’d go to the bother of a camera with a stand etc.

You don’t think it is far more likely that someone else took the photo using a mobile phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,199 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not out swimming with Leo today?

She’s on Radio Nova at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

a bunch of male commentators bashing a female politician for no good reason.....just another day on boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

This thread is both weird & worrying.

People having a pop at someone's personal life for no reason- why are we even discussing her?

Some people on here have serious issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

People having a pop at someone's personal life for no reason- why are we even discussing her?

The issue for me is not 'some people' - its the culture which has been allowed develop on this website.

I dont like using cliches, but toxic male masculinity describes it well.

Mostly male commentators, and mostly male moderators (as far as I can see) leading to a culture where lad jokes and misogyny are accepted and not challenged....which in turn freezes women out of the conversation, and makes women targets.

I've seen it so many times on this website, whether its women on TV (e.g. Joanne Cantwell hosting the Sunday Game), female politicians (e.g. this thread), women on the radio .....its just caustic.

But of course.....this is the internet, get over it......they'll tell you.

Notably, this discussion falls within a category called 'Social and Fun'. And yes, for some people this type of thing is Fun.

I asked a question yesterday - what is the gender balance of moderators on boards. The post was deleted, by a moderator called Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

She's mad looking..

beautiful woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    beautiful woman

Fine-looking lady. Clever too. Why shouldn't she look happy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

I see the heat is getting to the Sinn Fein supporters again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Redgirl82 wrote: »
    I see the heat is getting to the Sinn Fein supporters again

No even as an anti FG pro SF I have no idea what the point of this is. Woman sitting at desk shocker!

smurgen wrote: »
    No even as an anti FG pro SF I have no idea what the point of this is. Woman sitting at desk shocker!

She isn’t hanging a “trycolour” off her head so that’s a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

She'll do well once Leo gets back in as Taoiseach. She's ambitious, making plenty of media appearances and knows her stuff. And most importantly, a woman. She could well have a senior cabinet post in 2023.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,558 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

She'll do well once Leo gets back in as Taoiseach. She's ambitious, making plenty of media appearances and knows her stuff. And most importantly, a woman. She could well have a senior cabinet post in 2023.

She has impressed me every time I have heard her.

There are a number of posters with an irrational hatred of Fine Gael, going beyond any normality, some of them with a peculiar fetish for Leo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jesus this is just creepy.

blanch152 wrote: »
    There are a number of posters with an irrational hatred of Fine Gael, going beyond any normality, some of them with a peculiar fetish for Leo.

There was a lad on here who went by Leo Varadkars partners name for a long period of time. Very creepy.

You do have to wonder about the mental health of posters creating threads like this and behaving in the way you describe. I just hope they get the help they need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

She's mad looking..
    Eh, she's really really not. :confused:

What a bizarre whiny thread about nothing. Most people here think that though - it's only a tiny few getting bothered by... whatever it is they're making themselves get bothered by (fancying her, I assume).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,257 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    a bunch of male commentators bashing a female politician for no good reason.....just another day on boards.ie

This.... so this.

It is no wonder there are so few female politicians when the 'best and brightest' of boards.ie land start these type of threads.

I am sure the usual 'crew' will be around soon, to add their unique insight. :)

ok, ok lads

its not like the male tds get kid glove treatment is it

yeah its a pointless, dumb thread. isnt that enough without a crusade an all on top?

Ya'll are seeing this through the wrong end of the lens.

We're hard on her, cause we know we can expect more from her.

Females in politics is a wonderful thing, but like every authority figure, they need a little feedback to keep them (and their intentions and their policies) above board.

Nothing bizarre about it, culture of toxic masculinity on this website that repeats itself over and over and over in different guises.....and my take is that this is something that the people who run the website either dont give proper attention to, or are happy to live with.

To my knowledge, the company Boards.ie has 5 directors, all male.

If it was 5 directors, all female, my guess is that this crap wouldnt be tolerated.
    Honestly, as a woman with zero tolerance for misogyny, I think Boards is grand. It used to be far worse - a disgrace at times - it's SO much better these days. Yeah there is a minority on After Hours, Current Affairs and The Gentlemen's Club but you'll always get those. Vast majority don't care about whether they're male or female if giving someone a hard time. :)

And most are critical of this strange thread.

Ya'll are seeing this through the wrong end of the lens.

We're hard on her, cause we know we can expect more from her
    I'd thoroughly agree... if I knew what you're being hard on her about.

This phrase comes to mind
    “Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭Tork

I've seen better threads started at 2am in After Hours by drunk people.

"good looking and successful woman is happy"

That's The correct thread title

"good looking and successful woman is happy"

That's The correct thread title

She has the smug look of someone with ace up their sleeve, or that knows how to shoot a good bottom deal on the card deck.

I guess that Pesci clip was more appropriate that I thought.

"This is national policy and well being of a nation your at the helm of now sweetie - quit ****ing around - we can do that later when your husbands out golfing - but when you're on the job, FOCUS"; if I was her right hand boy toy, that's what I'd be whispering in her ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,084 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The issue for me is not 'some people' - its the culture which has been allowed develop on this website.

I dont like using cliches, but toxic male masculinity describes it well.

Mostly male commentators, and mostly male moderators (as far as I can see) leading to a culture where lad jokes and misogyny are accepted and not challenged....which in turn freezes women out of the conversation, and makes women targets.

I've seen it so many times on this website, whether its women on TV (e.g. Joanne Cantwell hosting the Sunday Game), female politicians (e.g. this thread), women on the radio .....its just caustic.

But of course.....this is the internet, get over it......they'll tell you.

Notably, this discussion falls within a category called 'Social and Fun'. And yes, for some people this type of thing is Fun.

I asked a question yesterday - what is the gender balance of moderators on boards. The post was deleted, by a moderator called Mike.

The only person I hear using the phrase toxic masculinity is Roe McDermott, it makes you sound like a man hater.

Redgirl82 wrote: »
    This phrase comes to mind
    “Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”
    Yep! :)