Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is my breakfast cereal going stale so quickly?

• 13-09-2020 7:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭

As the title suggest, why is this now happening? I've been keeping cereals in the same press for over 15 years now and in the last 6 it's being going stale within a week. I seal the box as usual after use but its gone to ****. Has something changed in the production of them or what? Also, how did Kelloggs manage to balls up Coco Pops, they no taste dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

As the title suggest, why is this now happening? I've been keeping cereals in the same press for over 15 years now and in the last 6 it's being going stale within a week. I seal the box as usual after use but its gone to ****. Has something changed in the production of them or what? Also, how did Kelloggs manage to balls up Coco Pops, they no taste dreadful.

Have you the same cereal for 15 years ? That's why it's gone stale.

On a sidenote , every morsel of food gets eaten in our house , kids dont know what the word " leftovers " mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭Vic_08

It's been very humid for a long period up until early this week.

Coco pops probably now made with artificial sweetners, see other thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

Vic_08 wrote: »
    It's been very humid for a long period up until early this week.

Coco pops probably now made with artificial sweetners, see other thread.

I think that other thread is what put the stale cereal thing in my mind. Have they changed the preservatives or sugar content which makes it go off quicker. Either way, it tastes gank and I don't think I can blame humidity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Do you use those clips to seal the bag? I always squeeze the air out and seal with a clip each time, my cereal stays fresh for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,289 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

There's a hole in your bucket, dear Liza, dear Liza ....

Do you use those clips to seal the bag? I always squeeze the air out and seal with a clip each time, my cereal stays fresh for months.

No, but I've never used them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Your should change your name to Infernal Packet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Are coco pops not for children?

Noooo! They are very, very bad for children. Coco pops are grown food for grown ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

This! you need to do this to ensure the freshness and crunchiness of your cereal for long periods of time.

I'm gonna have a bowl.of Rice Krispies now, with a spoon if sugar. I will report back on freshness levels anon..

This! you need to do this to ensure the freshness and crunchiness of your cereal for long periods of time.

But my cereal has stayed fresh for over 40 years without the clips. It's only a recent thing

Wash your mouth out how dare you =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Can Ricicles still be had? Rice crispies but with added sugary goodness.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,105 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You might consider storing your cereal in sealable plastic boxes.

Also cereals are best stored in a closed cupboard out of the light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

Can Ricicles still be had? Rice crispies but with added sugary goodness.

Nooooooooooooo:(:(:(

They were delicious!

Corn pops were amazing too but, they're long gone :(

elperello wrote: »
    You might consider storing your cereal in sealable plastic boxes.

Also cereals are best stored in a closed cupboard out of the light.

I'm storing them in the same way I've always stored them. Something has changed in the way they are made. I'm convinced

Well, I'm just finishing up my bowl of Krispies and they're grand. Been in the house about a fortnight and stored on the counter top because the cupboard is full and the box is massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Well, I'm just finishing up my bowl of Krispies and they're grand. Been in the house about a fortnight and stored on the counter top because the cupboard is full and the box is massive.

Hehehe, massive box.

Nooooooooooooo:(:(:(

They were delicious!

Corn pops were amazing too but, they're long gone :(

What about Sugar Puffs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Have you tried eating the cereal before it goes off?

I have but I don't necessarily want the same cereal every morning of every day. I used to get about a month out of a box, now I'm lucky to get a week. Strange times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,077 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I can see this thread going to Series 2.

Not your ornery onager

Probably they have changed the preservative.

My dad is a food scientist and is always giving out about the recent trend of "no added sugar", "no artificial preservatives" etc. I got strawberry jam recently that said "No added sugar" and he went on a bit of a rant about how you need to add sugar to make jam.

Probably they have changed the preservative.

My dad is a food scientist and is always giving out about the recent trend of "no added sugar", "no artificial preservatives" etc. I got strawberry jam recently that said "No added sugar" and he went on a bit of a rant about how you need to add sugar to make jam.
    Exactly! But sugar is the devil these days. I wish all kids could enjoy the sweets we had in the 70s; just for one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Cereal? Who the hell eats grains or even carbs anymore.

I have a T-Bone steak and a pound of Kerrygold for breakfast every morning.

Go Keto or Go Home.