Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Massive jump in points for Dentistry/Dental Science?

Options
  • 12-09-2020 5:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭

I'm a prospective student from the north looking to do Dentistry next year. The points have been pretty consistent for the best part of a decade, usually around 575-590. Last year both Dentistry/Dental Science at UCC and TCD were 590.

This year they've both spiked to 613?

613 out of a possible 625? That's insane. Any reason for this? Is this just a one off freak score because of Covid this year? Or is this likely the new norm? I actuary as a back up and that's 601 at UCD also.

I do 4 A levels and the points equivalency (including the bonus points for Maths) works out as:

4A's = 531
    1A* 3A = 560
    2A* 2A = 589
    3A* 1A = 618
    4A*'s = 625

So this years points doesn't change things much for me as I needed 3A*'s 1A last year and 3A*'s 1A

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 15,381 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Are you familiar with the fact that predicted grades were used in Ireland this year for the Leaving Cert, so grades went up and as a result points went up. Nobody knows how next year will go yet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee