Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are there any Asian / African or other minorities in AGS or teaching?

• 10-09-2020 5:11pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭

I don't think I've ever seen a non-white Irish in these roles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

I've seen a good few Chinese guards.

Or maybe it's the same lad in different places. I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭Eleven Benevolent Elephants

Or is it blagards? Or very very very deep blue Gardaí?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I've seen a good few Chinese guards.

Or maybe it's the same lad in different places. I dunno.

great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Who cares.....you're naturally going to have the majority of government jobs in the hands of Irish people. And that's the way it should stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Now that you say it I have never encountered a non white Irish primary or secondary teacher in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

I encounter a red teacher in school, he ws actually a christian brother, he was red from his exertion in beating the bejesus out of me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭Eleven Benevolent Elephants

Who cares.....you're naturally going to have the majority of government jobs in the hands of Irish people. And that's the way it should stay.

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭Trouser Snake

Why?

Because we should look after our own first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,203 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’ve certainly seen a handful of Asian Gardai about. And there seem to be actually quite a few from the goggle image search of ‘Asian gardai’, both genders.

African Gardai seem less so prevalent. I don’t recall seeing one personally and doing a google search I can only find a photo of around 5.

Seeming a good few Polish now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I don't think I've ever seen a non-white Irish in these roles.

Why do you ask OP?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭coinop

Ever notice how you never see a Muslim on a building site? They always work easy, cushy jobs like cashier in a corner shop or a taxi driver where they sit on their arse all day. You'd swear a day of hard labour would kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Because we should look after our own first.

How are you defining "our own"? A lot of ethnic minorities would have been born, some even second generation and may even have one genealogical parent.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,203 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I agree that we should be looking after our own.

We should be looking after Irish people.

To enable this to happen we need to hire the best most deserving candidates, regardless of ethnicity, to serve us.

As long as they have the qualifications, the aptitudes, skillset and personality, in.

Hiring 100 Gardai though, 100 best candidates, that’s the fairest... no quota... it’s best 100 men and women.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

I hope in time we get more but on merit not quotas or trying to cool
    It's like the media there is a push at the moment for black people even tho they are a very smallcommunity in Ireland but the crime in the Afro Irish community is sweep under the carpet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

Defund the Gardaí

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Ok maybe somebody can explain this to me. If your born in this country your irish, doesn't matter what colour you are, black brown green etc. The part I don't understand is african-irish, asian-irish etc, Irish-muslims, irish Catholics. You are either irish or your not. We has a country were invaded be vikings, normans british, were are the irish prefixes before their names. There are none.
    The same with religion it should never come to the stage were people are allowed class their religion in the same breathe as their nationality. How can a country be united when you have whatever-irish in it? Thats why america is fu¢ked up, because their not proud of their country their more proud of their ancestry. I'm irish and I was born in this country and I proud to call myself an irishman has have generations of my kin. But my opinion is if you are born of this land irrelevant of colour then your irish and only irish. I can understand people tracing their roots, and I respect that. But if you prefix you something african, asian, ireland, then I don't believe you should be called Irish.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Loaded threads such as these are against the charter OP, you can already see from the 'quality' of the responses how they end up.

Thread Closed.