Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freelancer rights

Options
  • 09-09-2020 5:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

So I have been doing the same job for close to 4 years.

Exact same job, Monday to Friday.

I am freelance and I get the same money every week. Paid monthly on production of an invoice. This is paid into my bank account. I pay the vat and tax myself. Every year since year one I have asked to be taken off freelance and be made an employee. So far the company has refused, it is not open for discussion.

Fast forward to covid times. My hours were cut and as a result without any discussion I was told that I would not be paid for that. Post..ish covid and the hours have been restored less a 20% paycut. Sort of like a take it or leave it scenario.

I was told that if they decide tomorrow that they want to terminate my freelance agreement that I do have some rights as I have been doing the same job for longer than 2 years.

Could anybody confirm that or point to a link where I can read more about it?

Can they sack me or do they have to offer redundancy or some description?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 14,027 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

Were you employed on a FTC? If so, how long for?

After 2 years, in some circumstances, you may be entitled to redundancy payment if your position is made redundant.

The maximum a FTC, or series of them can last is 4 yrs, after that, if you are retained, you must be made an employee on a contract of indefinite duration.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I am given 6 month contracts twice a year.

Althogh nothing has been signed since January.