Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car wash etiquette

• 25-08-2020 11:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭

Recently went for diesel and a car wash. Purchased diesel and a car wash voucher. As I was navigating the one way system to the car wash a guy came across me and headed the same way (fair enough, I'll be in the queue, who cares).

He got to the car wash, left his car in front and walked in to buy a voucher. He looked and could see I was queuing behind him to use said car wash. He didn't leave enough space for anyone to get in ahead of him. So whilst he went to get his voucher, I reversed into the car wash and started using it :pac:

I could see he was pissed when he came out but in my opinion, he was wrong to move into a position of using/blocking entry to it without having already bought the voucher. There's parking spaces away from the pumps in this petrol station.

(I have to say his face when he came out was priceless)

Who's the ass here, me or him? (I'm sure someone will say; Both! You should both wash your cars at home yourselves)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Him.
    You were dead right!

He played the game and lost.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Its him. He's missing a trick though. Theres people that park up in the car wash, then go get a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,523 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Never thought of reversing in, perfect solution for someone acting like that, good work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Psychedelic Hedgehog

I salute you, sir :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭hurikane

Had this a couple of times, first time let it happen. Second time told them I had my code/ticket and asked them to move out of my way. Cnutish behaviour, thinking its ok to hold everyone else up while you pay in the shop for the car wash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

you were 100% in the right - although he may not have known you were looking to use it.

I see this as far less of an issue than the cnut who puts a fiver petrol in, then heads into the shop for a chat, a read of the paper or worse a coffee while blocking the pump for others to use.

dicks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭sumo12

I tried to get around someone who had done exactly that and ended up scratching my bumper... wish I'd waited and fumed instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Its him. He's missing a trick though. Theres people that park up in the car wash, then go get a ticket.

I heard a story about this last year. Guy parked in the car wash and goes in to pay for petrol and a coffee and the car wash ticket. Hot day and he left the window down. The next guy got tired waiting because he did what the op did and got his ticket ion the shop before going to the car wash.
    He decided to use his ticket to start the car wash with the other guys car in it, window dow.
    He watched the show for a while and then went in and got a new ticket for himself.
    Id love to have seen that. Id pay €10 to see that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Had this happen before.

Told the other driver I'd been there first and she moved quite obligingly once I explained.

Since everyone does it people feel you kind of have to do it yourself or risk having someone do it to you.

I only buy the car wash ticket when I'm filling up so I never have to.

You were right to go in the other way, good lateral thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭Miscreant

JimmyVik wrote: »
    I heard a story about this last year. Guy parked in the car wash and goes in to pay for petrol and a coffee and the car wash ticket. Hot day and he left the window down. The next guy got tired waiting because he did what the op did and got his ticket ion the shop before going to the car wash.
    He decided to use his ticket to start the car wash with the other guys car in it, window dow.
    He watched the show for a while and then went in and got a new ticket for himself.
    Id love to have seen that. Id pay €10 to see that too.

I wonder did whoever witnessed this actually wait around for the Gardaí to arrive and haul the driver who entered the code into the car wash away for Criminal damage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Miscreant wrote: »
    I wonder did whoever witnessed this actually wait around for the Gardaí to arrive and haul the driver who entered the code into the car wash away for Criminal damage?
    No, I heard he got a clean getaway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

In the event that the police did actually come (they would probably have to be special car wash police) because they dont even turn up to burglaries these days.

Sorry officer. How was I to know the car in it wasnt finished because there wasnt finished as the car wash was stopped. I thought it was waiting on me to enter the code for my wash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

RobAMerc wrote: »
    ...I see this as far less of an issue than the cnut who puts a fiver petrol in, then heads into the shop for a chat, a read of the paper or worse a coffee while blocking the pump for others to use.

dicks
    I wouldn't mind so much when people actually buy fuel. It the people who park at the pumps (when there's other parking available) just to go shopping. Daly's in Aughnacloy has to be the best example of this in the country. It's also a Super Valu so you have idiots parking at the pumps and then doing a weekly shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Had one of the finest rows of my life over this issue.

Some old duffer in a Primera did exactly that. I was hungover to feck and driving the auld lad's Passat to wash it before the folks got back from holiday as I had made shyte of it in their absence. I was maybe 20.

Long and short of it was I did the OPs reversing trick, then got out and left the car in the washer as I walked to SuperValu for hangover supplies. Yer man was incandescent and threatened me with all sorts so I wound him up even more. Yes I had to risk him taking down the rego of the car, being my Dad's, to do what God knows. Anyway, that was the last I heard of it and the fella missed his tee time!

The absolute etiquette is, park away from the washer, buy your code in the garage shop and then drive into the queue and wait your bleedin turn!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

My take on it is if there's a car in the wash, then it's ok to park up behind it (once it's not in the dry cycle), go in get the ticket then come back, don't delay though. If there isn't a car in the wash then take a space, get the ticket and then go, if you have to wait, then tough. Lets be honest, having to wait a bit longer to have your car washed is a total #firstworldproblem and if you're getting annoyed by it then you should have a chat with yourself.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Since everyone does it people feel you kind of have to do it yourself or risk having someone do it to you.

Excuse me? I can be an ass at times but I have never done this. It's a ****ty thing to do and always has been.
    Clareman wrote: »
    My take on it is if there's a car in the wash, then it's ok to park up behind it (once it's not in the dry cycle), go in get the ticket then come back, don't delay though. If there isn't a car in the wash then take a space, get the ticket and then go, if you have to wait, then tough. Lets be honest, having to wait a bit longer to have your car washed is a total #firstworldproblem and if you're getting annoyed by it then you should have a chat with yourself.

Perhaps you should have the chat with yourself about your behavior? Afterall, waiting YOUR turn a little longer isn't a big deal either.

You washed the guys car for him, paying it forward and being nice. Only a fool goes into a car wash leaving the window open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Excuse me? I can be an ass at times but I have never done this. It's a ****ty thing to do and always has been.

I was trying to explain their poor behaviour as a result of the Prisoner's Dilemma. Maybe they are just terrible people, but it's fairly widespread behaviour and I'm inclined to give people the benefit the doubt. As I said the one time someone did it to me I was able to politely and calmly have them move their car.

If you want to go around getting worked up about every single annoyance in modern life fire ahead. I've got better things to do myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Him.

I had this a few weeks ago, she pulled out in front of me as I was about to go into the car wash lane after I had gotten my ticket. She parked up and got out of the car, I called out the window and asked her to move her car. She asked me did I have a ticket :):) yes lady I do, please move.

She moved with great difficulty and parked up her car elsewhere and went and got her ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,154 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Another reason to avoid them car washes. Not only do they damage your paint you have to deal with a holes blocking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Correct car wash etiquette is two buckets, a wash mitt and good shampoo. Have the car in the shade and wash a panel at a time in warm weather and hose down afterwards then move on to the next panel. Don't let the shampoo dry into the surface .......... :pac:

You were right though OP, bullying w4ank3rs like that need to be put in their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Clareman wrote: »
    .... take a space, get the ticket and then go, if you have to wait, then tough. Lets be honest, having to wait a bit longer to have your car washed is a total #firstworldproblem and if you're getting annoyed by it then you should have a chat with yourself.
    Seriously? You do realise that you're contradicting yourself? People wouldn't get annoyed if self-centered customers like yourself showed some respect for others and make society a better place.

Park up, buy you ticket and then join the queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

Recently went for diesel and a car wash. Purchased diesel and a car wash voucher. As I was navigating the one way system to the car wash a guy came across me and headed the same way (fair enough, I'll be in the queue, who cares).

He got to the car wash, left his car in front and walked in to buy a voucher. He looked and could see I was queuing behind him to use said car wash. He didn't leave enough space for anyone to get in ahead of him. So whilst he went to get his voucher, I reversed into the car wash and started using it :pac:

I could see he was pissed when he came out but in my opinion, he was wrong to move into a position of using/blocking entry to it without having already bought the voucher. There's parking spaces away from the pumps in this petrol station.

(I have to say his face when he came out was priceless)

Who's the ass here, me or him? (I'm sure someone will say; Both! You should both wash your cars at home yourselves)

Sounds like the male non soccer lovers version of explaining the offside rule. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,103 ✭✭✭✭neris

I wouldn't mind so much when people actually buy fuel. It the people who park at the pumps (when there's other parking available) just to go shopping. Daly's in Aughnacloy has to be the best example of this in the country. It's also a Super Valu so you have idiots parking at the pumps and then doing a weekly shopping.

or the ****ers who park in front of the air and water and toddle in for their breakfast roll, sun & can of monster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

I have seen this a good few times. Last time it really got my goat. I had just came out with my wash ticket and jumped in car and drove over to the wash entrance. This guy flew in before me cutting me off and proceeded to park up and walk back to the shop to get his ticket. Strolls back 5 minutes later with a coffee also. (there was a car in the wash already). No shame, its very selfish behaviour also another thing thats common is blocking the air/water and vac bays I have seen many times they dont even use the bays they just use it as a car spot while they shop inside.
    Not sure if its pure ignorance or blatant cheek "i dont care what people think of me attitude" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Not all heros wear capes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭XLR 8

Many years ago something similar happened to me. I just bit my lip and let the selfish fûčķ go ahead of me. The car wash then got caught in the aerial which was on the wing of this Mini Metro and literally pulled lumps out of her car. Sadly no mobile phone or camera back then to record it. Throughly enjoyed it and I really hope she's reading this.