Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the angriest teacher you've had?

• 17-08-2020 5:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

brummytom wrote: »
    My year 5 teacher once started banging her fist off the whiteboard screaming "I WISH THIS WAS YOUR HEADDDDDDDDDD!!!"

She was a bit of a mad one

We had a teacher bang the table with every word and say "I! AM! GOING! TO! PUT! YOU! IN! THE! BIN! AND! PUT! THE! LID! ON! IT'"

Mod Note: This thread originated from a bump of a 10 year old thread. Broken out into a thread of its own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

mink_man wrote: »
    metalwork teacher with big hands smashing a hammer down on an anvil in front of a student, throwing stools across the room, pulling the overhead projecter off the ceiling, smashing a leaving certs project into a thousand pieces on the floor, lighting a students homework alight due to it being "the work of a pea brain"

The teachers of practical subjects always seemed to be a$$holes, some kind of masculinity issues?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Do students make these teachers this crazy....or are they just cracked already. My teachers were fairly sane. Hardly seen anything like the behavior in this thread in my school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

One of my teachers gave me ten years detention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Angriest and the best teacher I had. He used to have a cannon ball and he’d drop it unexpectedly in the wood floor if the class was too noisy. He could take a bit of chalk and in one turn take the ear off the yapper down the back from the chalkboard. He was an angry man but he was one amazing teacher. We left primary with a level of Irish that 3rd years didn’t have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Mount Sion - Waterford - 1990s
    Mr Hynes. Jesus wept he used to let some roars out of him. Very scary man..I once made him smile. He wasn't happy.

I saw him flip the whole desk over one day. And fire a school bag in the general direction of lads in the class heads. He had this weird way of the voice getting quieter and quieter before BANG! He exploded into action.

Some yokes in that school in fairness. How were some of these people ever deemed suitable to be in rooms with children?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

My business studies teacher was a a really nice man, very quietly spoken and extremely mild-mannered. I remember I dropped a pen on the floor one day and he apologised and picked it up. I mean, that's how nice he was. It was almost impossible to get him to lose his temper or even express mild annoyance. There were rumours about him having an explosive temper, and some people were absolutely determined to make him lose it. Looking back, the way he was treated by some students was borderline bullying, but the only reaction they'd get from him was a sigh (usually followed by an apology).

Anyway, one dark winter's afternoon, probably after a whole day of being taunted by different classes, he exploded, kicked his desk and called us "a fucking shower of pricks". He stormed out, slamming the door behind him. As he stomped up the corridor, we could hear him telling some random student that he was "fucking sick of it".

Anyway, he returned after five minutes and apologised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Was she a nun? If so we might have gone to the same school.

Indeed. I remember a nasty old nun who told one girl she took a particular dislike to that she was the spawn of the devil. That girl left the school in the end, poor thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

One way in primary school. Just a man that was sort of scary when he yelled and shouted a lot but you could tip along with him.He did go over the top at times.
    Another one was in secondary school. She was just very strict about all aspects of school. Some teachers used even give out about her at times. At times I thought she was alright but she made school a very stressful experience and I was happy when I was finished with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

What I remember as angry was really just a teacher setting boundaries and the class behaved. It worked. One of the best teachers I had everything he corrected me on I learned.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

cooltown wrote: »
    What was the angriest teacher you've had?
    It would have to be my french teacher from 1st to 3rd year. She was a b*tch. She uset be a bitch and would lose the plot over the smallest things. She once made a guy in who was always wearing black runners. She told him to go down to the woodwork room and ask Mr x for a saw. He was said ok! He got the saw and she made him take of his runners and she cut them in half. She then told him to walk home in his socks on a cold wet December afternoon.
    She uset also give hours of homework. I uset often spend 6 hours doing written homewrok alone. She was a brillant teacher tough!
    So any stories?

Obviously wasn't an English teacher. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭brookers

Agricola wrote: »
    Irish teacher. Dried up old hag who I had the misfortune to look at for 5 long years. In that entire time, i think she cracked a smile once, and that was only when some young fella reclined too far on his chair and cracked his head off the back wall.
    She generally seemed to despise teenagers and fostered a deep dislike of the language in alot of the students who had her.

i think if you went to a non fee paying school that was say a vocational or tech school, they were in the country. The teachers would look down on you because they considered you to be low class. My irish teacher had 5 babies in 3 years and did no work, just dozed in her chair with a permanent superior look on her face as if to say no point bothering with this lot, they are the dregs. I remember another horrible teacher saying to a lad who was joking around, you cant beat breeding.....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

My senior infants teacher. She threw a chair once which hit my friend. She wasn't so big when the childs Mother arrived up.

She also used to ask the kids if anyone had a satsuma in their lunch. If they did she'd take it and eat it.

She never should have been a teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

4th class teacher had a basically evil, slow simmering anger issue, I suspect heavily impacted on by not being allowed use corporal punishment which she clearly relied on hugely

Used to dish out vast amounts of what punishments she could, always tailored to be the worst possible thing for an individual kid. Learning difficulty that meant you had bad handwriting? Lines. Stammer? Read everything out loud all week and get shouted at for every pause or error. And so on.

She did occasionally make a grab at kids ears but usually they got away and she'd pull back, realising she was not allowed do that anymore.

Looking back I see this as a far more severe anger (and control) issue than the secondary school woodwork teacher that used to throw chisels really.

Many years later, decent teacher had a huge retirement party in the local hotel, which I went to. Every single teacher I had ever had turned up - except her. Later found out that one of the other good ones had come along while basically dying of cancer too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭UpBack1234

The really angry ones are the silent types. I had an 6 foot tall Irish teacher in Leaving Cert year who used just slowly pace the room conjugating verbs straight from the book in a calm, monotone voice which would only be interrupted by him suddenly SLAMMING some poor sap's desk for making a peep, making everyone else jump about a foot out of their seats in terror. Of course he would then go back to calmly pacing the room, conjugating the verbs.... :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 962 ✭✭✭irishblessing

Drama teacher. Definitely overly dramatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

A good percentage of the teachers I had to deal with all seemed to be angry to some degree. Every day seemed like a battle line was drawn on their face. It was as if they didn't want to be in the same situation the students had found themselves in. You could actually gauge this behaviour too due to how the year went, whenever the holidays were about to come up, the week beforehand these people seemed to gleam a new lease of life. I think a lot of them back then weren't very happy in the job they chose. They were just doing it because they were told to by somebody else to do it. Best teacher I had actually enjoyed the work, enjoyed doing his classes, and he told us he was pushed into a previous job he had to get out of, and he did, got into teaching and loved it. And he did love the work because his classes were pure tonic compared to the majority of the ones who clearly did not want to be there.

Make America Get Out of Here