Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Service sharp practice

• 30-07-2020 8:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭

One for ya...2 different young lassies, friends of a neighbour , audi drivers, recently took up an advertised audi offer of e204 for a service..cork based dealer will collect and deliver back the car, e204...lovely
    One is based in castleisland!..must be 60 miles each way, other in cork city northside.
    Cars duly delivered back to the owners on time, surprise!, one with a bill of 1100è, the other e850ish....tyres and brakes were the main components of bumping up each bill. No authorisation given for the extra work, no contact at all from dealer. In each case the reasoning/ excuse for the carryon from the dealer was..' the car would be unsafe for our driver to return it as it was. ' the women paid up..
    This is surely a new low by franchised dealers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 se25

Sneaky alright...Audi website does have a comprehensive pricing list with a traffic light warning system as to to the necessary repairs/replacement requirements. Obviously not adhered to in this case.
    Always best to make booking by email stipulating approval needed before extra work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

That is shocking carry on. Too late now to refuse payment of course but I'd be on them to show the old components, and to the head office about their bad business practise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

No way would i pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

They should have rejected the car when picking it up to bring it for the service if the tyres were that bad, a simple check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Why did they pay without question?

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I cant imagine a scenario where a dealer would do this without authorisation.

It's service department 101 nightmare, parts fotted without customer authorised.

No way i would pay. In the same vein though, i expect there's more to this story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

I cant imagine a scenario where a dealer would do this without authorisation....

Have seen this a few times at main dealers after specific instructions not to do any unsanctioned work. Refused to pay for it and signed wavier to take the car with the original parts back on. That they wouldn't have had time to undo what they said they did was noted.

Another time they were asked to use OEM parts but actually used non OEM parts, but billed for the OEM.

I've had a few other interesting experiences with main dealers. As a result I generally avoid them unless I want a dealer stamp. I've had some good experiences too but less often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Had this happen before with a main dealer. Absolutely refused to pay it and after a call to the owner, didn't.

Never went back - for service or a new car.

I'm very clear (as I was that day) that I want to be called if anything unexpected comes up and before any work is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Wow where can I start this practice.... Bloody brilliant idea to scam people and absolutely milk them..,

We need the likes of BBC watchdog here.... Rte could do it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭sumo12

I would say this is very much the exception rather than the norm. I think there must be more to this story. Whatever about fitting wipers or bulbs for an extra few quid without authorisation, going 800 over without asking is astonishing and a huge risk for the dealer for exactly the reason you have all said - customer refuses to pay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 BIMMERAG

Honestly, I don't believe this happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

If the tyres brakes and discs are so bad that they have to be changed immediately,as a safety issue,how on earth did the professional driver picking the car up risk it?
    How did he not return to the customer ashen faced and tell them a tow truck is on the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

vandriver wrote: »
    If the tyres brakes and discs are so bad that they have to be changed immediately,as a safety issue,how on earth did the professional driver picking the car up risk it?
    How did he not return to the customer ashen faced and tell them a tow truck is on the way?

Exactly, if the car was unsafe then the driver should have refused to bring it for a service in the first place, or at least advised the owner of these apparent safety issues.
    The tyres and brakes didn't degrade on the 60 mile trip to the dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

I've just checked,Cork city to Castleisland is 1.5 hours.For a dealer to pick up and return is 6 hours out of 2 guys day.That must be ,after VAT ,the whole of the 200 euro for the service gone in wages and fuel .
    This story doesn't add up at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭hurikane

How do they pick the cars up? I had a car picked up previously for a service, they put it on a tow truck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

BIMMERAG wrote: »
    Second post and

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FVAX166QwrU

You're assuming they needed changing. One of the times it happened to me it was all 4 discs they said they changed and made me sign a waiver when I refused it. Car passed a NCT on the original discs about a week later. Those discs were good for another 18 months.

The disc were worn not unsafe. They changed them too early. My main issue was not being asked.

My experience with main dealers is that rather than finding and fixing a problem. They'll just change a load of parts hoping it will go away. Which is an expensive for the client. But it makes sense for the dealer. Less time spent and more income gained.

Which is why people say a dealer services car adds value because generally it will have put a lot of money into the car. Personally I think you often get a guy punching the clock in main dealer servicing departments. It's a bit paint by numbers. Maybe I'm wrong but that's been my experience.

Oh I agree.

Its why you need to build up a relationship with your local indy mechanic. So they know the car, and know you.

But you have expected to avoid all that by going to a main dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

There are holes all over this story or the OP was fed porkies.

What main dealer collects and returns a car 120 miles away as well as servicing it for €204? There is just no money in that for a main dealer unless they have lads paid very little standing around doing nothing all day on their payroll. Sticking a customer with a large bill from doing unauthorized work is plausible but again I'd say it's not the norm as it would cost the dealer just as much to remove the parts again in labour and man power, unless they knew they were dealing with a very soft customer who just accepts and pays the bill without questioning it. Very risky though as I'd say most customers wouldn't pay for unauthorized work especially when it runs into large figures over the original quoted price.

I have a friend who always buys their car from a midlands dealer, even though they themselves live in Dublin. They just think they get a better deal from this dealer. Makes no sense to me.

Mentioned once that her service are always about about 700. Which I flagged as being a bit odd for a relatively new car, even if its a premium brand. They didn't look into it though, happy with what they were getting. Some people just want to pay the bill and have no hassle. They also have no interest in cars. The owner drops and collects the car off for servicing, the dealer doesn't do that.

I've only known one dealer to ever offer to collect cars for servicing. But they are only 15 mins drive away. I thought it was a great idea. Since dropping a car to and from servicing is often a PITA.

...120 miles away sounds unlikely though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

If it's the Audi dealer I think it is, one of the guys in service is from the far side of the ring of Kerry and goes home every couple of weeks. Had him collect in Cahersiveen and drop back, but it wasn't the next day.

Castleisland would be a bit out of the way, but not a huge detour to take in the grand scheme of things.

There is something a bit off about the story though...

I remember once someone in the office could I look at their car as they had a light on the dash.
    Car had no oil on the dipstick and Tyre's like slicks.
    I've often noticed people I know even with expensive cars, with bald tyres.
    So I don't doubt a car could turn up like to a garage.

You'd just think they'd ring first before doing the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

I cant imagine a scenario where a dealer would do this without authorisation.

It's service department 101 nightmare, parts fotted without customer authorised.

No way i would pay. In the same vein though, i expect there's more to this story.

Mmm, not really, when i questioned it, the women, who were pissed off, said your man from the garage kept repeating that it would be unsafefor the delivery lad to return it...i know, nonsense...hzrd to seehow theyre getting away with it...also curiously ..worth noting they didnt find fault with the car at pickup....(eg baldy tyres)

sumo12 wrote: »
    I would say this is very much the exception rather than the norm. I think there must be more to this story. Whatever about fitting wipers or bulbs for an extra few quid without authorisation, going 800 over without asking is astonishing and a huge risk for the dealer for exactly the reason you have all said - customer refuses to pay!

Youre right, its risky....maybe reserved only for women?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

BIMMERAG wrote: »

Honestly, I don't believe that you don't believe that this happened.

I've just checked,Cork city to Castleisland is 1.5 hours.For a dealer to pick up and return is 6 hours out of 2 guys day.That must be ,after VAT ,the whole of the 200 euro for the service gone in wages and fuel .
    This story doesn't add up at all.

Ah jaysus...ive more to be doing than creating fairy stories...the reason i posted is because its almost surreal.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

beauf wrote: »
    I remember once someone in the office could I look at their car as they had a light on the dash.
    Car had no oil on the dipstick and Tyre's like slicks.
    I've often noticed people I know even with expensive cars, with bald tyres.
    So I don't doubt a car could turn up like to a garage.

And these days Audi in particular seems to attract people like this - those who never look beyond the badge and the year on the number plate.

oldsmokey wrote: »
    Youre right, its risky....maybe reserved only for women?

Just as many men are clueless about cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

bazz26 wrote: »

What main dealer collects and returns a car 120 miles away as well as servicing it for €204? There is just no money in that for a main dealer unless they have lads paid very little standing around doing nothing all day on their payroll. Sticking a customer with a large bill from doing unauthorized work is plausible but again I'd say it's not the norm as it would cost the dealer just as much to remove the parts again in labour and man power, unless they knew they were dealing with a very soft customer who just accepts and pays the bill without questioning it. Very risky though as I'd say most customers wouldn't pay for unauthorized work especially when it runs into large figures over the original quoted price.

The type of dodgy fu(k that would do it knowing they are going to charge over the odds for parts that don't necessarily need replaced..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Joey321

@beauf , you mentioned that you avoid main dealers except when you need a dealers stamp, not sure that a dealers stamp is wort anything any more as anyone who I have had dealings with in the last few years when trading in a car never ask if there is a service history. This is an old con trick to get you back to the main dealer for a service, over the last few years have traded in a couple of cars (wifes and mine) in main dealers and when shopping around not one asked if there was a service history with the cars, a quick drive and an offer, its amazing the difference in offers from one dealer to another for exactly the same trade in against the same cars. I have started to use the main dealer were I live over the last few years as the service price has come down, each time that there is anything extra I have always got a phone call to get approval and see if I want it done, if you leave a car in for a specific service and extra work is done without your consent then you are with in your rights to have the origional parts put back on. of course you will be given the old safety concern speal to try change your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

beauf wrote: »
    I have a friend who always buys their car from a midlands dealer, even though they themselves live in Dublin. They just think they get a better deal from this dealer. Makes no sense to me...
    That's pretty common in fairness. Every second Merc with Dublin plates seems to come from Moore's (Portarlington), Sheehy's (Carlow), Newgate (Navan), Bolands (Wexford) etc.

bazz26 wrote: »

Its risky alright...those lads must be hungry for cash...gives the oul trade a bad name...the 2 lassies involved wouldnt be telling lies...

oldsmokey wrote: »
    Its risky alright...those lads must be hungry for cash...gives the oul trade a bad name...the 2 lassies involved wouldnt be telling lies...

Regardless if they were or not that ship has sailed many decades ago.