Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ring floodlight cam... 20% off on Amazon uk

I have the ring spotlight cam and the only good thing about it is the picture quality. Other then that, I wouldn't bother.

9 times out of 10 it gives no notification, or the notification is delayed and you only get it when someone is walking away from my house.

When it does go off, it triggers for birds, car lights (outside of the set motion zones?!?) and spiders, but somehow, totally hit and miss for humans!

Try to use the two way talk to speak through it, and the sound quality is terrible.

Save your money for a better product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

I have the ring spotlight cam and the only good thing about it is the picture quality. Other then that, I wouldn't bother.

9 times out of 10 it gives no notification, or the notification is delayed and you only get it when someone is walking away from my house.

When it does go off, it triggers for birds, car lights (outside of the set motion zones?!?) and spiders, but somehow, totally hit and miss for humans!

Try to use the two way talk to speak through it, and the sound quality is terrible.

I couldnt disagree more. I have two of them and its an amazing product. Its very bandwidth intensive though so are you sure you have a strong enough BB signal to the light ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭mac_daddy

s8n wrote: »
    I couldnt disagree more. I have two of them and its an amazing product. Its very bandwidth intensive though so are you sure you have a strong enough BB signal to the light ?

Yes I agree, hugely happy with mine. You just need to make sure your router signal is within good reach of the device or you will experience some lag.

I can only give my experience, but my broadband signal was tested before installation and the installer said it was plenty strong /fast enough. Mine is the permanently wired cam, and I have fibre broadband.

There is definitely a delay in notification. For example, it only notifies me as the postman is leaving, not arriving. And thats only sometimes. Other times it doesn't send any kind of notification at all. It suits itself. Doesn't matter how I tweak the notifications, or the motion zones, I've tried everything.

I've read loads online of other users having similar issues with notifications working/ not working/ working randomly. Its a pity I didn't look into it more before buying it, but my car had just been broken into on the driveway, I was shook up, and I acted too quickly.

Waste of nearly €300 including installation. I will replace it as soon as I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

I can only give my experience, but my broadband signal was tested before installation and the installer said it was plenty strong /fast enough. Mine is the permanently wired cam, and I have fibre broadband.

There is definitely a delay in notification. For example, it only notifies me as the postman is leaving, not arriving. And thats only sometimes. Other times it doesn't send any kind of notification at all. It suits itself. Doesn't matter how I tweak the notifications, or the motion zones, I've tried everything.

I've read loads online of other users having similar issues with notifications working/ not working/ working randomly. Its a pity I didn't look into it more before buying it, but my car had just been broken into on the driveway, I was shook up, and I acted too quickly.

Waste of nearly €300 including installation. I will replace it as soon as I can.

You're confusing internet speed into the house with a good wifi signal to the device itself.

What's the RSSI on the device? You get it in Settings -> Device Health.

I had to add another node to my mesh network to improve the RSSI to a good enough level and now the devices work perfectly.

I'm not confusing anything, but thank you for your input.

My opinion of the product stands.

At the very least, any potential buyers considering Ring product are now warned that these products are ultra sensitive.

Yeah shock horror, a high tech device that streams video in HD needs high speed internet and a good wifi connection to operate.

If you knew what you were talking about then you wouldn't be saying that the installer from the ISP said it was a good connection. He's hardly going to say it's bad is he. You'd know how to measure the connection quality yourself and would have said as much.

And I don't care much about your opinion and whether it stands or not. I'm only correcting your misinformation for others considering purchasing.

It might make sense for you to actually investigate the root cause so you can actually get value from your investment, rather that dissing it and assuming it can't be fixed. Just a thought...

You care enough about my opinion that you're being extremely rude. Do you work for Ring or something?

I have already stated I have a perfectly good, high speed broadband and wifi connection, and I don't need or appreciate your attempt at "mansplaining".

I gave my opinion of a ring product I own, no further discussion was necessary.

Again, thank you for your input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

I have a totally different experience with my ring spotlight, in fact is has caught a thief stealing my heating oil. I used the 2 way to tell him to feck off and then set the alarm off. Police picked him up a couple of days later thanks to the clear picture.

I did have an issue with the steam from our boiler that used to set it off but the recent firmware update has cured that issue.

You must have a faulty device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

s8n wrote: »

No offense but not of that posters issues are related to WiFi. They are related to the sensors on the product. IR is sensitive but can also be very hit and miss.

If paid this much money for a single camera id probably defend the purchase too. But this thing is the price of a decent 4 camera unit system that will do all he Same things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

John_Mc wrote: »
    Yeah shock horror, a high tech device that streams video in HD needs high speed internet and a good wifi connection to operate.

If you knew what you were talking about then you wouldn't be saying that the installer from the ISP said it was a good connection. He's hardly going to say it's bad is he. You'd know how to measure the connection quality yourself and would have said as much.

And I don't care much about your opinion and whether it stands or not. I'm only correcting your misinformation for others considering purchasing.

It might make sense for you to actually investigate the root cause so you can actually get value from your investment, rather that dissing it and assuming it can't be fixed. Just a thought...

Your information is wrong. You shouldn't be correcting people with incorrect information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

Another very happy user here , caught someone heading into my shed last year and was able to warn him off .. while wife rang the neighbor, definitely saved the content of the shed and was able to give guards a very clear still image of the thief.
    My Broadband isn’t the best in back yard but camera still constantly works .
    I have an older ring cam out front and it’s still works fine , battery needs a charge very month now compared to every 4 or 5 at start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,916 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

John_Mc wrote: »
    You're confusing internet speed into the house with a good wifi signal to the device itself.

What's the RSSI on the device? You get it in Settings -> Device Health.

I had to add another node to my mesh network to improve the RSSI to a good enough level and now the devices work perfectly.

Didn't he say that he had a permanently wired cam though? So WiFi not relevant here? I don't have the product so perhaps I'm misunderstanding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭hurikane

I have 7 floodlight cams. One has poor signal as I haven’t put the outdoor access point on that end of the house yet.

You’re experiencing exactly the same as my camera with poor signal strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭hurikane

Didn't he say that he had a permanently wired cam though? So WiFi not relevant here? I don't have the product so perhaps I'm misunderstanding?

Permanently wired as in it isn’t one of the battery cams. They don’t have network cards. Wireless only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,916 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

hurikane wrote: »
    Permanently wired as in it isn’t one of the battery cams. They don’t have network cards. Wireless only.

Ahh sorry understood.

listermint wrote: »
    Your information is wrong. You shouldn't be correcting people with incorrect information.

No, I am right on this one.

I have experienced the same behavior myself because of a poor wifi signal on one of the devices. Ring tells you to expect this if your RSSI is too high. When I added another node to my mesh network to improve the signal it started working perfectly.

Loueze could easily check if this is the issue but is obviously in head-in-the-sand-mode and doesn't like being helped/mansplained to.

I have checked this if this is the issue and its not. If the wifi was the issue I wouldn't have posted. You just assumed I hadn't done any checks and have no tech knowledge.

The RSSI is fine, and it was the Ring installer who originally checked the strength of the wifi signal to the camera when it was being installed, not my ISP provider.

So sorry, you're not right on this one.

Faulty sensors might explain why it goes off sometimes, and not at other times, and I will be looking into that as the camera is under warranty. Thanks to those who mentioned them.

I have checked this if this is the issue and its not. If the wifi was the issue I wouldn't have posted. You just assumed I hadn't done any checks and have no tech knowledge.

The RSSI is fine, and it was the Ring installer who originally checked the strength of the wifi signal to the camera when it was being installed, not my ISP provider.

So sorry, you're not right on this one.

Faulty sensors might explain why it goes off sometimes, and not at other times, and I will be looking into that as the camera is under warranty. Thanks to those who mentioned them.

I assume you have limited tech knowledge because you have repeatedly referred only to your broadband speed (the speed on the line coming into your home) when the connection is comprised of both wifi and broadband speed where the lowest connection quality determines the speed.

The RSSI is "fine" is it? Interesting you'd used that word when it's actually a number. Why not give that instead? It fluctuates too by the way.

Comment on installer saying it's grand still stands. He wants to be finished and paid and move onto next job.

So yeah, I'm still confident I'm right on this one. I'm done with this bickering back and forth. It's clear you don't want any help from a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭TimHorton

Your opinion is not really relevant as someone else had to install it" installer said it was plenty strong /fast enough" so a DIY product install was beyond you.

I deliberately left out the RSSI number, as its not the issue and never was. I got in installed as I had to get a new electrical socket put in for it. I am not an electrician.

Seriously, some of you really need to get a life. Instead of resorting to this petty behaviour because someone has a different opinion to you on an Internet forum. Grow up.

I deliberately left out the RSSI number, as its not the issue and never was. I got in installed as I had to get a new electrical socket put in for it. I am not an electrician.

Seriously, some of you really need to get a life. Instead of resorting to this petty behaviour because someone has a different opinion to you on an Internet forum. Grow up.

Yeah sure, but then there's 2-3 people on here saying they had the very same behaviour as you described because of a poor RSSI. It's definitely not the RSSI though, it's because the products are bad just like you say.

Don't expect your opinions to go unchallenged on boards.ie when they're based on poor logic and go against what most others are saying.

I have a great life, thanks for your concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭tobottherobot

I have 2 of these also and am very happy with them. I’m in a new build and the signal on one of the cameras is down as very poor and the lag is notable. For the doorbell and other camera, it’s spot on.

The price is decent but if you’re not in any rush, maybe wait til Black Friday and they can be got cheaper. I think I paid £175 for one which came with an Echo show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭TimHorton

What has getting an Electical Socket Installed got to do with your installer telling you the the Wifi signal was strong !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

honestly that sounds like your phone, have you got any limitations around battery or apps int he background?

TimHorton wrote: »
    What has getting an Electical Socket Installed got to do with your installer telling you the the Wifi signal was strong !!!!!!!!

Are you being deliberately pedantic?

The installer is a qualified RECI electrician, who has branched off into supplying and installing ring products. He tested the wifi as part of the installation process and was very detailed in telling me everything he was doing.

The "simple DIY installation" you mentioned may apply to battery powered cams but mine is wired, so this involved drilling through a solid outside wall, installing a new power point, and climbing up and down a ladder to do so.

Seeing as I don't have the suitable power tools to drill through walls, and I'm not an electrician, I thought it best to hire someone to do that. I chose a wired cam so I wouldnt have to be climbing up and down ladders to change batteries.

(Not that I'd be inclined to do either, it would be dangerous in my four inch heels and it would probably wreck my manicure.)

So, to anyone who opened this thread because they are considering buying Ring products, now knows they can be more trouble then they're worth. That was why I posted, not to be bullied and mansplained too.

Seriously, I pity your partners. (Thats if you have any).

I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭acalmenvoy

I just bought this one now.
    15% code came up with it, so 140 pounds, no subscription needed.
    I have the ring doorbell, i might look to sell and get the Eufy one as well.

I'm out.

Yeah, you sound like a right laugh too and oh so reasonable. Seldom in doubt and never wrong. Any offer of help gets an automatic accusation of mansplaining :D

Cheerio now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Dublinflyer

Well that escalated quickly!

The installer is a qualified RECI electrician, who has branched off into supplying and installing ring products. He tested the wifi as part of the installation process and was very detailed in telling me everything he was doing.

The "simple DIY installation" you mentioned may apply to battery powered cams but mine is wired, so this involved drilling through a solid outside wall, installing a new power point, and climbing up and down a ladder to do so.

Seeing as I don't have the suitable power tools to drill through walls, and I'm not an electrician, I thought it best to hire someone to do that. I chose a wired cam so I wouldnt have to be climbing up and down ladders to change batteries.

(Not that I'd be inclined to do either, it would be dangerous in my four inch heels and it would probably wreck my manicure.)

So, to anyone who opened this thread because they are considering buying Ring products, now knows they can be more trouble then they're worth. That was why I posted, not to be bullied and mansplained too.

I'm out.

Just because the electrician is RECI qualified, doesnt mean he (or she) would know what they are talking about.

point stands, plenty of people on this thread have offered good solid advice and plenty are enjoying what is a great product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Irish TuneR

I'm out.
    Jesus wept, people were only trying to help you but you seem like the bane of retail staff and technical support everywhere. Also climbing a ladder isn't technical unless the person holding it is a Elevation Support Technician.

Out of curiosity what did the RECI electrician say when you advised him it wasn't working right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Etnies

Did anyone actually know she was woman until the mansplaining comment? Ridiculous person.

I have floodlight cam and I'm very happy with it, 2 way communication is good, spiders and cobwebs can set it off if it's not cleaned off, I am however going to get 24/7 CCTV to go with it as it can mis the odd notification.

Etnies wrote: »
    Did anyone actually know she was woman until the mansplaining comment? Ridiculous person.

This is spot on. She directed it to me and I had no idea the poster was a women.

She must have serious issues with men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Can we leave out the personal comments please.

If anyone is interested in this light, check a range of views. Don't basis it on just one positive or negative review here. Amazon has over 1200 reviews so take that into account.

Not sure their was many personal comments apart from the OP whom was overly aggressive in tone