Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loud modified vehicles

• 18-07-2020 10:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Acosta

Every night a convoy of young lads horse up and down the road outside where I live. It's a head wreck, especially when trying to sleep.

They've made their cars as loud as possible whatever they do with the exhausts. It's deafening.

Can the Gardai do anything with regards to noise pollution if it's reported? Anyone have experience of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭costacorta

Yes they are illegal but like most things in this country cops turn a blind eye . You will find same guys leaving doughnuts at most crossroads as well ..?Can be annoying if you trying to get to sleep alright..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Get on to the nearest roads policing inspector with your concerns, very easy to sort out if there’s a pattern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Get video of them, try to zoom in on number plates and faces.
    Hand it to guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Acosta

Appreciate the replies. I'll go to the Guards with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Go easy on the young fellas. They’re worried about the size of their willies.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

biko wrote: »
    Get video of them, try to zoom in on number plates and faces.
    Hand it to guards

9XO9.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭micah537

endacl wrote: »

Are young men's willies something you often like to think about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭zg3409

As others have said try get video of registrations and faces.

Just beware the gardai do not and won't measure the noise levels. I heard of one situation where the gardai sent it to the NCT centre for measuring and NCT said they would not do it. So noise may not be measurable nor enforceable. If they get contacted by Gardai they may just be told to stay away from your road, but if they know it was you reported them they may not be happy.

There is a noise check as part of a normal NCT, although rarely if ever it is performed. I assume the tester decides if it worth bothering and if he does check and fail them they will come back with a normal exhaust for the test, and swap it later. The same is done with dodgy registration plates, they have an approved set for NCT.
    The vehicle will be required to have a level of noise less than 99dB(A) in order to pass the test.
    From NCT manual with photos of distance and angle microphone needs to be placed from exhaust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They're babe magnets..... Get them on the horn....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Guards do check db levels of modified exhausts if they feel it's too loud. They can send for equipment to be sent out and a roadside db test is carried out.

Nct testers will generally always test fully modified exhausts to see if they're under the db limit however they will know in general which cars will be borderline and need testing and which cars will pass easy so they can use their discretion.

99db is very loud so the cars in question in the op could well be still within the legal limit.

Guards do check db levels of modified exhausts if they feel it's too loud. They can send for equipment to be sent out and a roadside db test is carried out.

Nct testers will generally always test fully modified exhausts to see if they're under the db limit however they will know in general which cars will be borderline and need testing and which cars will pass easy so they can use their discretion.

99db is very loud so the cars in question in the op could well be still within the legal limit.

What's 99db about, is that the legal limit? Pretty sure my last bike was 105 dB from the factory 🤔

What's 99db about, is that the legal limit? Pretty sure my last bike was 105 dB from the factory 🀔

99db is the legal limit for cars anyways but it's measured at 4000rpm or something like that and the measuring device has to be a certain distance away from the exhaust and in an open area.

I've seen people mentioning that quite a few bikes are higher than that but I'd imagine that's probably much higher up the rev range.

99db is the legal limit for cars anyways but it's measured at 4000rpm or something like that and the measuring device has to be a certain distance away from the exhaust and in an open area.

I've seen people mentioning that quite a few bikes are higher than that but I'd imagine that's probably much higher up the rev range.

Nah my bike was a panigale 899 and that was a minimum of 104db idling it was crazy loud. I had wear earplugs and that was stock exhaust.

I didn't realise there was a minimum because if there is no factory bike meets it so it's bull**** that cars have to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

No they can't, and if they do they're idiots.
    A roadside test would be meaningless and would be thrown out of any court due to the argument that the test was invalid due to being on the side of a road where other noises from cars etc will interfere.

If anything they can bring car to station where it will be tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Those with the least talent require the loudest exhaust. It’s a universal law.

You’ll find those with the least talent drive iS200’s or Altezzas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭walshtipp

Had problems with a young Lewis Hamilton wannabe who lives near me. Speeding up and down busy village every day. Spoke to local guard about it and they caught him speeding through village recently. The chap also failed a roadside drug test. Off the road for six months now. Delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I got db tested twice but I did deserve it for having a 4" back box sticking out the bumper and screamer pipe out the bonnet. The side exit exhaust passes the nct every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Pops_20

Those with the least talent require the loudest exhaust. It’s a universal law.

You’ll find those with the least talent drive iS200’s or Altezzas.

The empty vessel makes the loudest sound.

I fart louder then that

unhappys10 wrote: »
    No they can't, and if they do they're idiots.
    A roadside test would be meaningless and would be thrown out of any court due to the argument that the test was invalid due to being on the side of a road where other noises from cars etc will interfere.

If anything they can bring car to station where it will be tested.

https://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Your-Vehicle/Your-Vehicle-/Modified-Vehicles-/

They can and do.

General traffic passing by isn't going to get next nor near the 99db limit, the is200 with a straight pipe parked infront of the db tester is though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

https://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Your-Vehicle/Your-Vehicle-/Modified-Vehicles-/

They can and do.

General traffic passing by isn't going to get next nor near the 99db limit, the is200 with a straight pipe parked infront of the db tester is though.

Never heard or seen that happen, ever.
    Have heard of and know of lads who were brought to station to have it done though.
    They don't have to get next or near it, the fact they contribute to the reading is enough to invalidate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

Let's be honest in the majority of cases the problem isn't the exhaust it's the complainants senses.

In this case however I'd try get a local councilor to have speed bumps introduced. I've a modified & lowered car and speed bumps do my head in.

unhappys10 wrote: »
    Never heard or seen that happen, ever.
    Have heard of and know of lads who were brought to station to have it done though.
    They don't have to get next or near it, the fact they contribute to the reading is enough to invalidate it.

I've seen an s15 tested and pass by the skin of it's teeth across from the local graveyard so it definitely can happen.

Checkpoints specifically targeting modified cars were all the rage about 8 years ago over mayo direction because there was so much diffin and scutting going on up near knock airport. The guards often had noise testing equipment with them.

If a guard stands up in court and states that they carried out and your car failed a roadside db test that's it there's no room for arguing your case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Acosta

Let's be honest in the majority of cases the problem isn't the exhaust it's the complainants senses.

In this case however I'd try get a local councilor to have speed bumps introduced. I've a modified & lowered car and speed bumps do my head in.

I've been told there is plans for ramps gone into the council. Hopefully that will make the guy in the 15 year old banger of a Toyota that is probably pretending he's Dominic Toretto in his Dodge pick another route to go cruising with his friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

let them have their fun,

it wont last long as the loud car tends to attract a species of local lass known as 'preggers obesetus'
    is deceivingly thin and hot but
    they get the ride , she gets pregnant instantly - usually with twins , then its car sold and a zafira instead.
    she then stays looking like shes pregnant forever, and he starts losing his hair and getting a belly .

all over by the age of 19 , poor bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

.. I'd try get a local councilor to have speed bumps introduced. I've a modified & lowered car and speed bumps do my head in.
    That could be worse. There's a speed ramp close to my house on the street where I live. It slows down the boy racers in lowered cars but the heavy acceleration immediately afterwards with a modified exhaust is unpleasant in the wee small hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭corks finest

endacl wrote: »

**** them,that ****e would wreck your head, we've one clown regularly at it near us, always late at night

Ramps only make it worse.

A speed bump will just ensure the op has to listen to mild 1st gear acceleration followed by two blips of the throttle on the 1-2 gear change and then the shoe buried till the top of 2nd and maybe even 3rd.

It'd reduce speed not noise.

I don't slow for ramps....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭bmc58

Acosta wrote: »
    Every night a convoy of young lads horse up and down the road outside where I live. It's a head wreck, especially when trying to sleep.

They've made their cars as loud as possible whatever they do with the exhausts. It's deafening.

Can the Gardai do anything with regards to noise pollution if it's reported? Anyone have experience of this?

All this same shi%e in the Tesco car park behind my house most nights during the summer months.Gardai don't seem to care as it's still going on.Most nights when I'm in bed can hear ..vrooom,vrooom and a screech of tyres.Goes on until 11 or 12 O'C.Pisses me off.Where are the Gardai?

walshtipp wrote: »
    Had problems with a young Lewis Hamilton wannabe who lives near me. Speeding up and down busy village every day. Spoke to local guard about it and they caught him speeding through village recently. The chap also failed a roadside drug test. Off the road for six months now. Delighted.

Put manners on him.Doubt it though.

I don't slow for ramps....

That's the stuff boyo,Give it stick over those pesky ramps.The garages will love you.Keep it up.

bmc58 wrote: »
    That's the stuff boyo,Give it stick over those pesky ramps.The garages will love you.Keep it up.

Have yet to do any suspension parts near 200k miles on her now.

How can you even insure such a wreck??

bmc58 wrote: »
    How can you even insure such a wreck??

NCT passed every time. Flies it. Doing upgrade on it now though, use as a toy car add power, and race her over more ramps