Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

20 plus acres.

• 17-07-2020 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭

Not a farmer.

I have 20 plus acres that I am restoring to a species rich upland hay meadow ( currently am doing one in a 12 acre parcel ) but the local farmer now doesn’t want to take silage from if. (Reducing fertility of the meadows prior to wildflower seed sowning).

Figure grass yields are good this year so farmer doesn’t need it. Not a farmer myself but is this normal where the farmer says he wants it and then doesn’t.

Options are:
    Put in on DoneDeal. It’s native grass with no fert/slurry so not sure of interest.

Get another local farmer which I am friendly wifh to put his sheep on it which takes care of the grass but increases fertility

Pay for silage myself but figuring contractor doesn’t want will need to be dumped in corner of field which will be an eyesore

Let the land be for a couple of years as I am not yet ready to put in the investment into adding the seed until I complete the other project.

What’s the best option ?

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Advertise it as Organic meadow, in the Fodder section of DoneDeal.
    10 euro a bale, buyer to cut, bale, wrap himself.
    Supposed to be a short spell of good weather coming, it might suit some fellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Thanks. I got it done with Forefront T in spring to get rid of some docks etc in preparation for sowing so not really organic. Will advertise but thinking may end up paying the contractor to take it away if I can.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

There is always someone who'll take it, esp if free. Contractor might know someone.

Probably out of frustration but phoned up local contractor to cut and take the fodder and will pay what he is out of pocket for. He didn’t know anyone who wanted it as farmers had enough and mine would not be of high quality. Will now offer him first refusal in future.

Decent guy but for me I really want to get the project started and not be reliant on others.

Not a greeny by any means but sure hope they introduce something which helps folks like me trying to restore old meadows to aid biodiversity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Young95

80sDiesel wrote: »
    Probably out of frustration but phoned up local contractor to cut and take the fodder and will pay what he is out of pocket for. He didn’t know anyone who wanted it as farmers had enough and mine would not be of high quality. Will now offer him first refusal in future.

Decent guy but for me I really want to get the project started and not be reliant on others.

Not a greeny by any means but sure hope they introduce something which helps folks like me trying to restore old meadows to aid biodiversity.

Where are you based in the country?

My internet stopped but I had this post written earlier;

Don't worry, he'll have a buyer.
    Cripes you're an impatient man, you only started this thread 45 mins ago. No flies will perch on you. Really best of luck with this project.
    I mentioned elsewhere today that there was a piece on RTE News at One of a vet in Mayo who had set up a habitat for corncrake. All these type efforts should be helped and acknowledged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,809 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Horsey folk would be interested in it - light Hay is the best for foals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Please please please do not advertise it as organic. I'm sick of ringing lads advertising organic stuff on donedeal only to be told ah sure it got no manure when I ask for a copy of the licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Please please please do not advertise it as organic. I'm sick of ringing lads advertising organic stuff on donedeal only to be told ah sure it got no manure when I ask for a copy of the licence.

Apologies, my mistake then so.
    Anyway, its given to the contractor for free, so no danger to any organic farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Water John wrote: »

Cripes you're an impatient man, you only started this thread 45 mins ago. No flies will perch on you. Really best of luck with this project.
    I mentioned elsewhere today that there was a piece on RTE News at One of a vet in Mayo who had set up a habitat for corncrake. All these type efforts should be helped and acknowledged.

There needs to be more focus on schemes that promote native wildlife and flora, where i am a lot of land is unsuitable for modern intensive farming and big cattle, farmers flogging a dead horse trying to cut silage and rear beef on bad ground where the only men making money are selling beef nuts, i see a neighbour of mine went into dexters and while hard work he says they're a lot easier on land and easier fed and on the environment around them, it drives me cracked seeing men with big farms of dò bui, bog and gorse pushing charlois and limousines on land not able to cope.

Fair play to that vet, if all farmers took a leaf out of his book we'd all be a lot better off

Nope not impatient. In fact the complete opposite. A species rich meadow takes years to create , I am happy to wait (as I am doing on another 12 acre site) but creating the ideal conditions is so important that one can’t be complacent. So the sooner I bring the fertility down, tackle any weeds, the sooner I can restore.

Yep would never advertise it as organic giving that it had forefront T on it.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Horsey folk would be interested in it - light Hay is the best for foals

Thats true but they could fall thru like my original buyer hence back in my original position. It’s a long process to restore a meadow so any obstacle can really delay things.

Apologies, my mistake then so.
    Anyway, its given to the contractor for free, so no danger to any organic farmer.

I would never advertise as organic as it’s the polar opposite of what I am trying to do.

Perhaps you'd explain your process as I see a closeness between what your're doing and organic principles.

Figure it’s easier ( not being a local farmer) to take a hit on the grass removal giving that the project in itself is not a profitable enterprise. The end goal should balance out the short term financial hit.

Perhaps you'd explain your process as I see a closeness between what your're doing and organic principles.

Yes next year year it would be organic but not this year with herbicide applied to deal with a mild infestation of docks.
    But next year when it is truly organic, would there be a guaranteed demand for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Yes next year year it would be organic but not this year with herbicide applied to deal with a mild infestation of docks.
    But next year when it is truly organic, would there be a guaranteed demand for it?

I don’t think it’ll be organic then either - it’ll be fertiliser / herbicide free, but not certified organic...
    I think that’s what tractor’s post was about earlier... ?

I don’t think it’ll be organic then either - it’ll be fertiliser / herbicide free, but not certified organic...
    I think that’s what tractor’s post was about earlier... ?

Not up to date on organic farming so wouldn’t advertise as such. Giving our temperamental weather I also ( with gained experience) couldn’t count on proposed purchases. So better to sell ( or take) with first buyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭orchard farm

You cant just call it organic because its got no spray or artifical fertiliser.to be classified as organic needs certification by organic body ie ioa,organic trust, two year conversation etc its a whole lot different to just leaving a field to its own devices

Restoring upland hay pastures to pre Agri intensification. Will never be put forward for certt as organic even if it will pass. Bigger fish to fry as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

It was sprayed. OP said he sprayed it with Forefront T which has a residual effect.

I understand. A family down here in Cork grow and sell vegetables without sprays etc, however they don't register as an organic producer because of the cost/grief and doesn't affect their sales. Simply forgoes any Govn't organic payment.
    Rewilding may describe what you're at. The other thread is very interesting, also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭minerleague

I understand. A family down here in Cork grow and sell vegetables without sprays etc, however they don't register as an organic producer because of the cost/grief and doesn't affect their sales. Simply forgoes any Govn't organic payment.
    Rewilding may describe what you're at. The other thread is very interesting, also.

kinda in the same boat here, not far off being organic at this stage but dont see myself getting certified for marginal benefit and more inspection

Ah, I'd never suggest you should be,'certified'.

In fairness the inspection's ok. It would be a further cost and for certain actions you need to file derogation applications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭minerleague

Ah, I'd never suggest you should be,'certified'.

In fairness the inspection's ok. It would be a further cost and for certain actions you need to file derogation applications.

HAHA :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

What 80 s is at is like stabbing us lads in west cork in the heart. Most lads would spend at least 5 k every year knocking some nub out of it and a big job every so often as the saying goes" making land where god has failed".i was topping yesterday and iwas cutting young furze that always wants to come back and then i see the like of this thread, it just makes you want to cry.listening to say my name skipping nitrogen,its a different world here