Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crash Bandicoot/Spyro the Dragon

• 02-07-2020 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭

Did anyone else play these games back in the day? I used to love them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Silly Pitty and James Pond Codename Robocod much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

Yeah still do, the young lad loves them, he's moreso into mario on the n64 at the mo but loves spyro. And gex gecko is another good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

They were the first two games I started with when I got a ps one at 6 or 7 years of age, nearly 20 years later I'm playing the remastered versions

PsychoPete wrote: »
    They were the first two games I started with when I got a ps one at 6 or 7 years of age, nearly 20 years later I'm playing the remastered versions

Boo! Originals all the way, old skool in this house! The old hercules game was great aswell, great thing about the ps3 years ago all the ps1 games for sale on the store don't need to crack out the ps1

And edit, apologies but ff7 greatest game ever on ps1 or any console, will never play the new version, blasphemy!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Yeah crash was the first game I bought too, some of those levels were so damn tough, but to mention the awful "save" system of bonus rounds

Awh god yeah the save system or writing down the codes, still have the sleeve from the original with all the codes written on the inside, classic game though

But wipeout and battle arena toshinden were the first I got and tekken 2 on the oul demo disk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

rapul wrote: »
    Boo! Originals all the way, old skool in this house! The old hercules game was great aswell, great thing about the ps3 years ago all the ps1 games for sale on the store don't need to crack out the ps1

And edit, apologies but ff7 greatest game ever on ps1 or any console, will never play the new version, blasphemy!

I remember getting a demo CD of the Hercules game in some magazine back in the day, along with Abe's Oddessy and Overboard. Top games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭its_steve116

Man, that Ripto was one nasty piece of work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Meh, give me Roland in time any day

I remember getting a demo CD of the Hercules game in some magazine back in the day, along with Abe's Oddessy and Overboard. Top games!

Hercules is a tough game, fun but tough! Ah yeah Abe what a great game, hmm defo gonna crack that one out 2moro see what the young lad thinks of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

loved Abe's Oddessy and his farting. I was Tomb Raider, Broken Sword, Abe's Odyssey, Tekken and Arachnaphobia on PS1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Playstation with,
    Crash Bandicoot.
    Destruction Derby 2.
    Acuta Soccer.

Jeysus thats a Christmas I wont ever forget. The best part was my buddy got an N64 so we had the best of both worlds.

I can remember the value of having a Demo with a few games on it. Even if it was only 1 level.

khalessi wrote: »
    loved Abe's Oddessy and his farting. I was Tomb Raider, Broken Sword, Abe's Odyssey, Tekken and Arachnaphobia on PS1.

Tomb raider was hard, great game playing back through but was hard getting past the first level or part alone, that cave with a puma or some sort or animal jaysus I cant remember, shambolic! May throw it on 2moro aswell, admittedly its easily more than 20 years since I've played any tomb raider game, been starting a new game in ff7 since 1997 but tomb raider was forgotten, until now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Tomb raider was hard, great game playing back through but was hard getting past the first level or part alone, that cave with a puma or some sort or animal jaysus I cant remember, shambolic! May throw it on 2moro aswell, admittedly its easily more than 20 years since I've played any tomb raider game, been starting a new game in ff7 since 1997 but tomb raider was forgotten, until now!

Yes it was so hard! I eventually completed it and the PS1 was stolen the following day, at least the game was completed first lol

khalessi wrote: »
    Yes it was so hard! I eventually completed it and the PS1 was stolen the following day, at least the game was completed first lol

Awh that's harsh, sorry to hear but fair dues completing it, think I only ever completed the tomb raider where she was in Venice with the canals and the boat and the side training game where you could lure the butler into the freezer and lock him in there?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

The first level in Driver is tough ��

Anyone remember spec ops on the ps1? Probably the hardest thing I ever played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭fishy_fishy

It's not a console game but did anyone ever play legend of myra on PC? Would love to play that again.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Spyro was the first game I ever got, to play on my brothers PS1. Wish I was 8 again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

You can buy all three crash games for €40 updated for Xbox . Do it.
    Absolutely brilliant craic had here and yeah it’s tricky enough - I thought I’d breeze through it but no!

They’re releasing a new crash in October- it may be the first thing I’ll ever pre-order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Your missing out, the remake is excellent and was definitely worth the wait. I loved crash 1-3 back in the day and the ps4 remake is the way to play these games now, wasn't a big fan of Spyro. Although there's many great platform games these days the Mario games are the best platformers by a long way.

The original playstation will always have by best gaming memories. Resident Evil, Tomb raider, metal gear solid and FF7 where all unforgettable. Crash bandicoot 4 is out later this year and looks really good

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Yes, the kids love them. Don't forget Ratchet & Clank too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Loved Crash Bandicoot but for me Sonic the Hedgehog was always the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Anyone here remember Official PlayStation Magazine Ireland?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Hercules is a tough game, fun but tough! Ah yeah Abe what a great game, hmm defo gonna crack that one out 2moro see what the young lad thinks of it

Appearently Disney required a few though levels in their games so people who rent the games would be unlikely to complete it, expecting them to buy it.

Anyone here remember Official PlayStation Magazine Ireland?

Yeah have them all in the attic!

It was short lived, maybe 10?

Yeah have them all in the attic!

It was short lived, maybe 10?

Nice! yeah it was about that, remember thinking it as a big deal at the time, some good writers there too.

I'll attempt to put a pic or 2 of the covers of them today or 2moro, but yeah enjoyable and reasonable price if I recall compared to total guitar that was breaking the bank at the time!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Tuco88 wrote: »
    The first level in Driver is tough ��

Anyone remember spec ops on the ps1? Probably the hardest thing I ever played.

We had a Spec Ops! Took me ages to learn there are fecking mines in the ground, you couldnt see them on the TV we used as the brightness was so low and back then no one dared to touch any of the buttons on the remote incase you fecked everything up

I'll attempt to put a pic or 2 of the covers of them today or 2moro, but yeah enjoyable and reasonable price if I recall compared to total guitar that was breaking the bank at the time!

That would be very cool actually, nostalgia trip! :D

Anyone remember Sgt. Byrd from the 3rd Spyro game? Flying penguin, my schoolmate used to mispronounce his name as 'Scot Bird'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Oh the memories of Demo Disc 1:

Crash was great, but was limited by the hardware and pixel perfect jumping. Spyro was fun but easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I used to love them?
    Are you saying or asking?

biko wrote: »
    Are you saying or asking?

I put a question mark by mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Loved Spyro. Especially the part with the skateboarding!

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Loved Spyro. Especially the part with the skateboarding!

"Dear Dragon, if you ever want to see your mangey cat friend again, you had better leave here at once!"