Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting on the road ASAP

• 22-06-2020 11:28AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭

I drove years ago when I was 18 but then sold the car and have cycled since. Recently found out my father has cancer and need to get back on the road ASAP to drive him to and from the hospital for treatment? I have booked a theory test for 27th July(earliest date). How long am I looking at after that to be able to get on the road?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

paddythere wrote: »
    I drove years ago when I was 18 but then sold the car and have cycled since. Recently found out my father has cancer and need to get back on the road ASAP to drive him to and from the hospital for treatment? I have booked a theory test for 27th July(earliest date). How long am I looking at after that to be able to get on the road?

At least 9 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

At least 9 months.

You're kidding? Because of the pandemic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Sure can't you get a learner permit as soon as you pass the theory test?

Then if your father has a full licence sure you are OK with him in the car if you meet a Guard.

The bigger issue for you is getting insurance.

9 months is for getting a test for a full licence.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

You're kidding? Because of the pandemic?

Sorry I meant 9 months before Full permit (6 month rule + a very long waiting list, that might get shorter towards the end of the year really). You can get Learners almost immediately.

Then if your father has a full licence sure you are OK with him in the car if you meet a Guard.

No my father doesn't drive. I'm sure Gardai will let me away with it if I explain the situation and if they don't then **** it anyway. I just wanna figure out how to get around the 12 driving lessons thing before you can get a provisional?

Do you not need to take 12 lessons before they will give you a learner permit nowadays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭rubberdungeon

https://www.cancer.ie/cancer-information-and-support/cancer-support/getting-organised/organising-travel/volunteer-driver-service

I’m not sure if you know but over 1,200 drivers around Ireland volunteer for the Irish Cancer Society Volunteer Driver Service to ease the strain of travel on cancer patients, maybe they could help

Do you not need to take 12 lessons before they will give you a learner permit nowadays?

Nope, you can get it asap. But definitely wouldnt be recommending going out without a full licenced holder beside you. A lot more checkpoints than usual and not all Gardai will turn a blind eye if you dont...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭kirving

No my father doesn't drive. I'm sure Gardai will let me away with it if I explain the situation and if they don't then **** it anyway. I just wanna figure out how to get around the 12 driving lessons thing before you can get a provisional?

No, they're not allowed to just let you away with it unfortunately.

They will seize the car, give you a summons or fine, and send you the bill for towing. Your insurance will often have a clause stating that you are not covered if you don't drive in accordance with the conditions on your permit.

Not a great situation, but when you actually add up the entire cost of running a car, is a taxi a viable alternative?

Nope, you can get it asap. But definitely wouldnt be recommending going out without a full licenced holder beside you. A lot more checkpoints than usual and not all Gardai will turn a blind eye if you dont...

That's it. you need the 12 lessons before you can apply for a driving test.

How would you be able to do 12 lessons on the road without having a learner permit to be legally out on the road to do those lessons? Makes no sense!!!

Anyway, if ferrying the father to and from appointments is all the driving is needed for, then all will be above board, assuming the father has a driving licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

I'm sure Gardai will let me away with it if I explain the situation and if they don't then **** it anyway.

I wouldn't be taking any chances like this. Driving unaccompanied on a provisional is treated much more seriously today than in years gone by. Yes, a guard might be sympathetic and decide to let you go, but on the other hand, another guard could take a different view and seize your car, leaving both you and your father up a certain creek.

Would your insurance even be valid if you were caught driving unaccompanied by a fully-licensed driver? A conviction for no insurance is a serious matter. Big fine and a likely ban.

Not asking for all your family details, but is there anybody else who could drive him?

If not, have you fully looked into other possible options - including how the health service can provide transport (e.g. mini bus or taxi) for people with no other means of transport?

Also, don't know how widespread this sort of thing, but close to where I live, there's a volunteer group who drive people for cancer treatment, dialysis, etc., if they've no other transport. Might there be something like that near you?

Edit - I see somebody above has posted about this too, and gives a link. So that might work for you.

That's it. you need the 12 lessons before you can apply for a driving test.

How would you be able to do 12 lessons on the road without having a learner permit to be legally out on the road to do those lessons? Makes no sense!!!

Anyway, if ferrying the father to and from appointments is all the driving is needed for, then all will be above board, assuming the father has a driving licence.

Thats the problem, the ol lad doesn't drive. And the hospital is pretty out of the way for us.

I wouldn't be taking any chances like this. Driving unaccompanied on a provisional is treated much more seriously today than in years gone by. Yes, a guard might be sympathetic and decide to let you go, but on the other hand, another guard could take a different view and seize your car, leaving both you and your father up a certain creek.

Would your insurance even be valid if you were caught driving unaccompanied by a fully-licensed driver? A conviction for no insurance is a serious matter. Big fine and a likely ban.

Not asking for all your family details, but is there anybody else who could drive him?

If not, have you fully looked into other possible options - including how the health service can provide transport (e.g. mini bus or taxi) for people with no other means of transport?

Also, don't know how widespread this sort of thing, but close to where I live, there's a volunteer group who drive people for cancer treatment, dialysis, etc., if they've no other transport. Might there be something like that near you?

Edit - I see somebody above has posted about this too, and gives a link. So that might work for you.

Thanks mate. He has to go in everyday for 6 weeks for 10 minutes of treatment so its not really feasible to get a lift everyday

Thats the problem, the ol lad doesn't drive. And the hospital is pretty out of the way for us.

He doesn't drive or he doesn't have a driver's licence? I thought a man of his age would surely have a driving licence?

Is there anyone else who is a licence holder that could accompany ye? Your mother? Or even a friend or neighbour who would sit in for the spin?

Thanks mate. He has to go in everyday for 6 weeks for 10 minutes of treatment so its not really feasible to get a lift everyday

That's a lot of trips all right, particularly if it's every single day rather than just weekdays. Six weeks = 42 days = 84 journeys.

Problem with a HSE mini bus service like I mentioned above could be that he could be picked up hours before his treatment and not dropped home until hours after it, especially if it's only ten minutes treatment a day.

Obviously don't know how far he lives from the hospital/treatment centre, but would just paying for a regular taxi yourselves be an option? €10 per trip would be €840 total. €30 per trip would be €2,520.

I know it seems a lot to spend on taxis over the course of six weeks, but even €2,520 is a lot less than it would cost you to get on the road, if you've to buy a car and pay for insurance for a learner driver. And it's definitely far less than what the possible financial repercussions could be if you're caught driving illegally (i.e. without a fully licensed driver).

Hope something works out for you anyway, and best wishes to your dad.

He doesn't drive or he doesn't have a driver's licence? I thought a man of his age would surely have a driving licence?

Is there anyone else who is a licence holder that could accompany ye? Your mother? Or even a friend or neighbour who would sit in for the spin?

No he doesnt drive so why would he have a license?
    Mother doesnt drive either. We could find somebody to sit in for a drive yes but its 5 days a week with an hour drive to and from the hospital for 6 straight weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Perhaps one of them intensive driving courses could be helpful. Not sure how it would fast-track you though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Many hospitals have accommodation for those getting radiotherapy as it is such a burden to travel every day

That's a lot of trips all right, particularly if it's every single day rather than just weekdays. Six weeks = 42 days = 84 journeys.

Problem with a HSE mini bus service like I mentioned above could be that he could be picked up hours before his treatment and not dropped home until hours after it, especially if it's only ten minutes treatment a day.

Obviously don't know how far he lives from the hospital/treatment centre, but would just paying for a regular taxi yourselves be an option? €10 per trip would be €840 total. €30 per trip would be €2,520.

I know it seems a lot to spend on taxis over the course of six weeks, but even €2,520 is a lot less than it would cost you to get on the road, if you've to buy a car and pay for insurance for a learner driver. And it's definitely far less than what the possible financial repercussions could be if you're caught driving illegally (i.e. without a fully licensed driver).

Hope something works out for you anyway, and best wishes to your dad.

Thanks a lot. Yea the taxi option is always there but would prefer to find a way of driving him myself. Thanks for your help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Afroshack

Honestly you’ll be waiting until at least Christmas until you’ve done all 12 lessons and got your test date. I had to wait three months for a test date and that was before the Covid 19 backlog, the “regular” backlog was long enough. Hypothetically speaking, you could do a lesson a week, but who would you practice with? There’s a lot more needed than just 12 lessons. You need to have a qualified person with you at all times and yes, they can take your car (happened to me on my way to work at 8am, got a fine in the post a week later)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Did you do the theory test the first time you drove years ago? If so, you wouldn't have to re sit it

I see now that you've said it's roughly an hour's drive each way, so a taxi would be far more expensive than I guessed at above. An hour's drive for me would be the rough equivalent of having to go to Waterford. And I happen to know through a work thing that the taxi fare for that trip is in the region of €90 to €100 each way. Sorry to be the bringer of bad news after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,395 ✭✭✭✭L1011

There are places that do intensive lessons, 2h per day over a week

Yeah you can do as many lessons in as short a timeframe as you like but you can't fasttrack a drivers licence because there is not provision for fasttracking it in law.

If the previous expired licence is over 5 years old you'll need to wait 6 months anyway due 6 month rule. Happened to me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

If the previous expired licence is over 5 years old you'll need to wait 6 months anyway due 6 month rule. Happened to me :(

Did you have to do the 12 lessons then or were you exempt from that?

messrs wrote: »
    Did you have to do the 12 lessons then or were you exempt from that?

I had to do the lessons. Basically start from scratch, even if you know the ins and outs still. It's a painful lesson I'll make sure wont happen again :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

There is no room for descretion. They HAVE to take the car off a learner driving unaccompanied by a fully licenced driver who has held a licence for a minimum of 2 years.

The 12 lessons is one of 2 requirements before you can do your driving test. You need a permit for a minimum of 6 months and have 12 lessons completed.

You can book for the tests once you have a driver number, but there's little point in it, as they can't give you a test date until both criteria are fulfilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭rubberdungeon

As others have said, the law around this changed in 2018.

What is the new legislation?

It has already been the case that it is against the Law to drive unaccompanied on a learner permit.

On 22 December 2018 legislation took effect that means that a learner driver who should be accompanied, but is driving unaccompanied, is liable to have their vehicle impounded.

This is in addition to the penalties points and fixed charge fine which apply prior to this change. The changes being introduced also mean that where the unaccompanied learner driver is not the vehicle owner, the vehicle could be impounded and owner liable to a fine of up to €1,000.

What will happen if I am stopped by An Garda Siochana driving unaccompanied on a learner permit?

2 penalty points are applied and a fixed charge of €80 if paid within 28 days, €120 if paid within 56 days. If convicted in Court 4 penalty points apply together with a fixed charge of €120.

You are liable to have your vehicle impounded. If the vehicle you are driving does not belong to you the vehicle owner may face a fine of up to €1000 and the vehicle may also be impounded.

https://www.ndls.ie/images/Documents/FAQs/NDLS%20website%20UNACCOMPANIED%20DRIVERS%20FREQUENTLY%20ASKED%20QUESTIONS.pdf

There is no room for descretion. They HAVE to take the car off a learner driving unaccompanied by a fully licenced driver who has held a licence for a minimum of 2 years.

The 12 lessons is one of 2 requirements before you can do your driving test. You need a permit for a minimum of 6 months and have 12 lessons completed.

You can book for the tests once you have a driver number, but there's little point in it, as they can't give you a test date until both criteria are fulfilled.

In theory maybe but most of my mates on a provisional said theyve been stopped before and the Gardai let them away with it? Depends on the garda in question obviously but surely if I explain the situation and have my sick father with me its gonna take a pretty cold hearted Garda to take the car off me considering they typically let young lads driving around on their own for no reason away with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Afroshack

In theory maybe but most of my mates on a provisional said theyve been stopped before and the Gardai let them away with it? Depends on the garda in question obviously but surely if I explain the situation and have my sick father with me its gonna take a pretty cold hearted Garda to take the car off me considering they typically let young lads driving around on their own for no reason away with it

Doesn’t matter what your reasons are, if they catch you they most likely will take the car. I bought into the whole “ah they let others away with it for years” mindset, and drove right into a checkpoint only to have the car taken off me. Two others on their way to work got their cars taken at the exact same time.

Your reasons for driving are irrelevant as far as they are concerned.

Look, I'm still trying to be helpful here, so please take this in the spirit it's intended.

Bottom line is that people have answered your original question about how long it could take to get "on the road" properly. Others, myself included, have pointed out the possible pitfalls of driving without everything being legal, and have put forward possible alternatives/solutions.

If you're still considering taking the chance of driving unaccompanied on a learner permit, based on what some of your mates have said about "getting away with it", well then, none of us can stop you.

But I wouldn't do it myself, and I'd consider it irresponsible of anybody else who does it, no matter what their reasons. And sorry if that sounds harsh in the circumstances of your father's ill health.

Anyway, don't think I can contribute anything else around here, so I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

Yes, please don't share the roads I'm licensed to drive on before you've proved your ability.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It's not a theory. Just go look at their feed on twitter. Other people here have posted options you can pursue. If you don't want your dad left on the side of the road, don't do something that'll provide the chance of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭marilynrr

Legally maybe they HAVE to. In reality they still don't always do that.

Also as a learner I was never asked if my passenger had a drivers licence!

marilynrr wrote: »
    Legally maybe they HAVE to. In reality they still don't always do that.

Also as a learner I was never asked if my passenger had a drivers licence!

The past isn't a good reference for a baseline. They seem to be checking them now:

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/1277717727726243841

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭MascotDec85

I’m fairly sure that advocating breaking the law is against the forum charter so if those types of post could stop, that would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Theyre really clamping down on learner drivers driving without a full licensed driver in the car, a guard wont turn a blind eye, you'll be fined and get penalty points or get your license taken off you.
    Learning to drive is not anything like it used to be, its a long and expensive process.
    After your theory you get your provisional license, you then do 12 lessons that have to be spaced at least 1 week apart. You cant apply for your driving test for 6 months after you get your PL, then theres long waiting lists for the tests. Youre talking about the guts of a year before you can drive without a full licensed driver with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭TK Lemon

You actually can apply for your driving test without waiting for six months since getting your Learner Permit.

You must have the 12 lessons logged and six months of receiving your Learner Permit have to have passed to be given a driving test date.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,351 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

There are volunteers who will drive people to and from appointments for cancer treatment, if you are stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭marilynrr

The past isn't a good reference for a baseline. They seem to be checking them now:

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/1277717727726243841

It was the very recent past.
    Of course they checked that persons accompanying drivers eligibility considering the car had no NCT or tax!