Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Misbehaving Third Level Students being kicked out of a Lecture by Lecturer

• 11-06-2020 8:57pm

Answer the Quiz. Tick the boxes. Explain why they were kicked out. Poo thread I know but anyways.

Was anybody ever kicked out of a Lecturer in Third Level 79 votes

Yes, I was kicked out
    0%
    Yes, others were kicked out
    10%
    amen[Deleted User]ThunbergsAreGomaconofNecro[Deleted User]TheDavesterDanzy 8 votes
    Nobody was kicked out.
    37%
    StarkmatrimixoyMr. CooL ICEkenmcrushianboombangbronterainbowtroutsydthebeatshellda1Sunny DispositionRichard HillmanLishamaconofpeekachooRollieFingersYour Facer93kaey5p2izunJames Bond Junior 30 votes
    I know somebody who was kicked out in Degree Year, 4th year.
    48%
    VictormagickSharknosedotsmanmichellieyouthemanRiddle101Head_HunterChris_HeilongmrskinnerSlimitygypsy79dirtydentonycascarinoPlanemobazza1The Floyd pMusefandominatinMCben.schlomo 38 votes
    The student refused to leave
    3%
    Aglomeradocallaway92r93kaey5p2izun 3 votes

I was kicked out a few times. Sleeping, phone not being on silent, chatting too much during the lecture.

As a lecturer now, I've kicked out dozens of students, usually for ignorant behavior (phones, belching, etc), or not having their assignments done on time (or their assignment attempt was pathetic). [I have my students sign an agreement about unacceptable behavior at the start of every semester. They break it, they get kicked out]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,412 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

As a lecturer now, I've kicked out dozens of students, usually for ignorant behavior (phones, belching, etc), or not having their assignments done on time (or their assignment attempt was pathetic). [I have my students sign an agreement about unacceptable behavior at the start of every semester. They break it, they get kicked out]

are you sure you're not a secondary school teacher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

A lad in my year was kicked out for throwing balls of his own faeces at the lecturer. (As opposed to balls of someone else’s faeces.)

are you sure you're not a secondary school teacher?

Quite sure. Third level. Business Management. A lot of students are immature morons, and need to be reminded to behave as adults. It's a place for learning and I have a limited time to cover everything needed to be taught. Having an agreement cuts away most rubbish behavior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

The student refused to leave
    Yes, saw it happen many times. People chatting, or getting giddy, or falling asleep. Also latecomers not being admitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Emerie Putrid Stubbornness

Got kicked out of two, one was a lecturer - who was a retired solicitor, just starting out as a lecturer whose first class he took, was ours, thought he gave us "homework" and i said we didn't do it as it was our first class and he never gave any work (he started in February of the college year, for some odd reason this course kept saying another lecturer will be starting in October to share this module with another lecturer who also was mystified why the powers that be put him there), he kicked me out for standing up and pointing out politely about this was the first class we had and he never gave anything for us to do ...he then couldn't understand what the course syllabus was - we were business students and he was meant to go over EU related stuff with us and he kept going off topic - Tort law...eventually the other lecturer helped us and gave us enough "extra lessons" to pass his part of the exam as he didn't follow the syllabus, despite him setting questions relating to the EU....talking to friends who did same course over the years and told that he's exactly the same..(sorry for rant)

another one was my mate across the lecture hall kept making me crack up with silly faces, and for some reason i couldn't stop laughing and got told to leave...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,920 ✭✭✭buried

Kick yourself out and WIN WIN WIN

Make America Get Out of Here

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Thrown out once. Totally deserved it. I was drunk, wearing a big stupid green and white jesters hat with bells on it. In my defence it was the middle of Freshers Week :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

A mate of mine came from the pub into a lecture off his tits on drink. He made it through acting half normal although the lecturer did pick up on it.

At the end he came over and said yer man is off his tits, I said he's the lad I usually get my notes of. I'll look after him. That was the end of it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Nobody was kicked out.
    A lecturer once threw out a whole row of students.

They were being dicks. A big gang of country women that wouldn't shut up and stop messing.
    The lecturer was very patient with them - asking them politely to be quiet.
    Then he lost it and told them all to get out and he said couldn't believe how ignorant they were being.
    They all trotted out with big smirks on their faces as if they were in primary school.
    A few people clapped afterwards.

A lovely bit of drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

When I was in Trinity, a well known lecturer just walked out of the lecture over something similar to this (the details escape me), people chatting or something like that. Proper order to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Emerie Putrid Stubbornness

Feisar wrote: »
    A mate of mine came from the pub into a lecture off his tits on drink. He made it through acting half normal although the lecturer did pick up on it.

At the end he came over and said yer man is off his tits, I said he's the lad I usually get my notes of. I'll look after him. That was the end of it.

reminds me of the time, i went out the night before classes (Thursday night student night at CIT), went home with a girl and woke up at 10.30am at her gaff,, released while still drunk, thinking i had to go in on Friday for 11am class, so i get the bus to go there...went in, still reeking of last nights events, completely forgot it was just presentations and i had mine done already and the lecturer told us, only come in if your presentation is on at that day....lecturer was mystified why i was there...then i interrupted a presentation saying i had to run out to the bathroom....came back at end of class to get my jacket.....lecturer found it humorous in the end that i showed up and ran out of the roomo..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Flickerfusion

I know somebody who was kicked out in Degree Year, 4th year.
    Seems university must be turning into secondary school.

Never remember anything like this happening, nor do I remember any lecturer being remotely concerned about late assignments or attendence. If you were late with an assignment beyond a certain point there were simply penalties applied to the grade. If you didn't attend, not their problem. If you were late on arrival, nobody cared as long as you didn't make a fuss about it or disrupt the place.

The general attitude taken was if you didn't want to be there, that was your own business - best of luck trying to pass the exams!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Sounds like there is a right shower of dossers in college these days. They wouldnt be carrying on like that if they had to pay for their education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I didn't have the luxury of sitting on my as* college, I had to work.
    Some of us do:)

Nobody was kicked out.
    I didn't have the luxury of sitting on my as* college, I had to work.
    Some of us do:)

Some just get to scrape a pass the final exams in college too.
    I don't really see my college as an alma mater for this reason. I take responsibility though. Many years ago now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Nobody was kicked out.
    I remember some classmates getting drunk/stoned and being giggly. The lecturer politely asked them to leave and they went quietly. No big deal.

During my masters I remember three country lads who always sat at the back and contributed nothing. They were being disruptive jerks one day and were told to shut up out go. They shut up. Again, no big deal, but what I do remember is that they were just cruising through the course as they wanted to become teachers. They just wanted to get the MA to boost their pay. I shudder to think of the quality of teaching they provide.

I teach graduate level students and I've not had remotely near any reason to eject anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I remember once a lecturer walking out because the behaviour of quite a few was appalling. As i was the class rep i had to go and apologise on behalf of the class as he was threatening to stop lecturing us completely and failing all of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭gracew

Nobody was kicked out.
    One certain lecturer was known for kicking people out of her lectures. I remember it happening a few times. A handful students in a row kept talking and were continuously told to stop, since they continued she told them to leave and took their student ID to report them (not sure what happened after that). If anyone was caught on their phones or laptops during the lecture they were also kicked out and their student ID retained... quite excessive as a lot of students prefer to work off their laptop, we were warned from the start not to use any electronic devices in her lectures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I remember once a lecturer walking out because the behaviour of quite a few was appalling. As i was the class rep i had to go and apologise on behalf of the class as he was threatening to stop lecturing us completely and failing all of us.

Lest anyone think this is a modern phenomenon, our maths lecturer refused to give any more lectures (major university, 1970's) becuse of the frankly disgraceful behaviour of many of the students.
    Mind you he probably shouldn't have been lecturing 200 engineering first years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

cml387 wrote: »
    Lest anyone think this is a modern phenomenon, our maths lecturer refused to give any more lectures (major university, 1970's) becuse of the frankly disgraceful behaviour of many of the students.
    Mind you he probably shouldn't have been lecturing 200 engineering first years.

certainly not modern if it involves me in college. this was late 80's. we did share a different lecture with first year engineers and their behaviour was appalling. unfortunately that lecturer ddnt have the balls to shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Only once. Back in the 80's, some student had a disagreement with the lecturer on something to do with the EU/EEC. Lecturer said something like 'we all have our opinions on that, our membership of the EU will always be decided by a referendum'. Student kept heckling him on this for a couple more lectures, we got little or no work done, he eventually had security move him from the lecture.

Student later went on to radio journalism and became an advisor to a political party. Was always a self-opninionated twat who believed his opinions were always right.