Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

These casinos in city's here how do they work?

• 10-06-2020 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭

What's the story with these casinos dotted around the cities? How are they legal and what exactly do they sell? Is it all night booze aswell as gambling.
    Post edited by HildaOgdenx on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Just buy a scratchcard. You're less likely to get your legs broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Casino's don't sell anything. You use them to launder your drug money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Used to go to a few around Dublin , calling them casinos is a bit of a stretch . They don't sell booze or anything . They're just places for people to go and lose their money on slot machines ,poker machines, roulette machines etc. The likes of The Fitz had proper casino tables with dealers and poker tables upstairs but they're tiny compared to a proper casino.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Casino's don't sell anything. You use them to launder your drug money.

There's was a drug dealer playing roulette one time I was at one, big gambler he used to win big or lose big. Well he was up 4 grand on the roulette machine and decided to leg it. He strolls back in 5 mins later cos there was a Garda checkpoint up the road. Starts playing roulette again and wins another 15 grand. Casino would give him an iou for that amount of money but they'd pay out no problem because they know he'll lose it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Been a few times. Meant to have passport to get in but let me in as was with a regular. Clientele exclusively male and mostly obvious losers and drips. Plus a lot of chineese. Free drinks but G&T, s made from cheapest gin ever. Boring as ****. Seedy would at least be interesting. Like a club for sad weird men with no friends. Go to MacDonalds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭chosen1

As far as I know they get around the public access casinos being illegal by being private clubs. When you go to a new one, you generally have to show a passport or other ID and you become a member of the club.

You can't buy drink in them but alot of them will give you a drink as a guest once you are gambling. Most times I've been were to keep drinking with lads after a night out.

As others said, most wouldn't have a great atmosphere going on. Bulk of clientèle would be Chinese people drinking tea and speaking very little. One I was in, in Galway was full of Arabs from a nearby direct provision centre.

Would love a proper destination Vegas style casino here like the one proposed in Tipp years ago, but unlikely to open here any time soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I went to the sporting emporium quite a lot years ago with a friend (it's just off Grafton Street in Dublin)

I've realised now going to a casino is a mugs game. Like fair enough if you wanna save up and go to Vegas. That's a trip and an experience. Other things to do and see than the strip. But going to a local casino here regularly you need your head checked.

If you like playing Blackjack, poker, three card monte, etc etc. Then just play online. Play for cents. You can enjoy the game. Many a great man has lost his shirt and everything else gambling.