Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best jobs to dip your toe in contracting

• 03-06-2020 9:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭

If you had a lad who was determined to try out a bit of contracting, without spending massive money straight away at the start, are there any particular jobs that you think would be good ones to start off with.

I would have thought spreading slurry in the past, but nearly all farmers out our way now have their own tanks at this stage.

I also thought about hedge cutting as there are very few around my place and it seems to be hard to get them - But the window that you can work in is very short and most of the work seems to be with the council.

I was reading a couple of contractor stories online during the year and I noticed that a few of them started out with just a good setup for drawing bales. It would be a grand easy thing to get into cost wise and the machinery wouldn't be too complicated (so less chance of breakdowns etc) but I can't imagine that there is that much call for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

BnB wrote: »
    If you had a lad who was determined to try out a bit of contracting, without spending massive money straight away at the start, are there any particular jobs that you think would be good ones to start off with.

I would have thought spreading slurry in the past, but nearly all farmers out our way now have their own tanks at this stage.

I also thought about hedge cutting as there are very few around my place and it seems to be hard to get them - But the window that you can work in is very short and most of the work seems to be with the council.

I was reading a couple of contractor stories online during the year and I noticed that a few of them started out with just a good setup for drawing bales. It would be a grand easy thing to get into cost wise and the machinery wouldn't be too complicated (so less chance of breakdowns etc) but I can't imagine that there is that much call for it.

Drawing bales would be a good start as most dairy farmers dont have the interest or time to draw bales and most contractors would be the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Just because they have slurry tankers doesn’t mean you will see them using them.manys the lad who will pay to have someone come in and do their slurry using their tractor and tanker.
    They just hate the thought of driving it themselves or else havent the time.
    Topping and rolling the same.driving up and down a field in rows all day is a job best left to young lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

Thanks for the replies. I'd be afraid that I don't have enough big dairy men close to me for the drawing bales. I must chat to a few of them and see if it was something they'd be interested in.

The Topping one is interesting and something I wouldn't have thought of before. I've often heard lads giving out that they should be doin' a bit more toppin' but don't have the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Don't go topping. Fellas will top the easy fields themselves and they will send some poor plonker off to do the fields that are riddled with stones, old gates buried in the grass, badly overgrown ditches, soft spots, hills, etc and let them fúck up their machinery rather than their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

You could chance your arm at fencing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Tedding, topping and stake driving. Thats what I started with. Drawing bales is a good one, once you have experience at it. Go to the more reputable farmers in the area, offer a good service at a fair price, keep on top of collecting money and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

If your willing to work hard and are on the ball about sending out invoices and collecting money your grand.
    Your net worth is equal to your net work.
    I’d say there’s more work for lads with good equipment who can get the job done quick than ever before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,377 ✭✭✭DBK1

Tedding is definitely a good one to get into if you have the type of farmers around you that want to make quality silage. You’d get a good second hand 6 rotor tedder for around €4K and at €10 an acre and covering 10 acres an hour there’s money to be made at it. If you are friendly with your local bale or pit contractor they would probably put custom your way as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭visatorro

Contractor's are always looking for full-time lads. No harm to go with a big lad that provides alot of services. He'll figure out which is handy on diesel etc. Lad I know bought a fert spreader with all mod cons. Got in with a few large farms reckons its a good job. You'll cover 100acre plus fairly handy and your not burning diesel.

I don't think there's too many one man Contractor's. Your always tied in with someone at various times of the year. Dont rule anything out once the cash flow is secure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Sprayer and fert spreading? Use gps to have a wider spreading width and accurate spraying along with recording acreage. Both wouldn't use as much diesel as heavier work. Spring time probably biggest demand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭50HX

A well set up quad/ tractor sprayer

Spraying under/behind fence wire in spring with grazon 90

Grass weeds etc during the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭greenfield21

If you're not afraid of a bit of work would you consider buying a good single chop. you would cover alot of acres in a year like this.In a few years you can then move on to a self propelled outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

If you're not afraid of a bit of work would you consider buying a good single chop. you would cover alot of acres in a year like this.In a few years you can then move on to a self propelled outfit.

I'd say a single chop couldn't compete in any way with wagons or sp at this stage.

A tractor trailer with sides and maybe an extension for bales could be worth a go.
    Drawing bales, turf, gravel, dung or picking things up for builders seems as they are busy at the minute. Could be a handy niche

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

The trick with contracting is knowing when to say no.most fellas will say the only machine you make money of is the one you are driving yourself.drawing bales is a good start as alot of the time you can do the job in a evening after school or with a job and the machines are simple.steer clear of silage either baling or pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭minerleague

how about calf dehorning with a proper mobile unit or weighing for beep ( any future suckler scheme or sustainability will probably have this aswell)
    Could someone get a good rate from 1 of the labs for worm burden of cows and collect samples while weighing ( too simple ?:P)
    Drawing bales gets very boring after a short while! Fencing can be done year round so no big pressure but can U compete with FRS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Drawing bales (esp. wraps) is a good way to start.No big expense and no one client owing too much.

Hourly rate is the way to go unless stacking in the field where they were baled.
    Decent tractor,loader with handler,double back handler and 24/30 ft trailer.
    One thing about a (good) trailer is that they are a piece of equipment that never really devalues.
    No major expense,very little moving parts to go wrong.Biggest cost is diesel and wear and tear.

You would be surprised how many farmers would get this done as its time consuming and very very boring.Not a job many look forward to and around here hardly any baling/wrapping outfits even consider bale handling.

Nothing worse than driving into a field at 8pm and looking at 2/300 black mushrooms.Been (and still am)that soldier but its a good paying job as long as the customer is a payer.
    Avoid at all costs the ones everyone else avoids as its for a reason.No point in thinking you will succeed where everybody else has met their Waterloo.
    Any bale contractor should be more than than willing to give you a few names of farmers who might want bales put in.
    Only thing is being reliable is more important than being the cheapest or having the shiniest gear.
    Anyone who rings me(in good time)knows that the bales will be moved when they want the job done.
    Most lads ring before mowing the grass so as to be sure while one or two (but great payers as its a cheque out the gate)always seem to forget about drawing in the bales until the fusion is coming in the gate.

After a few jobs you won't be long figuring out how to time it so as not to over promise too many clients.20 happy clients with work for next year is much better than 40 farmers promised the sun,moon and stars.

Not the most exciting or glamorous job but steady handy money.Around here its 35/40 an hour in field or short draw.Bit more if a lot of road work involved as it really burns diesel hauling 20 wet wraps at a time 5/10 miles.