Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do I drive home a brand new car from a dealer without tax disc?

• 30-05-2020 11:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭

Hello everyone,

So, when buying a brand new car I get registration plates supplied by the dealer and AFAIK nothing else.

I presume I can call my insurance company to transfer my insurance to my new car, still from the dealer's premises before driving home for the first time with the new car.

However, I can't tax a car via the phone.

Will the insurance company transfer my insurance over the new car without road tax paid?

Is it legal to drive home a brand new car from the dealer without road tax on it?

Maybe it's much simpler than this, I've just never done this before.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭flanna01

You have a lot to bother you..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭xboxdad

flanna01 wrote: »

You mean to just ignore it all and drive home without disc? Or how do you mean please?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

xboxdad wrote: »
    Hello everyone,

So, when buying a brand new car I get registration plates supplied by the dealer and AFAIK nothing else.

I presume I can call my insurance company to transfer my insurance to my new car, still from the dealer's premises before driving home for the first time with the new car.

However, I can't tax a car via the phone.

Will the insurance company transfer my insurance over the new car without road tax paid?

Is it legal to drive home a brand new car from the dealer without road tax on it?

Maybe it's much simpler than this, I've just never done this before.

Thank you.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/motor_tax_and_insurance/motor_tax_rates.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

flanna01 wrote: »

Jeeez who Stoll the cherry off your bun ..... no need to be a dick ....

OP I'd imagine you'll have no bother with insurance and I'm pretty sure no garda is going to give you any grief either under the circumstances.....

The garage should be able to give you advise on this as with maybe more people on here....

Hope you enjoy ur new car,

What did you get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,172 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

You mean to just ignore it all and drive home without disc? Or how do you mean please?

Dealer will tax it online for you if you ask (you pay obviously), you can ring your insurance to transfer it. Very straight forward. Doubt you'd be unlucky to get stopped but you can tell them you've taxed it at the showrooms and just bought it. Ask showroom for proof of purchase with date.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,128 ✭✭✭kirving

Common sense answer:

Don't worry about it. 95% of Gards, if you go through a checkpoint, will tell you to drive on.

The remaining few might ask you to provide proof at the station once you have it.

Traffic wardens will fine you however, don't park in a town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭PMBC

Ignore that poster.
    Congratulations.
    Ask the car sales people for advice.
    In my 50 years driving and buying years I never taxed or registered on the 1st day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

You can tax it the next day after picking it up online using the last 6 digits of your VIN as the PIN. You'll get the disc in a few days by post. I've always carried the paperwork from the garage round with me in the meantime, plus a screenshot from the online application, and was told by the garage that this would satisfy the guards if stopped.

Regarding insurance, you can either do it at the garage, or else call them beforehand and arrange a specific time for it to switch over. You can also do it online with some insurers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭markad1

You'll be fine.
    Have the dealer paperwork with you to prove you just purchased the car.
    Oh if you purchased the car on the 30th I think the road tax will be back dated to the 1st of the month ��
    Make sure you transfer your insurance. I forgot this one time and only realised the next day after driving from Galway to Dublin.
    Congrats on the new car.....well wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Worst case scenario is a €60 fine, and that is highly unlikely, so drive on.
    (If a gard stops you, say I said you were grand...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They won't fine you for not being able to tax a brand new car you just bought. It can take upto 48 hours (working days) for the motor tax system to be updated with the car's reg in order to be able to tax it online. Just have the invoice with the date of purchase from the garage you bought it off in the car with you in the event you are questioned at a checkpoint. Just make sure that your insurance is transferred over to the new car also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭xboxdad

Thanks for all the help everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Another thing to take note of is that the logbook will not be issued until you tax the car first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

You will have to transfer your insurance before the dealer will let you drive the car away. Generally you'd have informed the insurance company a few days in advance with the details and just ring to confirm you want to activate it at whatever time you'll be driving away.

Regarding tax. The dealer will give you a code to log in online to tax your car. A receipt of any description would suffice as proof to guards that the car is a new purchase and you're just waiting for the tax to come thro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

You will have to transfer your insurance before the dealer will let you drive the car away.

The dealer doesn’t give a flying fučk whether you’re insured or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Dealer has no hand act or part in whether you ever tax it or insure it - that's all down to the buyer.

You can tax the car online the first time with the last 6 digits of the VIN number. Then they'll send you the registration document.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

The dealer doesn’t give a flying fučk whether you’re insured or not.

Anytime I've bought a car they did, smartarse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Just write "tax in post" on the back of a beer mat and drive her home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Regarding tax. The dealer will give you a code to log in online to tax your car. A receipt of any description would suffice as proof to guards that the car is a new purchase and you're just waiting for the tax to come thro.
    As already mentioned, it's the last 6 digits of the VIN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Anytime I've bought a car they did, smartarse

Likewise with myself,
    anytime I bought (2nd hand mind you) I've always had to be insured to drive it away.
    Was always at main dealers never bought from a simi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

A friend of mine got fined recently after just purchasing a car. He called into his solicitor and two days later he got an apology. 90% of Gardai know there is nothing they can do in a situation like this but there is always a chance you will meet one of the 10% looking to do you for anything.

Friend of mine bought a brand new car not too long ago. Think it was July 2018. Was a white Audi Q7. There was a checkpoint on his drive home, about 5 minutes from the dealership. Garda checkpoint with a tow truck at the side of the road. Stopped him for no tax, and incorrect details on his insurance disc (the details were belong to the previous car). Gardai said a white Q7 was impersonating an Armed Garda patrol. They took the car off him but it was too tall on the back of the truck, so they had to take the wheels off it and drag it up onto the truck with a winch.

One of the Guards used red spray paint to spray 'not Garda' on the both sides of the car. They put the wheels in the boot of it, and when they were closing the boot they realised the wheels were protruding too much and ended up smashing the rear window trying to close it.

It went to court and my friend got 7 years, but I reckon he'll be out by 2023 as he has good behaviour on his side. He'll have the PCP cleared within 5 years of getting out, too, he reckons, although the car has been in an impound since July 2018 so he reckons he'll have a hefty storage fee to pay the Gardai.

He said it's a lovely car to drive and would recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭.G.

Cool story bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It depends on the Garda you meet OP.
    In short, you are not allowed to drive an untaxed car on public roads.
    Good luck.