Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Towbar for Hyundai ix35?

• 24-05-2020 10:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭

I have a 1.7 ix35, is it possible to put a tow bar on to tow a small car ?

was trying to find towing capacities but couldn't

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

1200kg is whats listed, what does your weight plate say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Mynameistom

CJhaughey wrote: »
    1200kg is whats listed, what does your weight plate say?

This is pic of it.

What do the numbers mean ?

1940kg is the Gross vehicle weight which is all passengers and payload included.
    3140kg is the gross train weight of vehicle and trailer.

1-1200kg is max front axle weight
    2-1090kg is max rear axle weight

max towing weight is the gross vehicle weight 1940 kg subtracted from the Gross train weight of 3140kg which equals 1200kg
    Max towing weight = 1200kg
    Following the 85% rule is 1020kg towing weight.
    It would want to be a very small car that you would be towing.
    Don't forget the towbar will further reduce your legal towing weight by probably 30-40kg.

1940kg is the Gross vehicle weight which is all passengers and payload included.
    3140kg is the gross train weight of vehicle and trailer.

1-1200kg is max front axle weight
    2-1090kg is max rear axle weight

max towing weight is the gross vehicle weight 1940 kg subtracted from the Gross train weight of 3140kg which equals 1200kg
    Max towing weight = 1200kg
    Following the 85% rule is 1020kg towing weight.
    It would want to be a very small car that you would be towing.
    Don't forget the towbar will further reduce your legal towing weight by probably 30-40kg.

It is small in fairness.... a saxo, but a ton doesn't sound much. It probably weighs around that wouldn't it.
    Sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Saxo Kerb weight is 800-930kg (depending on spec, but if it's an Irish car I'd go with 805kg...).
    You don't say if you want to just Tow it or Trailer it....obviously a big difference between either in both weight and practicalities (legally and technically).

I'm assuming you don't just want to do a one-off Tow to move the Car somewhere.....

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    Saxo Kerb weight is 800-930kg (depending on spec, but if it's an Irish car I'd go with 805kg...).
    You don't say if you want to just Tow it or Trailer it....obviously a big difference between either in both weight and practicalities (legally and technically).

I'm assuming you don't just want to do a one-off Tow to move the Car somewhere.....

It's UK before Ireland its the 1.5 Diesel which I think is 885 kg ?
    I think I'd prefer just tow it . What are these differences between that and putting it on a trailer ?
    It wouldn't be really be a one off but wouldn't use it much after that either I'd say.

are those figures correct ? if so and its safe,what are the options ?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

If you need to move it every so often get a small handy single axle car trailer the likes the autograss men have for moving micras and starlets. The saxo should fit on one perfectly.

32750-5.jpg

If you need to move it every so often get a small handy single axle car trailer the likes the autograss men have for moving micras and starlets. The saxo should fit on one perfectly.

32750-5.jpg

Only thing I’d say is the trailer would want to be very light to keep within the rules, even a small single axle trailer capable of holding a car will bring the total train weight up over 1200kg.
    I was thinking about the A frame type towing frames that attach to the lower control arms.

Ya you'd most likely be over the legal limit. It'd look pretty right/legal but if things went wrong that'd be of little use.

Quick Ninja Edit there Selectamatic ;)
    Ya you'd most likely be over the legal limit. It'd look pretty right/legal but if things went wrong that'd be of little use.

Those A frames are now only supposed to be used in an emergency recovery situation I believe. The car being towed by one is supposed to be road legal too.

According to the RSA the car being towed with an A-Frame requires neither Tax nor Nct.
    yMmvKpn.png

FlbesuZ.jpg

OP , if you only want to move the Saxo once or twice (and the distance is relatively short) why not simply tow it using the towing Eye on your Hyundai and a Rope ?

32750-5.jpg

Thanks looks handy alright. Had a quick look these trailers seem pricey

Only thing I’d say is the trailer would want to be very light to keep within the rules, even a small single axle trailer capable of holding a car will bring the total train weight up over 1200kg.
    I was thinking about the A frame type towing frames that attach to the lower control arms.

Thanks. Ya what i started thinking..too heavy.
    If I'm right and the saxo is 885kg then i only have 135kg to play with to be below 1020kg ?
    That's what I'd like to use something like A frame or Dolley never used though and dont know about if it's allowed or not.

Thanks. So this option looks like a no no then

Those A frames are now only supposed to be used in an emergency recovery situation I believe. The car being towed by one is supposed to be road legal too.

According to the RSA the car being towed with an A-Frame requires neither Tax nor Nct.
    yMmvKpn.png

FlbesuZ.jpg

Thanks for all that info. Seems with what I've got i dont really have a viable option . I suppose if got stopped on public road using one of these methods the authorities woupdnt be nice about it ?

OP , if you only want to move the Saxo once or twice (and the distance is relatively short) why not simply tow it using the towing Eye on your Hyundai and a Rope ?

Thanks for that. Its not a short distance though.

What would ye do in this case or just give up on using my hyundai ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Unfortunately anything whereby there's going to be another vehicle towed on a trailer needs a sizeable enough tow vehicle to be legal (exception being very small cars) , and therefore in almost all cases an EB license too. There's an awful lot of lads doing the 'if it looks right, it is right' thing, but that's not right in truth

Ya I deleted that bit just after posting as I felt I just wasn't sure on the matter but I knew there's a bit more to it than that. I've seen it stated numerous times that many of the A frames aren't technically legal in Ireland.

The A-frame needs to have means of braking the towed car as it effectively becomes a trailer and once you go over 750kg brakes are required.

Braked dollys would meet this criteria and there's some A-Frames that can be setup to apply the brakes of the towed car so they'd suit too but they're not great at all.

Personally I'd chance a small trailer as it'll tow the best but to be fully legal a braked dolly would be the op's best bet.

I'm near certain towing with a rope/chain/strap or bar is only allowed for broken down vehicles which have to be fully road legal.

Another very grey area.
    The vehicle being towed does not need working lights or brakes for a start.
    The law seems to mainly concern itself with where the towed vehicle is going.....normally to the 'nearest' place of safety or repair.
    If one had an MGB (for example :)) the nearest place of repair could well be your own workshop....if you wanted somebody who knew anything about them ;).

Also quite easy to have a vehicle 'break down' if you want.

While a Car on an A-frame is considered a Trailer, a Car towed by a rope seems to fall somewhere between a Trailer and a Car. Seems to be the usual RSA arm's-length approach.
    Somewhere between what they thought the Law was years ago (when there wasn't any), and what might be the Law in the UK.

Ya I deleted that bit just after posting as I felt I just wasn't sure on the matter but I knew there's a bit more to it than that. I've seen it stated numerous times that many of the A frames aren't technically legal in Ireland.

The A-frame needs to have means of braking the towed car as it effectively becomes a trailer and once you go over 750kg brakes are required.

Braked dollys would meet this criteria and there's some A-Frames that can be setup to apply the brakes of the towed car so they'd suit too but they're not great at all.

Personally I'd chance a small trailer as it'll tow the best but to be fully legal a braked dolly would be the op's best bet.

Have you seen the Prices for Braked Dolly's ?????
    Even ones approaching Antique Status are asking crazy money. You would pick up a decent 2nd-hand Brian James for less money. Not having a go....just saying :).

As the OP is a bit vague about how far, and how often, he needs to move his Saxo, I'd say his best (and probably cheapest) bet is just to pay/beg somebody with a transporter to move it.

Have you seen the Prices for Braked Dolly's ?????
    Even ones approaching Antique Status are asking crazy money. You would pick up a decent 2nd-hand Brian James for less money. Not having a go....just saying :).

As the OP is a bit vague about how far, and how often, he needs to move his Saxo, I'd say his best (and probably cheapest) bet is just to pay/beg somebody with a transporter to move it.

Ya they're a rip off for what they are and a fecker for towing, giddy as f#ck. but they're the only thing that'd be half handy and have the op fully legal.

Personally I'd go the small cheap used single axle trailer route.