Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abandoned cars

• 24-05-2020 6:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

I’ve a couple of old cars left at a private house I’m working on.
    The owner of the house wants them gone but guards, county council or scrap car guys don’t want to know!
    One scrap guy says he’ll take them if he’s given a letter stating we gave him the cars etc as there’s no log books.
    I just don’t want the owners coming back at some stage looking for them or causing hassle.
    As far as I know this house was a repo and sold at auction.

Any help would be very much appropriated

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

I dont think you will get legal advice on a motor forum,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

Move them to the street and take the number plates off then call the council to report it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

if you buy a house you buy it and it's contents. So if they were there when the house was bought at auction, they belong to the buyer and they're entitled to dispose of them. (In my non-legal opinion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Tr_18

What kind of cars are they? People may be interested in them for breaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Tr_18 wrote: »
    What kind of cars are they? People may be interested in them for breaking

Or even restoration project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Isambard wrote: »
    if you buy a house you buy it and it's contents. So if they were there when the house was bought at auction, they belong to the buyer and they're entitled to dispose of them. (In my non-legal opinion)

So if I leave my car in my mates garage overnight, and he sells his house, the buyer of the house now owns my car?

What a load of shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

So if I leave my car in my mates garage overnight, and he sells his house, the buyer of the house now owns my car?

What a load of shíte.

If you don't have the logbook /proof of insurance then... then yes

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

What sort of cars are they OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

What a load of shíte.

he'd do well to sell his house overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Isambard wrote: »

Nope; that is lawfully the case for “fixtures”, ie something so affixed to the property as to become part of it. Usually, the contract for sake of the property would provide that such items were not to be left in the property and the vendor would be liable for the costs of removal. In the circumstances, I would expect that they are abandoned. Were they hidden items, the owner of the land might have a better claim than the person who excavated them. In this case, they are registered and if the owner abandons them, I imagine bona vacant is might, if they were valuable, mean they belong to the State. In reality, it will be up to the landowner to dispose of them at his/her own costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Any chance of there being a twincam with the pockets mint on her lad or an old cossie in the collection.
    WHAT CARS ARE THEY OP????

Near where I walk the dog, in Tallaght, there is a garden with TWO Rolls Royce rotting in it.

Rust in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

When we moved a couple of years ago there was 2 abandoned cars in the field. The vendor said someone would be back for them, so I waited 6 months, then tough luck. One went to the metal recycler, crushed in front of my very eyes.. the other as a donor car for a mates project (Morris Minor). Nobody ever came.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭neddynasty

Fuzzy1980 wrote: »

I’ve a couple of old cars left at a private house I’m working on.
    The owner of the house wants them gone but guards, county council or scrap car guys don’t want to know!

Surely it's the owner of the house's problem to get rid of the cars and not yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

A lot of reckless advice being given on the thread and somebody's non legal opinion is not always great in these situations. I'm assuming the cars are end of life worthless scrappers. If not then the Vendor of the house should probably have a bit more cop on with his property but thats besides the point.

I'd imagine a lot of Guards would view this as wasting their valuable time, in particular if the cars are parked on private property and I don't particularly view it as something the Guards need to be involved in under the circumstances. Assuming the home owner bought through an Estate Agent in the recent past it may be worth the owner getting in touch with the Estate Agent again to ask them to get in touch with the Vendor to ask if they want the cars are wanted by them anymore. Might be the quickest way of removing the guesswork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

What I did , just moved an old car to a local supermarket and left it on the parking with plates left on it
    Parking was a pay and display
    Car was gone within one week , who took it I don't know and don't care

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

redcup342 wrote: »
    Move them to the street and take the number plates off then call the council to report it. :pac:

That would be dumping, which would be illegal but if the prior owners don't come back about the cars, I would recommend ringing the council about the pile of cars that were dumped outside your mates house house with no number plates, or if they have number plates, then the gardai for no tax :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

What I did , just moved an old car to a local supermarket and left it on the parking with plates left on it
    Parking was a pay and display
    Car was gone within one week , who took it I don't know and don't care

So you dumped it on someone else's property because you couldn't be bothered to dispose it properly youself? :rolleyes:

WHAT CARS OP??????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

WHAT CARS OP??????????????

OP already stated....

R34 Skyline GTR
    Toyota Corolla Twin Cam
    Audi S8
    1992 Toyota Celica
    Honda Integra Type R
    BMW E30 M3 RHD

This thread should be shot.op mentions abandoned cars and then fcuks off without telling us what cars they are
    Lordy lord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

I'm going to guess:

Ford Cortina,
    Rover 214,
    Ford Fiesta Van.

All rotting in to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Fiver on 1st Gen Hyundai Accent and a Fiat Uno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Ah, he's sucked you all in now, hasn't he ??? :D:D:D

TrailerBob wrote: »
    Fiver on 1st Gen Hyundai Accent and a Fiat Uno

I’d say there is a clio somewhere in the mix.
    Every ditch and farm yard in the country had a clio abandoned in it at some stage.
    That or a white berlingo with rusty roof bars on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Nah... Panda... or gen 1 micra.

My money is on an early 90s Opel Kadett or Ford Escort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

90's Corsa, always 1 rotting away in a field somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

1st generation Hyundai accent
    Daewoo Lanos
    N16 Nissan Almera
    Ford Focus
    Opel Corsa

Worthless crap, always was and always will be.

A person I know once had an abandoned car on their property from an absconded tenant and they packed it to the roof with as much rubbish as possible and then parked in a neighbouring estate.
    Residents there reported it to the council and it was removed after a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Why would you write a letter and put your name to something?
    Just tell them to come and get it gone and say no more.

Why would you write a letter and put your name to something?
    Just tell them to come and get it gone and say no more.

Because they asked, they also asked for "a name", also, worth the paper its written on if it ever went to court.

They are just arse covering, nothing is going to happen, they just want to have the facade of due diligence, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

MOD: Thread tidied up. Grow up folks, this isn't a créche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Fabio

What's the story with abandoned cars in estates?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,860 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

is the estate managed by the council?

Fabio wrote: »
    What's the story with abandoned cars in estates?
    is the estate managed by the council?

If its public access, and they are out of Tax, you can report them to the Gardai, or if their plates are removed, report them to the council who will remove them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

CramCycle wrote: »
    If its public access, and they are out of Tax, you can report them to the Gardai, or if their plates are removed, report them to the council who will remove them.

Or if you know what house they are attached to just pop in and have a chat with them. Sometimes a friendly conversation can go a long way.

cpoh1 wrote: »
    Or if you know what house they are attached to just pop in and have a chat with them. Sometimes a friendly conversation can go a long way.

True, sorry, I just presumed they were dumped by the post.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,860 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

CramCycle wrote: »
    reason i asked was i know of a situation where the council did a slopey shoulders on it because the estate had not been taken in charge yet.

it was kinda funny though, also in light of the comment about talking to the neighbours - there was one abandoned outside my wife's house years ago; there were four houses, with four parking spaces outside, and two spillover spaces.
    a small car appeared in one of the spillover spaces one day, in *very* poor condition - moss growing on the seats inside, etc., and also was unlocked.
    anyway, chatting to a neighbour who was annoyed about this, i mentioned that some years earlier, i'd had a car towed by removing the plates and ringing the council (a different local authority to the one now in question). she did what i suggested - took the plates off and left them sitting on the windscreen under the wipers for a couple of days before ringing the council, when she got the above answer. anyway a couple of days later again, i was in the garden and a chap came in asking who had removed the plates; i played dumb, turns out he lived about 300m away and had gotten the car for his daughter to learn to drive, but decided to 'store' it outside someone else's house, a three minute walk from his own.

when i say i played dumb, it was a bit of fun because i got to lob a few 'but surely you didn't think...?' questions at him which he had to take at face value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

reason i asked was i know of a situation where the council did a slopey shoulders on it because the estate had not been taken in charge yet.

If it's a private estate then the management company have to pay to remove it. We'd had a few abandoned cars and after leaving a note on it for a few weeks and circular letter to all owners it's removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

i expect the new house owner contacted the estate agent to enquire if someone is coming to collect and has evidence of this.

once you have this evidence, what is reasonable? if they are a couple of wrecked unsalvagable cars, get rid of them and give an indemnity to the scrappage guy as requested. if they are of good quality, then sell them and mind the money in case the original owner comes looking.

This would be reasonable, and what is reasonable is what a judge will decide should the original owner take legal action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

This car has been sitting in the same spot ages just off the navan road/ I think the google streetview is old too not sure how up to date google streetview
    Its actually horrid looking, all the wheels are down and theres moss now all over the roof I wouldnt be impressed to have this parked outside my house :rolleyes:
    Moss all around the ground an absolute eyesore
    Its not taxed no NCT no insurance and on a public road. Is that even legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

This car has been sitting in the same spot ages just off the navan road/ I think the google streetview is old too not sure how up to date google streetview
    Its actually horrid looking, all the wheels are down and theres moss now all over the roof I wouldnt be impressed to have this parked outside my house :rolleyes:
    Moss all around the ground an absolute eyesore
    Its not taxed no NCT no insurance and on a public road. Is that even legal?

Report it to the council as an abandoned car.
    http://www.dublincity.ie/main-menu-your-council/isupport