Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uncashed Cheques

• 13-05-2020 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭

Have any of ye every written a cheque that wasn't cashed?
    Bought 2 lots of cattle through done deal in recent weeks. The first cheque will have been handed over 7 weeks this coming Saturday. Second one is 3 weeks tomorrow but neither of them have been presented for payment.
    Thay can't have been stuck for the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Bought 2 lots of cattle through done deal in recent weeks. The first cheque will have been handed over 7 weeks this coming Saturday. Second one is 3 weeks tomorrow but neither of them have been presented for payment.
    Yep the contractor here it can be up to 4months later. Stopped it last year. Bank transfer now Easy to get caught out with a cheque bouncing, unknown to yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Cheque to local quarry a few years ago , 5 months 3 weeks later it went through the bank .

Gave same lad one 2 weeks ago and I said if you want a cheque you have to promise to lodge it in the next week . the grin I got was enough and in fairness it went through in a few days later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Pistachio19

A cheque is valid for 6 months so if they're not cashed after that time and are then presented for payment, they should be returned as being out of date. You'd then have to issue a new cheque. Just try not to forget about them and end up using the money you have to cover them in your account. Otherwise they'll be returned for lack of funds. My gp often takes weeks to cash a cheque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

A cheque is valid for 6 months so if they're not cashed after that time and are then presented for payment, they should be returned as being out of date. You'd then have to issue a new cheque. Just try not to forget about them and end up using the money you have to cover them in your account. Otherwise they'll be returned for lack of funds. My gp often takes weeks to cash a cheque.
    I wouldn't be going to town too often, they'd often be in the drawer for a few months alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I'll get them in this week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I think in America you can scan in your cheque on your mobile or tablet and it will "lodge it" to your account for processing

Maybe the auld banks need to improve the systems here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I think in America you can scan in your cheque on your mobile or tablet and it will "lodge it" to your account for processing

can lodge in the atm for aib. Had 2 cheques in the past month and found the atm handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    can lodge in the atm for aib. Had 2 cheques in the past month and found the atm handy

Use the automated atm for business lodgements. It's so handy just takes 2 mins on my way home from work.

The first lad who is a bachelor in his 60s I found out since wouldn't be short of a penny. Part of me is tempted to ring him and tell him to lodge it. It's 9k so not a paltry sum.
    The second lad who so kindly sold me the few cattle in the bunch with 5 movements I would nearly hope he looses it or forgets to lodge it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Some people are just a bit disorganised/ laid back. Local shopkeeper near us (now deceased), I'd have to remind him every few months that such & such a cheque wasn't lodged and did he need a new one! Looking at cheques I've written over the years I see several made out to various people that appear to have vanished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Yep the contractor here it can be up to 4months later. Stopped it last year. Bank transfer now Easy to get caught out with a cheque bouncing, unknown to yourself

Was the same here, and then one time - when he went to cash it, months later - I had the money spent, and it bounced :o :mad:

Gets paid by bank transfer now... easier all round...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Cheque for hay written last July not cashed yet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

The father told me a story from years ago. A dealer bought sheep off this old woman. Anyhow he came back the following year and bought more. As he was about to write the the cheque, the old women took out the one from the previous year and said you might as well add the two together! Dealer got an awful land as he assumed it was Cashed so he owed a lot more than he thought then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

The father told me a story from years ago. A dealer bought sheep off this old woman. Anyhow he came back the following year and bought more. As he was about to write the the cheque, the old women took out the one from the previous year and said you might as well add the two together! Dealer got an awful land as he assumed it was Cashed so he owed a lot more than he thought then.

Would he have been legally obliged to rewrite the previous years cheque

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭kk.man

I bet the meat factories down throughout the years got loads of uncashed cheques. That's why they are very slow to go paperless. They build the uncashed ones into the production costs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Would he have been legally obliged to rewrite the previous years cheque

I don’t know tbh. I know there is time limits now and all that, don’t know was there back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I haven't lived there since 2013 and it was old tech by then. You just took a pic of the back and front of it on the app on your phone and sent it off. You would get $200 dollars straight into your account and the balance 2/3 days later when it had cleared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cheques a rarity here most payements now online .if u wanted to leave a period of time u can put x date down for payement .at least u know it’s going thru on a certain date then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

Old crowd here was giving out about me giving away calves. I found a year old cheque from the dealer somewhere then. Feck all point giving out about it then not lodging the fecking thing, queue another row!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Generally its older guys who hold on to them. I know a guy who rents fields for grazing and also sells timber. Bundle of cheques in a drawer, he seems to forget them.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

One of the main marts in the country has nearly 3 million in uncashed cheques, now thats going all the ways back maybe 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Drifter50 wrote: »
    Generally its older guys who hold on to them. I know a guy who rents fields for grazing and also sells timber. Bundle of cheques in a drawer, he seems to forget them.............

Heard of an elderly gent from these parts who had a share in a farm that sold for big money a good few years back, he was dead set against the sale of the land and couldnt bring himself to cash the cheque for a very long time afterwards.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Going by some reports if you where enroute to lodge a cheque in recent weeks and stopped by guards you might have being turned back.

ive a small cheque amount here received 3 weeks plus ago now from a person. normally would be lodged next working day by oh.

oh working from home so only in town on a Saturday. bank open on a Saturday alright but not for counter transactions. need a chip and pin card for this account too lodge on a Saturday. something i don't have. waiting on a lodgement book in the post do it on a Saturday.

no doubt this is at least a little replicated country wide

Often forgot a mart cheque, have had to get some reissued. It's not that I didn't need the money but they get stuck in with receipts or other papers and...

Hate them with a passion tbh. Must ask mart about electronic payment from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

My local AIB had a queue out the door and up the street a few days recently apparently. Only small numbers of people being left in because of social distancing. Or maybe they just aren’t stuck for the money, and therefore a trip to town in not an essential journey!

ruwithme wrote: »
    Going by some reports if you where enroute to lodge a cheque in recent weeks and stopped by guards you might have being turned back.

ive a small cheque amount here received 3 weeks plus ago now from a person. normally would be lodged next working day by oh.

oh working from home so only in town on a Saturday. bank open on a Saturday alright but not for counter transactions. need a chip and pin card for this account too lodge on a Saturday. something i don't have. waiting on a lodgement book in the post do it on a Saturday.

You dont need a lodgement book. I have often put the cheque in an envelope. Written my account details on it and put it in the banks letterbox at night time or at lunchtime and it always get lodged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭tina1040

whelan2 wrote: »
    You dont need a lodgement book. I have often put the cheque in an envelope. Written my account details on it and put it in the banks letterbox at night time or at lunchtime and it always get lodged

Lodge it in the atm. You might have to ring and get a new card sent out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

ruwithme wrote: »

Would you not just get a card? You should have it in a week and it means you’d be able to lodge the cheques...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭tina1040

I have a card for lodgements for work bank account only so I can lodge cheques for them but can't withdraw cash.

It might be possible to get one of those also so a family member can lodge a cheque for you when passing your bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

DukeCaboom wrote: »
    One of the main marts in the country has nearly 3 million in uncashed cheques, now thats going all the ways back maybe 30 years.

How would so many leave money behind them??

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    How would so many leave money behind them??

A factory agent was telling me he gets about a call a month of lads whose cheques have gone out of date . He said they haggle over price and then dont cash it. It wont earn interest sitting in a drawer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

A factory agent was telling me he gets about a call a month of lads whose cheques have gone out of date . He said they haggle over price and then dont cash it. It wont earn interest sitting in a drawer.

Aside from interest, you can't count it until it is lodged and cleared. The person/company who wrote the cheque might have had that money in their account 5 months ago when they wrote it but they might be broke and about to go under today when you are planning to finally lodge it next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

won't earn much in the bank either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭horseofstone

Do cheques written expire if not cashed does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭kk.man

Do cheques written expire if not cashed does anyone know?

I think they have a six month expiry period and after that it's the decretion of the payer to reissue.