Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phone detection cameras, NSW Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe, maybe not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Yeah, they are mobile trailer units. So they can be anywhere. They like to put them behind big gantry signs so you can't easily see them. They have 2 cameras. One down low to get your reg and one up high to see into the vehicle. I drive by at least 2 that I take notice of on the way to work each day.

People will hate them but it has definitely reduced how much people use their phones behind the wheel in my opinion.

Unmarked motorbike cops also filter through traffic here, peering into cars to catch people out.

Unmarked......motorbike cops.....

Before they were rolled out, there was a news edit with cops manually taking photos of drivers on the M4 motorway, in slow moving traffic to catch people. One guy in a truck was using 2 phones at once while "driving".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Mobile phone use is rampant.

If I was put on 50k a year in an unmarked car I reckon I could cover the costs for the year in a couple of weeks just driving around Tallaght and Clondalkin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭addaword

Mobile phone use is rampant.

If I was put on 50k a year in an unmarked car I reckon I could cover the costs for the year in a couple of weeks just driving around Tallaght and Clondalkin.

Correct. Reminds me of when I was coming from a mart one day last year and some eejit crossed the road in his vehicle and nearly hit me because he was looking at his phone. Deadly dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

That camera is a bit intrusive I can't see it being a runner here. Should be an NCT requirement a car has a working hands free though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

That camera is a bit intrusive I can't see it being a runner here. Should be an NCT requirement a car has a working hands free though.

Intrusive? Youre driving around in public in a box with windows on all sides. Theyre not climbing in your bedroom window and pulling back the curtains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,375 ✭✭✭highdef

Intrusive? Youre driving around in public in a box with windows on all sides. Theyre not climbing in your bedroom window and pulling back the curtains.

Don't mind that Monkey, he's drunk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It's zooming into your private parts. Down with that sort of thing. Big Brother 2.0, I don't think some people will be happy if we're not in full on communism coming out of lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,816 ✭✭✭Markcheese

We already have a mobile traffic camera service (speed camera vans ) , it wouldn't be madly difficult to pick out the pictures of the lads on the phone ,
    Admittedly a guy on a bike with appropriate cameras filtering through traffic at busy times would have way more effect .. as would a plainclothes garda (with a bodycam) ,just walking along traffic choke points ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭Vic_08

It's zooming into your private parts.

You shouldn't be playing with them while driving either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Should be an NCT requirement a car has a working hands free though.

No. Being able to answer a phone has nothing to do with the road-worthiness of a vehicle. Not being able to answer a phone doesn't effect the safety of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

1pcs-Newest-Brand-for-Hikalimedia-3D-Hotdog-Phone-Case-Ihotdog-Silicone-Back-Cover-Skin-For-iphone.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Markcheese wrote: »
    We already have a mobile traffic camera service (speed camera vans ) , it wouldn't be madly difficult to pick out the pictures of the lads on the phone ,
    Admittedly a guy on a bike with appropriate cameras filtering through traffic at busy times would have way more effect .. as would a plainclothes garda (with a bodycam) ,just walking along traffic choke points ...

You don't even need a guy on a bike. I was a passenger in a van on the M50 during rush hour and I got an eye opener to how many people where on their phone, it was easily 30% of the cars I looked at and they wouldn’t have noticed if it was a marked van never mind an unmarked bike. I've seen the UK police using HGVs to catch truck drivers we should be using similar and not just for trucks.

What they should also do is fine people for sticking the phone in the middle of the windscreen, you are blocking a huge part of the road with a phone. The worse I saw was a couple sticking a 10" tablet to the windscreen of a i10 or similar car. It's not helped by insurance companies showing ads with their monitoring apps running with the phone in the middle of the screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭kirving

Del2005 wrote: »
    The worse I saw was a couple sticking a 10" tablet to the windscreen of a i10 or similar car.

Passed a car on the M4 with similar. Full brightness too, at night, in the rain. My car's display is out out my line of sight, goes black at, and I still turn it off most of the time a night.

As for the mobile phone cameras, they likely are a big deterrent, and I think are needed. Challenges to overarching or sieve-like like legislation, privacy concerns, and what is sure to be a joke of a tendering process will put public attitude squarely against them however.

Passed a car on the M4 with similar. Full brightness too, at night, in the rain. My car's display is out out my line of sight, goes black at, and I still turn it off most of the time a night.

As for the mobile phone cameras, they likely are a big deterrent, and I think are needed. Challenges to overarching or sieve-like like legislation, privacy concerns, and what is sure to be a joke of a tendering process will put public attitude squarely against them however.

It's not like the public agrees with speed cameras but they are still used. They should also have low level video cameras looking from behind to get people watching videos while driving, seeing a lot of this in the last few years.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

No thanks. Out of 4 relatively modern cars I've owned, only 1 natively supported this. And people will still hold their phones while talking on them. One of the images shows someone set their's to speakerphone and is still holding it!
    Del2005 wrote: »
    It's not like the public agrees with speed cameras but they are still used. They should also have low level video cameras looking from behind to get people watching videos while driving, seeing a lot of this in the last few years.

Would it be able to distinguish between a video and a map?

Which is why I said video camera not a still camera. Easy enough to tell the difference between a map, even on satellite mode, and a video with a few seconds of watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

The sooner they bring something like this in, the better. The M50 is brutal for phone use. Mostly in new enough cars too which I imagine would have bluetooth as standard.

Need something for suburban streets too. Last week a delivery driver blasted through a red light in front of me, he didn't even see it. Luckily it was a T junction and I was paying attention. Head down as he blasted through and then continued to text at the next light.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Would absolutely love these to come in, although you'd have an article in the Irish times within a month about how sexist they are. Can't remember the last time I saw a woman under 40 not using her phone edging along in traffic. Men do also do it but its absolutely rampant among women. People with the phone mounted up on the dash video calling also. A taxi driver favourite.