Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BVD sample results

• 16-04-2020 2:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭

Is anyone else finding the results from BVD samples are taking a long time to return this year? Because of coronavirus, no doubt.....I sent off a dozen samples over a week ago, and have only got 7 results back by text so far over the last two days. The thing is, I had an empty sample, and don't want to send off for the repeat sample tag until I know that any of the others weren't empty too. Is there any way to check the result online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

The results show up on ICBF.com before you get the text think you have to have herdplus for this tho.
    The long Easter weekend might have delayed testing. Enfer are doing work on the Corona Virus testing do might be slower than normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Grand here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

hopeso wrote: »
    Is anyone else finding the results from BVD samples are taking a long time to return this year? Because of coronavirus, no doubt.....I sent off a dozen samples over a week ago, and have only got 7 results back by text so far over the last two days. The thing is, I had an empty sample, and don't want to send off for the repeat sample tag until I know that any of the others weren't empty too. Is there any way to check the result online?

In 2 days here from iML..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

2 bank holidays last weekend nit helping either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Enfer are testing for Covid-19, so that might explain delays;

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0405/1128580-covid19-coronavirus-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭edward901

I sent off a package of samples to Enfer 8 days ago.Still haven’t heard anything back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

The last of the results arrived by text this morning....So, that was 12 results arriving over 3 separate days, a week after they were sent....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Animal health labs sent Wednesday results today.fair play to them

K.G. wrote: »
    Animal health labs sent Wednesday results today.fair play to them

I posted mine on the Wednesday before easter and nothing yet

I rang this morning. Samples posted on 8th of April apparently they received them this morning

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

whelan2 wrote: »
    I posted mine on the Wednesday before easter and nothing yet

to be fair coop runs a drop off point which iscollected wednesday morning and goes straight to ahi labs.to be fair even though ive used enfer ive gone back to ahi as they are close and handy.they did me a favour thisyear with a sample that was empty and the calf was getting old and if i had missed the mart that week he would gone over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I rang this morning. Samples posted on 8th of April apparently they received them this morning

Common theme. I rang last week and same story just received this morning....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

I see the department are looking at testing animals born before 2013, https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/department-clarifies-bvd-testing-extension-to-older-animals/ sure there cant be that many animals 7 years old who haven't had a calf or are still around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Anto_Meath wrote: »
    I see the department are looking at testing animals born before 2013, https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/department-clarifies-bvd-testing-extension-to-older-animals/ sure there cant be that many animals 7 years old who haven't had a calf or are still around.
    Probably a few bulls

A neighbour of mine has a few five year old heifers that have never had a calf and a few five year old bullocks.

tanko wrote: »
    A neighbour of mine has a few five year old heifers that have never had a calf and a few five year old bullocks.
    Is he making much money on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Probably circa 60 cent in the euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

tanko wrote: »
    I am assuming (s)he is an old timer that just likes to have a few cattle about the place and isn't actually farming with the aim to make money. I remember a farmer near here who was caught giving Angle Dust to cattle in the mid 90's and he ended up having to keep them for years (they were about 10 year old when the department finally let him send them to the kennels) they grow into big elephants of cattle. His farm is at the disadvantage of been surrounded by a few a very busy roads and every field is viable from some road so everyone who drove the roads could see them.

He only has about ten acres of rocky land, they keep whatever little grass he has eaten. He has a good job, he doesn't worry too much about them, maybe he's right.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

You'd be surprised how long some lads will hold onto stock and there's an odd one that went to death's door and takes years to amount to anything. A neighbor of mine sold a home bred 5 year old heifer that never proved incalf last back end and I remember seeing a late 2013 born bullock in the mart around the same time. There's plenty of men locally who would keep a cow for 15 or more years and I've seen an odd one 20+. Usually there auld fella's with smaller herd's and not stuck for the price of a few cattle.