Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dispatches: The Truth About Traveller Crime - Channel 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Potential for headlines when this goes out this Thursday...

If its about traveller crime in england it wont.

No irish channels would dare make a programme about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Liamo57

They should all be deported to Inishmore and let it be called Knackeragua, their own flag, own national anthem - Sullivans John. They can all claim benefits in their own country, except there will be no money to collect because knackers dont work means there will be no tax. That would put manners on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭kennypowers

Sadly this type of investigation would never see the light of day in the Irish media.
    Do you think Mag Cash would have become the poster child for a housing shortage? Would she puck.She would have been offered a house up near Birmingham and told take it or leave it.
    Funnily enough with the last few weeks crime has lowered but the only ones to feature on daily news feeds are our pseudo nomadic inbreeds but of course the the papers refuse to identify their ethnicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Travellers?....are we talking irish tinkers or english gypsies or a combination of both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

The truth is it was the Amish all along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,673 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Fair play to c4 for showing and investigating this.

As said, no chance that would even be considered in Ireland. You'd be classed a racist if you did. Your career would be over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

It sounds like the producers are determined to be balanced in their telling of the story. What you see and hear may or may not tally with your experiences or prejudices.

This is the program description in the Virgin Media TV guide ...

Current affairs series. Extortion, theft, vandalism and violence: these are some of the crimes linked to several Traveller communities and sites across England. Reporter Anja Popp goes in search of the truth behind the scare stories. She talks to terrified members of the public who have experienced crime waves and intimidation, goes out on patrol with police dealing with rural crime, and hears from Travellers and their advocates, who say they suffer prejudice and attack. And for the first time Dispatches analyses the crime statistics around Traveller sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Traveller sites in the UK seem very big compared to here (home of the mobile tax evader).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,659 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

NIMAN wrote: »

As said, no chance that would even be considered in Ireland. You'd be classed a racist if you did. Your career would be over.

I can't see the likes of Brenda Power or Paul Williams giving a damn about being branded a racist were they to make something looking the underbelly of this particular community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

RTE did a report on a traveller funeral in offaly on the news yesterday evening where social distancing was non existent , what was hilarious was how the reporter almost whispered his entire report , as if they wanted to play down the inappropriate actions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I had no idea Traveller crime was such a big issue in the UK.
    Pretty scary stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

They need to use riot police on those scum sites and they should go in armed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

gmisk wrote: »
    Pretty scary stuff

Circumnavigates the globe actually. Canary Islands, Australia, New Zealand....

Pretty scary stuff

anywhere you have a large tinker population , you find crime

M

Complete joke, similar story to how they are policed over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,418 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I said it before any party wants to tackle the issue of traveller gangs and crime has my vote. Law onto themselves, gaurds won't go near them generally.

rob316 wrote: »
    I said it before any party wants to tackle the issue of traveller gangs and crime has my vote. Law onto themselves, gaurds won't go near them generally.

no politician will risk incurring the wrath of the media , NGO and professional do-gooder sector

travellers are very powerful , they can commit crime on a vast scale yet at the same time carry a sacred victim status

thats real power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭danoriordan1402

fin12 wrote: »

If thats the Centra in the middle of Blarney, there's a Garda station 50meters away from it - these guys don't give a flying f.

It’s the centra with the filing station just before the village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

Channel 4 have their own blindsides, I think pikey mocking/bashing is a bit more acceptable among the more woke/liberal left in England than any other sort of -ism because a lot of them are pretty English really and are all white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Pythagorean

Itinerans parasiticus hiberniae, an alien invasive species, that breeds at an alarming rate, causes untold misery to those who encounter it, particularly the old and vulnerable, is a major drain on public resources, the authorities are powerless to contain it, and there is no known cure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭JPCN1

The 98% giving the 2% abad name again.

fin12 wrote: »

Thats the McCarthy and Stokes fued. Drive up the northside by Apple, its like a warzone with the armed checkpoints outside the haulting site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Some form of three strike rule has to be considered. Build new prisons and let them rot in them.

JPCN1 wrote: »

haha :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,007 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Pretty scary stuff

It's everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭monty_python

Can this be watched online in Ireland?

M

Can this be watched online in Ireland?

Yes on All4.

It's also repeated on 4Seven at 9 tonight and on Channel 4 at 11 Monday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭monty_python

Yes on All4.

It's also repeated on 4Seven at 9 tonight and on Channel 4 at 11 Monday night.

Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Bredabe

JPCN1 wrote: »
    I hear this a lot here, but not a single concern about how their behavior as an Irish Traveller impacted on Irish Workers in the UK when I was working there.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

had to laugh at "celebrity" Traveller Paddy Doherty saying to the kids "do you want to live in a house?" the kids in unison said - No

"you see we're travellers" Doherty replied

next scene - Doherty walks into his own Big House :rolleyes:

fryup wrote: »
    had to laugh at "celebrity" Traveller Paddy Doherty saying to the kids "do you want to live in a house?" the kids in unison said - No

But in fairness to Paddy Doherty I do agree with what he said about travelers, that drugs have destroyed them and the travelers that are around today are a completely different breed to the ones he was born into.

and how did Doherty make his money over the years i wonder?? door 2 door salesman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Should have asked them if they wanted to live in a FREE house...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,673 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

But what I can't grasp is the inability of any of the younger generation to say "i don't like this lifestyle, I want to live in a normal house, get a normal job or career, go to uni" etc

They have been indoctrinated as kids, but it's the same way we are all indoctrinated into the church cos we are too young to argue, but when we grow up we make our own decisions and many decide religion ain't for us and leave it behind.

Why don't any travellers do the same?

^^^^^^^^^^^

Peer pressure? begrudgery? letting the side down? letting the family down?

Anyway let's face it many travellers looking and sounding the way they do haven't got much chance of getting a regular 9-5 job, it would need a total overhaul in their lifestyle, which many are not willing to take.

*and as was suggested in the doc many are discouraged to go to secondary school, cause i suppose their families are worried they'll veer towards the settled lifestyle?

very sad scenario really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,807 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The only way this sub culture is going to go the way of the dodo is if younger people get fed up of living in their own shyte, marrying teen cousins and get up, get out and better themselves.

^^^^^^^^^^^

but the older generation are hell bent in keeping those old traditions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,807 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

^^^^^^^^^^^

but the older generation are hell bent in keeping those old traditions

That's the problem.

It's this sense of pride they have. Pride in living outside the norms of everyone else in squalor.

Its not pride in your town or area, engaging and being engaged by the rest of the community, it's like that concept doesn't have any meaning for them. It's like they don't take any notice of rubbish fcuked around the place or burnt out cars and caravans.

But what I can't grasp is the inability of any of the younger generation to say "i don't like this lifestyle, I want to live in a normal house, get a normal job or career, go to uni" etc

They have been indoctrinated as kids, but it's the same way we are all indoctrinated into the church cos we are too young to argue, but when we grow up we make our own decisions and many decide religion ain't for us and leave it behind.

Why don't any travellers do the same?

its an honour culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

Legal aid from the tax payer and a suspended sentence. So the revolving door can happen all over again.
    Who wins the legal profession of coarse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭brian_t

Ofcom has received at least 888 complaints about a Channel 4 Dispatches broadcast, The Truth About Traveller Crime, amid reports of a rise in hate speech towards the Gypsy, Roma and Traveller (GRT) community.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/may/02/truth-about-traveller-crime-channel-4-dispatches-show-accused-dehumanising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭kennypowers

https://www.radiokerry.ie/men-kerry-links-charged-australia-scams-worth-hundreds-thousands-dollars/
    It wont be long before Irish tradesmen have their reputations ruined<if not too late > by these rats.
    I thought a person needed a clean criminal record to enter Australia or have these boys avoided conviction in Ireland?