Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do women like preparing and making food

• 13-04-2020 9:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭

Whenever I go try aunties house my auntie and female cousin are eager to make me dinner or sandwiches. My uncle is lazy sod and wouldn’t make you a microwave meal. Same with my friends mam and sister, they always seem to be making cakes or offering to prepare dinner. My mam the same but my father and brother wouldn’t order you a takeaway. Im not complaining but always found it quite intriguing why women are like this.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

We secretly yearn for a return to a patriarchal society and to be tied to the sink once again ...

You'd be lucky to be offered a cup of tea in my house, never mind dinner and baking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

I love cooking myself, don’t know why more men don’t, or why most chefs are men but women do loads of it in the home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Because women are caring, loving and nurturing.
    They're probably old school and are not offended by feeling like they're being taken advantage of.

Although I like to take turns getting the dinner prepared if I'm sharing space.

I'd never undermine anyone's generosity or be offended by someone else wanting to show hospitality...

I think there's a social construct where people who are generous should be feeling they're being taken advantage of, especially the SJW fraternity and New wave fenminst movement who are aggressive and thankfully they're gone back under the rocks they crawled out from..

We're living in a new world now, and this will be a changer, femminism and patriarchal bull**** is fading away...

Thankfully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

Its called offering hospitality to a guest. Just because they do it, I wouldn't assume they necessarily enjoy it.

I hate making tea or coffee. But I'll still offer it to anyone who comes to visit, because its mannerly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭The chan chan man

They do?? I do all the cooking in my house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

This will end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

nails1 wrote: »
    Whenever I go try aunties house my auntie and female cousin are eager to make me dinner or sandwiches. My uncle is lazy sod and wouldn’t make you a microwave meal. Same with my friends mam and sister, they always seem to be making cakes or offering to prepare dinner. My mam the same but my father and brother wouldn’t order you a takeaway. Im not complaining but always found it quite intriguing why women are like this.

I must be a women...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'd say the off license is busy in your town today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I do believe it is an older thing. Women over 45 were brought up to be pretty much slaves to men. Under 40 not so much. 40-45 are transitional.

If I go home to visit my mother I get stuff made for me. I know where everything is and I know I can get something if I want it and will if I want it. But say no to an offer of tea/coffee/food and you'd think I'd slapped her face.

All my aunts are the same.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I love cooking myself, don’t know why more men don’t, or why most chefs are men but women do loads of it in the home.

Good point actually, most top fashion designers, hairdressers, make-up artists and chefs are men, yet these are seen as feminine pursuits.

The feminists will hate me, but men seem to be better at adapting to areas traditionally viewed as "women's work" than vice versa. I know there's a drive to get more young women into apprenticeships and the building industry, and some women do excel in these areas, but the desire isn't there in large enough numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Construction a tough aul game, not surprised women aren’t beating down the doors to get into it. Being a chef is a tough one too, but v surprising women aren’t at least 50:50 in it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Ken. wrote: »
    I do believe it is an older thing. Women over 45 were brought up to be pretty much slaves to men. Under 40 not so much. 40-45 are transitional.

If I go home to visit my mother I get stuff made for me. I know where everything is and I know I can get something if I want it and will if I want it. But say no to an offer of tea/coffee/food and you'd think I'd slapped her face.

giphy.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Zaph wrote: »
    giphy.gif

Try dealing with that when you don't drink tea or coffee.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

Proper order, stay in the kitchen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Wtf? Kunta Kintae existed in Roots. No slaves today. Look after yourself. You are disrespecting your Mum by labelling her a slave. But maybe your family is not progressive and limited in their interactions.

Its not an age thing, it might be an educational/social thing. I dont know any women over 40 who are slaves to men.

You'll get fck all in my house. Gardeners and cleaners are welcome to make themselves tea. I'm in work. Cups to be put into the dishwasher and key dropped on the way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,307 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

They do?? I do all the cooking in my house!

So do I but I'd never cook for a visitor or offer sandwiches.
    Tea and biscuits if i really hard to. Unless they were a gf or date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

It's a convenient cover for poisoners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Whenever I go try aunties house my auntie and female cousin are eager to make me dinner or sandwiches.

If yer gob is stuffed with dinner or sandwiches you can’t ask dopey questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I'll offer you one cup of tea water or a rich tea biscuit thats it. There might not be a biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Tea water sounds grim. Rich tea? You may as well slaughter my first born while you’re at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

I do a lot of domestic work in my locality, i find its a mix of 50/50 where you could get fed like a king today and barely get a mouthful of tea tomorrow, the younger people will make tea and biscuits or a sandwich while the older will go the full hog with a fry up, dinner etc. I can't say I've noticed a big gap between male or female offering more or less, a bachelor on his own will make a feed as good as anyone, it's very rare ill be working in a house where I'll be offered nothing. If i get fed in a house ill always knock a few bob off the bill, they don't have to feed me and i wouldn't expect it but its always welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

They seem to be awful nice sorts for 3 weeks of the month...always one week when my dinner is fcuked in my face instead of put on the table:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,307 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Woodsie1 wrote: »
    They seem to be awful nice sorts for 3 weeks of the month...always one week when my dinner is fcuked in my face instead of put on the table:confused:

And if you mentioned it, then the silent treatment :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

cj maxx wrote: »
    And if you mentioned it, then the silent treatment :(

Big mistake...say nothing and pick it up off the floor and eat it...and be grateful it was made for you in the first place:pac:

Happy wife,happy life.

Get a grip will you, women over 45 were brought up to be slaves.
    That's a serious observation there pal.

And you're a moderator, a moderator with that kind of statement and judgement...

This is the best ever lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭sadie1502

Well that's a lie. I'm female. And don't give two sh#ts if any of you die due to lack of food.
    Ps. I'm not over 45. And my own boyfriend is included in that. Only the strong survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

I loved cooking, baking, etc. When the children were growing up I did loads of it, every day, even making all our own bread. The day the last one left it was like a switch got turned off in me. All my cooking karma was abruptly expunged! Now himself does almost all the cooking. And very nicely too. I still do a tiny bit but only if a sudden mood overtakes me. Since I don't drink tea or coffee he has always had to make that for anyone who calls, I never have. Unless they don't mind being poisoned. And I don't mind facilitating it. He loves all that kind of stuff, feeding people, entertaining them, beverages, beer, the whiskey etc. Apart from a beloved few I couldn't give a shyte if I never saw most people from one year to another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'll offer you one cup of tea water or a rich tea biscuit thats it. There might not be a biscuit.

Jaysus yer miserable!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

sadie1502 wrote: »
    Well that's a lie. I'm female. And don't give two sh#ts if any of you die due to lack of food.
    Ps. I'm not over 45. And my own boyfriend is included in that. Only the strong survive.

So, your username is a good indicator of your character!

Sounds like a great catch, catch and release is a great policy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

My parents raised 4 sons. My mother is a very good at making food ( don't want to say cook, we're not bleeding chefs). My father is excellent at cooking. Me and all my brothers are excellent at cooking, on the weekend or during this virus thing they are doing the cooking. Most of the lads I work with do the cooking when the get a chance. I think the reason for this its very therapeutic. Or either there guzzling the wine in the kitchen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Hopefully your day or whatever you're going through will pick up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Try dealing with that when you don't drink tea or coffee.:D
    Tell me about it! :D

"Why? What's wrong with you?!

At least family know you. People you rarely visit are more likely to take offence.