Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Run Around off road 4WD for Farm

• 02-04-2020 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭

Looking for a 4WD run around on the farm for my dad. Usual run around stuff up and down the passageways in around paddocks worst that would be thrown at it is a few sticky gaps/gates this time of year.
    Any advice I was looking at petrol jimnys but expensive enough and some older grand vitaras petrol again due to fact that they are only going to be tipping around and prob easier to maintain than a diesel.
    Budget is around the €1k mark.
    Ideal machine would be a gator/polaris ranger/mule type machine but they are way above budget. Don't want a quad.
    He has been using the mf 265 as the run around the last few years but hes finding the getting in and out of the cab a bit of an issue so I was thinking a small cheap 4WD run about would keep him mobile and tipping away around the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,938 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

How good is the land will it need 4wd that often. Any old van or even car will travel on land a lot of the time if land is solid. Clearance is often the issue. But you should be able to pick up clean Petr RAV's , CRV's vitara's 15+ years old for a few 5-700 euro. 4wd will be the tricky part as a lot were bought without this option. Did you try DD

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,208 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

You're fairly limited at the 1k budget.

Have a look for a Mitsubishi Pajero junior in your searches too.
    You might be lucky in around that budget.
    There was a few for sale lately online around the €900. They are getting rare though.
    Mechanically or driving wise I haven't a clue about them though.

A Japanese mini truck would be ideal for you and your father on the farm but I doubt you'll get one in this country for 1k.

There was some company in the UK bringing in brand new Chinese mini trucks road legal. But for the life of me I can't find a link to those now. But that's above your budget.
    But it's no harm to get a sense of what's out there.

Maybe have a look at golf carts too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭PN14

Thanks lads keeping an eye out on DD last week or so probably have to shelf the idea for a bit now until lockdown is over so a bit of time for browsing. Just looking at other options out there. For the 1k i'm limited but anything above that I'd probably end up getting something proper road worthy etc and there probably a few other things that are higher up the priority list if spending a good chunk of change
    Land is relatively good but just in the spring time around gaps strip grazing and the like the ground clearance would be needed probably more than the 4WD if I'm honest.
    Saw the mini trucks and look a grand job but again way out of the current budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

You should have no problem picking up a Nissan X Trail for 700 to 1000 euros.
    4 wheel drive ones a bit scarcer, lots were only 2wd.
    The petrol engine ones were very reliable (engine wise, anyway).
    With a decent "off road" type tyre, they are surprisingly good on land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/21500352 SUBARU FORESTER 4WD 2.0 PETROL

€950

Another option would be a Hyundai Santa Fe but 4WD petrol ones are rare

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Suzuki Vitara. ideal for that job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I have a 98 trooper super yoke on the hills and starts first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Massey 35 with no cab and a transport box on the back. Low so easy to get up on. Good visibility. Go anywhere, We've one here and the father is never off it, herding, etc... might be an option.

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Massey 35 with no cab and a transport box on the back. Low so easy to get up on. Good visibility. Go anywhere, We've one here and the father is never off it, herding, etc... might be an option.

Huge difference comfort wise between a car/jeep and tractor. Even getting up and down off a small tractor is time consuming. You also have the fact if you get a shower a cab is handy.

Had a lad in driving posts lately. I am running around in the RAV fixing it up. Mostly have only a bucket in the boot with light fencing gear, a half a roll of hi tension wire as well as a bolt cutters. Can switch it on and off as well if have twenty minutes work in the one spot so not annoying my ears

If I need more stuff I throw on the flat two wheel trailer, have a small handy one that I use to feed ration when cattle are being finished outside

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Isuzu trooper from the nineties, built to last forever

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    You should have no problem picking up a Nissan X Trail for 700 to 1000 euros.
    4 wheel drive ones a bit scarcer, lots were only 2wd.
    The petrol engine ones were very reliable (engine wise, anyway).
    With a decent "off road" type tyre, they are surprisingly good on land.

It's the tyres that make the vehicle.

If you have a good tyre supplier/fitter I'd say you could probably get a tyre with tractor type lugs to fit any rim for any car or jeep.
    All you'd want to make sure is it fits in the arch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I have a 98 trooper super yoke on the hills and starts first time

One of the best jeeps ever made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭ruwithme

99 land cruiser here. off road only at this time. Best quad I've never had.dry cab,hang a trailer on ,tow anything else e.t.c.

if i where to sell it likely only worth €1500.
    to me it's invaluable off road.

typically what's the insurance road cost on a quad?have they to be taxed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭PN14

Thanks for replies guys keeping a look out on done deal