Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish radio DJs need to cop on.

• 24-03-2020 8:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭

All they bang on about these days is the corona virus, "wash your hands for 20 seconds", "stay at home" " I was furious when i saw that video of the house party" "we just want you to understand the new rules" "im in my bedroom now in my PJs doing the show" bla bla bla

The radio stations would want to be very careful here, the constant patronizing and being talked down to by these Djs will have to stop or they are going to have no listeners left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

I hope you're staying home and washing your hands while posting on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Would you not be better calling in to the Joe Duffy show to air your complaint ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Have you tried washing your hands?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

pgj2015 wrote: »
    All they bang on about these days is the corona virus, "wash your hands for 20 seconds", "stay at home" " I was furious when i saw that video of the house party" "we just want you to understand the new rules" "im in my bedroom now in my PJs doing the show" bla bla bla

The radio stations would want to be very careful here, the constant patronizing and being talked down to by these Djs will have to stop or they are going to have no listeners left.

Just stay at home will you PJ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Achtung Achtung

wasche deine Hände

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

maybe some people like being talked to like you are a little child or someone with the IQ of a turnip.

what did they ever talk about before this virus turned up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

maybe some people like being talked to like you are a little child or someone with the IQ of a turnip.

Turnips can't do the intelligence quotient test, they don't have the dexterity for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Numerous topics.

But anyway, more from the "I'm more upset by the initiatives to curb the spread of this devastating pandemic than the pandemic itself" brigade. Ye are heroes folks. Heroes.

Just ignore stupid stuff like those DJs. Bigger things to be worrying about.

Trivial matters of little importance. What matters now is that you wash your hands repeatedly and observe appropriate distance on the street. These DJs are performing a national service by driving the message home, as we saw over the weekend some people are quite slow coming to terms with reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Listening to the radio? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Obviously all the fupping eejits that were out mingling like they were on holidays over the weekend don't listen then ?

Its sunny - quick lets Q for fish and fcuking chips....
    MacDonalds are closing - Lets go Q for Big fcuking Macs !

Stupid sheep. Some people deserve what they get ….

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Switch over to Raidió na Gaeltachta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

biko wrote: »

to be fair they are probably doing the same thing over there only difference is that most people can't understand them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

I hope these djs are all washing their microphones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

biko wrote: »

Exactly,

They'll tell you the same stuff but 60% of the population won't understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Just stay at home will you PJ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Well I assume you are following the advice they are giving out. In that case they are not talking directly to you but to people or the friends of people who are just ignoring the advice. Maybe you know someone in this category? What’s your opinion of them?

This is an international emergency and these are anything but normal times but feel free to text into the shows venting your frustration of having your feelings hurt because someone is telling you what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Lavate los Maaaaaaannnnnos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Brexit.:pac:

Seriously it IS like that.

OMG I am NOT the only one who noticed it thank god!

Its like RTE only likes to talk to turnips right now.

IngazZagni wrote: »
    Well I assume you are following the advice they are giving out. In that case they are not talking directly to you but to people or the friends of people who are just ignoring the advice. Maybe you know someone in this category? What’s your opinion of them?

This is an international emergency and these are anything but normal times but feel free to text into the shows venting your frustration of having your feelings hurt because someone is telling you what to do.

Yes I am.

I cant say I know anyone who is blatantly ignoring these guidelines, I am sure there are people like that but I just find it all so boring to listen to, like are they going to keep repeating themselves for the next few months?

my feelings arent hurt btw, I just dont like listening to these jumped up song players acting like they are my parents.

I am actually avoiding all news related to C word but the minute a song is over they are at it straight away.

We're in the midst of a pandemic, what do you expect? Switch off the radio if the harsh reality of our current situation affronts your ears.

I think people are already sick of hearing about it to be honest. Listening to the radio should be an escape from the crisis, not more doom and gloom and tedious talk about washing your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Maybe if you want to avoid any news/chat on the virus in the media you should not listen to the radio media?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

greenspurs wrote: »

Stupid sheep. Some people deserve what they get ….

Unfortunately though they will kill many others that don't..

Maybe if you want to avoid any news/chat on the virus in the media you should not listen to the radio media?

I just put the radio on when im driving for the songs at the moment, the minute the song it over its CV, CV, CV. I will just have to play songs off my phone or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Op is jealous they can't broadcast from home....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

There’s a bunch of people in this country who listen to radio shows and presenters they despise just so they can give out about them on the internet. I’ve always found that weird and fascinating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

There’s a bunch of people in this country who listen to radio shows and presenters they despise just so they can give out about them on the internet. I’ve always found that weird and fascinating.

I am one of the people who can't wait to give out about people giving out about people on the radio and TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

"wash your hands" by Joe Duffy is the worst.

provides a false sense of security.

"if i wash my hands all the time, i can still head down to the beach with thousands of other people.."

the overwhelming message should be "AVOID CROWDS!!!"

Sidenote : there's a documented case in Wuhan , where one infected chap got on a bus , and managed to infect about 5 or 6 other people on the bus. He was sitting at the back, and managed to infect people in the FRONT of the bus. Washing hands wouldn't have saved them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

"if i wash my hands all the time, i can still head down to the beach with thousands of other people.."

Sidenote : there's a documented case in Wuhan , where one infected chap got on a bus , and managed to infect about 5 or 6 other people on the bus. He was sitting at the back, and managed to infect people in the FRONT of the bus. Washing hands wouldn't have saved them.
    The primary route of infection is by touching your eyes, nose and mouth with hands contaminated with the virus.

Transmission by air droplets is a much smaller route of infection. People touching door handles or any other surface contaminated by someone with an early non visible infection remains the biggest cause of being infected.

Spotify is where its at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

The primary route of infection is by touching your eyes, nose and mouth with hands contaminated with the virus.

Transmission by air droplets is a much smaller route of infection. People touching door handles or any other surface contaminated by someone with an early non visible infection remains the biggest cause of being infected.

found the report the of the study
    https://www.scmp.com/news/china/science/article/3074351/coronavirus-can-travel-twice-far-official-safe-distance-and-stay

2367f83c-61fc-11ea-8e9f-2d196083a37c_972x_161511.jpg

"Hu said the patient, who was not wearing a mask, was likely to have inhaled aerosols, or tiny particles, breathed out by the infected passengers from the previous group. Aerosols are light-weighted particles that are formed from tiny droplets of bodily fluids.
    “The possible reason is that in a completely enclosed space, the airflow is mainly driven by the hot air generated by the air conditioning. The rise of the hot air can transport the virus-laden droplets to a greater distance,” said the paper."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

1. Turns on radio

2. Hears non essential people working

3. Feels smug.

First they came for the socialists...

found the report the of the study
    https://www.scmp.com/news/china/science/article/3074351/coronavirus-can-travel-twice-far-official-safe-distance-and-stay

2367f83c-61fc-11ea-8e9f-2d196083a37c_972x_161511.jpg

"Hu said the patient, who was not wearing a mask, was likely to have inhaled aerosols, or tiny particles, breathed out by the infected passengers from the previous group. Aerosols are light-weighted particles that are formed from tiny droplets of bodily fluids.
    “The possible reason is that in a completely enclosed space, the airflow is mainly driven by the hot air generated by the air conditioning. The rise of the hot air can transport the virus-laden droplets to a greater distance,” said the paper."

Tbf that person could've sneezed onto their hand/sleeve and brushed off of the handle etc getting onto the bus and everyone picked it up from there??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Would you not be better calling in to the Joe Duffy show to air your complaint ?

FYI, the phone number is 1850715815washyourhands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Still though, the combination of the two is stronger in helping reduce the spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

wash my what? instructions unclear, got my balls stuck in the washing machine

Robsweezie wrote: »
    wash my what? instructions unclear, got my balls stuck in the washing machine

It’s the spin cycle that’s the killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

There are DJ's on Irish radio?