Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scutting

• 05-03-2020 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭

Whatever happened to scutting on the back of trucks? It was a great way of getting around years ago. Are we gone too soft?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

Thought this was about poo.

I’m disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Thought this was about poo.

I’m disappointed.

Deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Whatever happened to scutting on the back of trucks? It was a great way of getting around years ago. Are we gone too soft?

It’s gone the way of saddle sniffing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

Bit of grit on the wheel and a few skid marks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

You'll be delighted to know it still happens. Basically all Dublin Buses built between 2014 and 2019 have been equipped with a useful grille above the engine cover at the rear that allows you to just about cling on.

pjimage12.jpg?strip=all&quality=100&w=1200&h=800&crop=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

If it's riding in the back of pick-up trucks, then yes the world has gone soft. As for saddle sniffing Holy Mary is that really a thing? My world is always expanding on boards,heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Broke an arm doing it when I was around 14. I blame Marty Mc Fly as twas him I was trying to emulate.

marty-truck-400x218.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Broke an arm doing it when I was around 14. I blame Marty Mc Fly as twas him I was trying to emulate.

marty-truck-400x218.jpg

A friend of mine broke his jaw and fractured his leg doing it, he let go just seconds before the truck driver hit the brakes to avoid rear ending a car.
    We were watching all this as it happened, a local ol wan called the ambulance and his ma .
    His ma , later knocked the bollix out of his younger brother just because he was there when it happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

Not surprised....

7ecf0df9127ac35f2eb30e1dd25c7e97.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

If it's riding in the back of pick-up trucks, then yes the world has gone soft. As for saddle sniffing Holy Mary is that really a thing? My world is always expanding on boards,heh.

Saddle sniffing was a big thing back in the 60’s and 70’s. Lads leaving mass after communion so they could go out and have a good sniff of the saddle of the bike owned by someone they fancied. It was even mentioned in the Dáil as a sign of the moral decay of Ireland. I’d say there’s only a handful of snuglars left operating these days. Probably old dudes who don’t have access to the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

You'll be delighted to know it still happens. Basically all Dublin Buses built between 2014 and 2019 have been equipped with a useful grille above the engine cover at the rear that allows you to just about cling on.
    Isn't there a version of it hanging off the Luas? I think somebody brought a case for injuries caused when somehow they injured themselves doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

This thread is just crusty......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,433 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Saddle sniffing was a big thing back in the 60’s and 70’s. Lads leaving mass after communion so they could go out and have a good sniff of the saddle of the bike owned by someone they fancied. It was even mentioned in the Dáil as a sign of the moral decay of Ireland. I’d say there’s only a handful of snuglars left operating these days. Probably old dudes who don’t have access to the internet.

The Dublin Bike “Scheme” was the death knell in the capital, J.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Kids just use uber now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Used to do it in the 70's & 80's, but if all the traffic lights were green you could end up further away from where you were going than from where you started, so I think we just got sense. Saying that, I'm 50 and I'd love another go for old times sake, probably end up in rosslare now though

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Saddle sniffing was only good while the seat was still damp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

Scutting was a passed time when Fx1 inline skates were in, and all of us hanging off the back of the ice cream van as it went around the estate. Awful shame, I do feel kids are missing out on that experience tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Child killed out our way scutting on the back of a coal lorry. Lorry driver never forgave himself, even though no way his fault.